We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great stay!!!”
Review of HC Liri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HC Liri Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Fribourg, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a great stay!!!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I'm travelling since 10 months with my boyfriend, and arrived in san juan and wanted to stay for 2nights... We ended up staying 1.5 month in this hotel:):):)
It would have been easier to list the negative things, cause there aren't!!!
The positive things I would like to mention are the followings:

Location: only a 5 min walk from town and it's shops and restaurants and far enough away from the noise(the town center is a little party village, so it can get very noisy)
It's also only 1min to the beach, it's true that the beach in san juan isn't the best but still nice and also cool for surfers, altough for the beginners.

Rooms: there are different rooms, but all are very nice and defenitly very clean. They change the towels and bed sheets every day and even manage to put your piyams on it's place:) they aren't very spacious, but that's normal in nicaragua!!(we travelled from north to south and all the rooms weren't very big)

Noise: well, it's true that you can hear the noise from the disco nearby, BUT you only hear it outside! I'm very sensible for noise, but the comments I read about that people could'nt sleep, it's just not true!!!

The animals: yes they have two dogs and a parrot. The parrot only comes to the hotel twice a week, and makes no noise at all during night! At daytime we really enjoyed lolita the perrot, cause he lives very free like a parrot should live. They don't put him in a cage and even go for walks with him! The dogs, well I'm not a dog lover but even I became to love them as they behave very well and aren't agressive at all!

San juan del sur village: it's not very big, but you have all you need in town. Also they (the hotel) can bring you to the different beaches for less than the shuttles in town.

Breakfast: you can choose how you like your eggs, which comes with toast, fresh fruits, rice(that's normal in nicaragua), fresh juice and tea or coffe! Sometimes they make also pancakes or tortillas or cakes!

Hotel(pool etc): the pool was always clean and big enough to swim! You can get fresh towels for the pool, which isn't like that in every hotel! All the areas are very clean and the bar has reasonanble prices! Also you can get in touch with other clients or just chill in the upper terrace...
For a family with children it's perfect as well, as they have the pool and space to play...

Staff: how to thank you all for everything you've done for us?? We really felt at home during our stay, and this already at our first day!
Clarissa and milka, we thank you for cleaning our room so perfectly all the time, and for your smile at breakfast, every day started so well because of your welcoming smile!armando and manuel, thank you both for the nice talks we had at night, and the funny games we played! You also served us the best rum very professional!
Elba, thanks for making all the organisation things, like paying the bill etc so easy and quickly with a warm smile! Maria, german, romina and andrea, we never can thank you enough for all! We really became friends and will never forget our excellent stay we had because of you!!! you really let us feel as a part of your family and we would like to thank you for that! Muchas gracias niños, y hasta pronto;)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saaandraaa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hello Sandra,

Thanks for your beautiful review, we love that your stay with us had been really conmfortable every day we try to make our costumers feel at home from the first day. Thanks for choosing our Hotel to spend your vacation.

We hope to see you again.

Merry Christmas.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    102
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
87
162
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ezratravel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We arrived in San Juan Del Sur with no expectations, but were wowed by the hospitality and warmth of the owners. We stayed here for three days in mid November 2013 and had a blast. The family helped us with the turtle tour and served a great breakfast every day. They even taught us how to make pitaya juice from scratch. We played scrabble with the family and loved the on-beach location. There are few options for on-beach access in San Juan Del Sur proper.

The tour books discuss the safety around the pedestrian bridge and the municipality has stationed a police officer at the bridge entrance for the safety of the tourist. This reduces the stress level of walking back to HC Liri late at night after eating in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezratravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada familia!!!

Muchas gracias por haber estado en HC Liri Hotel, por haberos tomado el tiempo de recordar y escribir en Tripadvisor, esto es muy importante para nuestros futuros viajeros.

Ojala nos volvamos a ver para seguir compartiendo las maravillas San Juaneñas .....

Un abrazo y hasta pronto!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I selected this establishment based on Tripadvisor ratings, and I was not disappointed. I have not been to Nicaragua in over 25 years, for my wife and three children this would be their first. We had a nice room, clean and with enough beds for my group. Breakfast was truly a delight every morning. We were served fruit, natural fruit juices, toast, eggs and Gallo Pinto every morning, accompanied with just an excellent service experience. The facility is beautiful to say the least, a walk in either direction along the shore is a real treat. The town is a 5 minute walk through the foot bridge and the beautiful homes and condos are foot steps away in the other direction. We were taken to a local beach and spent a few hours while German waited for us to come back. On another day, I had set up a half day fishing trip for my family, having to leave early morning, I informed Maria that we would not be in for breakfast, early next morning she had sandwiches for us to take on our fishing trip! Nicaragua is a beautiful place to visit and our stay at Hotel Liri made it even better. Thank you Maria, German and the girls for all you did for us.... The Gutierrez Family

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Google Translation
Hello family,

Thanks for choosing us and thank you for writing this wonderfull review. Criticas así consiguen que crezcamos y sobre todo que nos comprometamos a cumplir con las expectativas de nuestros huéspedes.
Ha sido un verdadero placer conoceros, a vuestros hijos no me queda mas remedio que felicitarlos por ese comportamiento tan exquisito y a vosotros por habérselo inculcado.
Lo bueno es que sabemos que has disfrutado este reencuentro con Nicaragua, tu país y por eso esperamos volveros a veros. Cuando volváis tendremos mucho mas que ofreceros.
Un abrazo a los 5 y muchas, muchas gracias.
Maria, German, Andrea, Romina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at HC Liri Hotel for 3 nights and had a great time. I brought my 5 year old son who has been to Nicaragua twice already, this place is perfect for kids, they can play in the pool, on the beach within view of parents or watch cartoons in one of the hotel's lounge areas. The chill factor was great, with hammocks and all kinds of places to hang out. We were treated like family and shown the nicest beaches the area had to offer. Breakfast was a treat, the coffee is some of the best coffee I've had in Central America. There were surfboards to rent and fun waves in front of the hotel, and we also went to a beach nearby that was amazing. The setting is picturesque, with the footbridge over the canal and the boats parked in the bay. The rooms were simple but everything was very clean. In the end we did not want to leave, our hosts were so gracious and everything came with a smile.. Bravo!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nboutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for spent in Hc Liri Hotel some days of your vacation. we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us cause we enjoy every moment we stay with every costumer pass here and of course with you. we hope to see you soon again

Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

I was recently in and around San Juan Del Sur for over a week, my friends and I moved around a lot to see different beaches and accommodations. This hotel was by FAR the best!
First off they were doing a special where if you book 2 nights the third is free so that put it into our budget (breakfast included). The hotel is small and therefore not too loud but right on the beach and with a pool. There are a few really nice spots around the hotel to chill in hammocks or tan. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to the main strip of San Juan Del Sur. The hotel is VERY clean and well kept and the breakfast was good and the staff flexible to dietary needs.
But the main thing that is so great about this beautiful hotel was the staff! They were kind, helpful, had shuttles available to the beach, more than happy to call a trustworthy taxi driver with good rates and AC.
My friend got sick before we got to the hotel and the staff drove us to a clinic, translated for her, waited with us, drove us to a pharmacy, all without hesitation or compensation. She recovered well thanks to them!
I felt safe and very comfortable the whole time I stayed at Hotel Liri and HIGHLY recommend it to anyone staying in the area!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hannahebryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you Hanna for choosing our Hotel, we feel glad to hear our costumers point our hotel as the best of nicaragua but beeing honestly we have a lot to improve and we are working hard to correspond.
About your friend, she was sick and we took care of her cause we feel we had to and we feel proud of . Thats what anyone would have done in the same situation. we hope to see you again soon.

Greetings from HC Liri Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

HC Liri had everything you would expect and want from a beachfront property. The location, staff, and hotel amenities were all incredible. Whether I was taking a nap in one of the hammocks or having a beer at the pool, this place was very relaxing and a pleasure to stay at. The mostly english speaking staff was all very friendly and was always looking out for our needs. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Evan Thank you for spent your vacation with us ,we are glad you have enjoyed our hotel . That is one of our gols, make our costumers could change the enviroment and rest. Thank you for recommending to your friends,we hope to be able to reciprocate them in the same way.

Greetings from HC Liri Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. It is very clean and the owners are really friendly and helpful. It was a great experience for our family. We would definitely stay there again. The only downfall is the music from the surrounding bars at night time. We understand that it is not the hotel's fault, but it put did bother a bit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathalie197707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por escribir esta critica sobre nuestro hotel, os estaremos esperando para vuestra próxima estancia en San Juan del Sur.

Un fuerte abrazo de la familia de HC Liri Hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.3 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.4 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.4 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HC Liri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HC Liri Hotel

Property: HC Liri Hotel
Address: Playa San Juan Del Sur | Contiguo Al Yahure, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HC Liri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HC liri HotelHC liri Hotel is a small hotel on the beach of San Juan del Sur, with wonderfull views of the Pacific Ocean. We also have swimming pool in front of the sea. We offer daily transport to the different beaches in the area. In our hotel,we offer a personalized service to our guests because we want you to feel at home.Our breakfast is made with great quality and variety. We offer to our customers products fresh and different every day, because we want that you know the Nicaraguan gastronomy.!!We want only the enjoyment of our guests!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HC Liri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HC Liri Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing