We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HC Liri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HC Liri Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

First of all i would like to say a few things about the negative reviews starting with the size of the rooms. Yes the rooms are small and there is no TV, however, if you are planning on spending all your time in a hotel room on vacation you should probably not be going anywhere in Nicaragua or Central America in the first place. These are areas where you should be exploring and participating in adventures that you could not experience anywhere else. There was air conditioning and extra blankets (something I haven't seen anywhere else in my Central American travels) which made sure that you could use the A/C without waking up in the middle of the night freezing. Also giving the staff at this hotel anything but a 5/5 shows that you are complaining just for the the sake of it. I have worked in the service industry for over 10 years and i have learned a few things about customer service and it was greater than just about anything I worked with in the US. they wer actually quite comfortable as Central American companies The family that runs this hotel are incredibly helpful and were the nicest people that I met in Nicaragua.

As i said the staff was extremely helpful. First of all we (my girlfriend and I) needed a place to stay after our friends left back to the US and our stay at the home we rented near Playa Majagual was up. We left the house at 8 am and asked the staff to watch our bags until check-in time at 1pm. That was our only request and we were surprised to find that not only did they have our room ready by then we were welcomed to check in. This was over 4 hours before normal check-in and after we made reservations less than 12 hours ahead of time. Also when we checked out the next day to head to Ometepe the staff went out of their way to tell about the best activities to enjoy on the island. They then made sure the cab driver new to drop us off at the port in San Jorge and just in Rivas. This became even more helpful when we made the Ferry by just seconds before it departed (it was important for me to catch a ferry b/c i get sea sick). The location was less than a 1/4 mile form some of the best restaurants on the beach of SJDS. I felt extremely safe walking back to the hotel at night after dinner. It was just across the suspended walking bridge that had armed police on both ends that made sure that tourists were safe. As for the breakfast, a standard of beans and rice (delicious) were served with eggs and fruit. The serving was so big that it put most American Midwest size portions to shame (I am from Michigan and people tend to eat huge portions there). It is also important to point out that not only did they just give us advice on what to do on Ometepe they told us about some of the most amazing activities we did on our 3 week adventure in Central America.

To summarize, the rooms in Hotel Liri are a bit small but the staff more than made up for it with their kindness, great food, and their great advice that only made our trip more exciting and memorable. I just want to say thank you to the staff at Hotel Liri and I wish you the best of luck in the future!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for this great comment on tripadvisor.
When we read your opinion, we sense that it is a pleasure to try to work well all the days.

Daily we work with the only purpose of being a great reminder in the trip of our guests.

Finally after so pleasant moment, reading your view, only i would ask you ¿When do you come back to San Juan del Sur?, because we'll be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    99
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
82
157
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

After checking out the Yajure hostel next door we stumble upon the HC Liri Hotel and were pleasantly surprised. The family parrot greets us with an "hola" as we walk by the beautiful pool and through the back terrace. The owners are from spain and are extremely friendly and accomodating making you feel like a guest in their home. The rooms and grounds are clean and well maintained with a few large hammocks on the spacious second floor verranda. The only down-side was that smoke was drifting throught the bedroom window from a nearby fire most of the night; not sure this is something they can control but perhaps can look into. At $ 60-70/night (including breakfast), this has to be one of the best values in SJDS. For $5 they will shuttle you over to any of the many nearby surf beaches as well. Or you play in the waves just outside the back yard! I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and fellow travellers

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Migger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por esta agradable opinión, nos hace sentir totalmente satisfechos ver que nuestros clientes disfrutan en nuestro pequeño hotel. Ademas es muy importante este tiempo que se toman para escribir en tripadvisor ya que esta pagina es una gran referencia para los futuros viajeros. Esperamos verle muy pronto por aquí para poder mostrarle otras playas fabulosas que tiene San Juan del Sur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hotel HC Liri is run by a Spanish family. They were very wonderful friendly people and and so helpful. We only had a chance to stay one night but if we would have had more time we would have stayed longer. Even though we were there for only about 24hrs by the time we left, the hosts felt like family (including their speaking parrot). They speak English and Spanish.

The Hotel has a Mediterranean feel to it with bright white walls and colorful artwork and furnishings. The rooms are spacious and offer a nice breeze to keep them cool. Our room had air conditioning. I think all others did as well. It is above average cleanliness for Nicaragua. Included in the price was a tasty and substantial breakfast. Apparently they switch it up daily. We had pancakes.

I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PeterMe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your time to write this opinion, I really like your appreciation about our hotel, because that we wanted to give it a mediterranean ambience .We look forward to seeing you again some day in San Juan del Sur. So you can enjoy a little bit more of the wonderful beaches of the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on my own. The staff were really lovely to me, made me feel part of the family and even invitied me along on their trip to the beautiful coco beach.

Convenient for the beach and just a short walk into town. I felt very safe walking to and from town. Breakfast was good and I loved the residential pets especially the laughing parrot.

Room Tip: If u want a quiet room, stay during the week, there is a club nearby that apparently can be quite no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SarahinCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Google Translation
Sara muchas gracias por esta fabulosa opinión, nos encanto compartir nuestro viaje de día libre a Playa Coco contigo, esperamos verte pronto por aquí o quizás por Tailandia.

Sigue viajando, conociendo mundo y disfrutando tanto como lo has hecho aqui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time at HC Liri Hotel. We stayed there for 3 nights and the location was perfect: quiet and very quick walk to the hopping SJDS town. But what sets this hotel apart from others are the wonderful staff who run it! By the end of three days it felt as if we were all family. I would definitely recommend this hotel to my fellow travelers and I will stay there again next time I'm in town.

One note: When we first arrived in SJDS and asked for the hotel, we were told that it would cost us $5 USD to get there by taxi (which is pretty steep for SJ) we were also warned that the hotel was in a very dangerous location and we'd have to take a taxi to and from the hotel in the evening so we wouldn't get mugged. We arrived at the hotel and we reassured by the staff that the hotel was not in a dangerous location and there would never be a need to take a taxi to and from town (as it was a 7 minute walk). They were totally right. Never felt the least bit of danger, not even walking home in the wee hours of morning. So don't be thrown by the locals opinions, they are probably connected with a more central hotel/hostel and wanted to get our business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RJBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Google Translation
Hola chicos,

Fue un autentico placer teneros en nuestro hotel, nos encantó que a pesar de venir con esa referencia de la que hablas, nos dierais ese voto de confianza y pudierais comprobar que estamos en una ubicación perfecta, encima de la playa y muy cerca del pueblo.
Esperamos veros nuevamente por aquí !!!! Y gracias por esta fabulosa opinión.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you're looking for a moderately priced room in SJDS with convenient access to the beach, while far enough way from the noise of downtown, HC Liri Hotel is for you! The staff here was very nice and accommodating and we loved the resident animals! We did experience some issues with hot water and water pressure (not all that uncommon during our trip through Nicaragua). That aside, this location was perfectly suitable for a quick stay in SJDS and the staff was very welcoming and helpful in coordinating a transfer to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FullOfWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for write here, this is very important for us y for the new travellers.

It has been a pleasure You have been in our hotel. In the next time you return we will have improved at all.

We look forward to welcoming you back in San Juan del Sur and of course in HC Liri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Nicaragua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I promised to review this place - even though I usually don't bother.

I think there were friends of the owner running it, but they were doing a fine job. Extremely pleased with the helpfulness of everyone concerned - and the dogs and parrot were great as well.

This place is an option away from the centre across the funky suspension bridge. But it's only 10 min walk to the bars and restaurants - and you have direct access to the beach with no road to cross.

Room 7 is the one to go for.

Especially good value for couples and the breakfast was great as well.

Recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Muchas gracias por este increible titulo de nuestro hotel y nuestro equipo de trabajo, esto lo logramos gracias a ustedes nuestros clientes. Esperamos volver a verles en San Juan del Sur.

Thank you very much for this incredible definition of our hotel and our team, this is thanks to our customers. We look forward to seeing you again in San Juan del Sur.

It has been a pleasure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.3 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
2.4 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HC Liri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HC Liri Hotel

Property: HC Liri Hotel
Address: Playa San Juan Del Sur | Contiguo Al Yahure, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HC Liri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HC liri HotelHC liri Hotel is a small hotel on the beach of San Juan del Sur, with wonderfull views of the Pacific Ocean. We also have swimming pool in front of the sea. We offer daily transport to the different beaches in the area. In our hotel,we offer a personalized service to our guests because we want you to feel at home.Our breakfast is made with great quality and variety. We offer to our customers products fresh and different every day, because we want that you know the Nicaraguan gastronomy.!!We want only the enjoyment of our guests!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your HC Liri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HC Liri Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing