We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coconut buns will make you come” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nacho Libre

Nacho Libre
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Gourmet Hamburgers-the BEST in San Juan del Sur
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coconut buns will make you come”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Love this place. The owner clearly takes great pride in providing a delicious meal and fun atmosphere. I would come for their amazing burgers, and you can substitute veggie patties for the meat, which is a welcome change from so much meat in Central America. I would just stop by for a few drinks. OMG I almost forgot, the deep fried pickles are like crack. Get them!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiaD0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    54
    27
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost every day...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Almost every couple days that I was in the city of San Juan del Sur, I made it to Nacho Libre. Despite the fact that there are a ton of options for food and drink, once you try these burgers, you'll be addicted.

Not only is the food amazing but the place is very clean, service is amazing, and the owner has an awesome relationship with his employees (which is sadly not the case for all the restaurants in the city.) The cheery and sweet staff make deliciously strong drinks and a burger unlike any I've ever had.

The coconut bun is baked daily and the ingredients are always fresh. The veggie burger is my absolute favourite... and they aren't cheap with all the good stuff: caramelized onions (where else in Nicaragua can you find caramelized onions!!?), avocado, good cheese... The salad is a nice option if you've eaten fries every other day... but the fries are seasoned perfectly and really, really tasty.

I'll be returning to San Juan soon and I'll be heading straight to Nacho Libre for a burger.
Great people, great atmosphere, great drinks, great meal. 5/5. Love it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abitofatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hit the spot!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good burgers! Hit the spot after trivia around the corner. The gals that work there are great. The blue cheese and the jalapeno burgers are my favorite.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland,
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazeballs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This burger joint will BLOW your mind! Not only are the burgers beyond delicous but the sides are amazing too and the staff is super friendly! I love everything about this spot!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danbme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best french fries in the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

It was very good service and food very good burgers.right in town so its easy to find.My only concern was sit outside its very hot inside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank charleneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nacho Libre also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Nacho Libre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing