We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of HC Liri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HC Liri Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Incredible value.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

HC Liri shines above many of the other options in San Juan Del Sur. Essentially a mansion on the beach, it has an amazing pool with several breezy balconies from which to relax in the hammocks, bathe in the sun or just simply admire the amazing view across the beach. It is family run and every effort is made to ensure you are comfortable, enjoying yourself and making the most of the local area, of which the family is extensively familiar. The family also speaks English if your Spanish is lacking.

Breakfast is out of this world. You can enjoy it seated out the back, overlooking the pool and beach and kept company by Lolita, the friendly parrot, whose infectious personality is amazing. We enjoyed Spanish tortillas, typical beans, eggs and rice with selections of fruit and some really great coffee.

Our room was on the upper floor balcony where we could walk out and jump right into the hammock or simply sit around and enjoy the free Wi-Fi. The room was basic enough but included an air conditioner, which we only used as fan given it wasn't overly hot. A recommendation here might be to fly-screen the windows so they can be left open at night. There's plenty of cupboard space and the beds are comfortable enough. The bathroom is fine, we did have a temperamental tap but hardly worth mentioning.

Location wise the hotel is a short walk out of town and over the bridge, it's not so far out of town that you feel it's a hassle to walk in. Weekends may be noisy due to the proximity of the Crazy Crab but it didn't interrupt sleep.

The hotel can also organise trips out to the nearby beach and surfboard rental at very competitive rates. We really became very comfortable here as we became familiar with this wonderful family and their pets. It was sad to leave.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Google Translation
Increíble esta opinión sobre HC Liri!! Muchas gracias, que recompensa tan grande a nuestro trabajo.

Esperamos tenerle por aquí nuevamente, les recordamos perfectamente, !!el grifo ya esta arreglado!! y nuestro ingles mejora todos los días.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    101
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
87
158
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

HC Liri is an excellent option when visiting San Juan Del Sur. This small family run hotel offers great hospitality and exceptional value right on the beach! It's just a short walk across the bridge into town and a short drive to surfing beaches. The room was comfortable, spacious and bright with AC. Breakfast was gallo pinto, scrambled eggs, toast and coffee. The pool and views from the terrazzas were lovely!

Room Tip: If there are multiple rooms available you may be able to choose the one you prefer. Some rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianaVegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por tomarse su tiempo y escribir en esta pagina. Esto es para nosotros muy importante, de ustedes, nuestros huéspedes aprendemos muchísimo y ademas mostramos a la comunidad de viajero nuestro hotel a través de las criticas.

!!Esperamos verle muy pronto por aqui!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

First we made a reservation for 3 nights but we decided to stay for 5 more nights as HC Liri seemed to be the best option in San Jun del Sur for various reasons:
- super friendly, English speaking staff
- comfortable and clean rooms
- wonderful terrace with awesome beach and pool view
- proximity to town but distance from the buzz
- good wi-fi (sgnl a bit unstable in room, but good on terrace)
- 24hrs security
- reasonable rate

Nights from Monday to Thursday we felt like in a little silent paradise. But if you want to stay here from Friday till Monday, prepare for a huge nightlife - Friday is a weekly hotel pool party with disco music untill late night and Saturday and Sunday local disco Crazy Crab, only accross the river is on and if you are staying in one of the front rooms, it will not let you sleep untill early morning. We are not very party people so we did mind this a lot. Last night (Monday) was silent again.

What you may not like:
- only cold water in shower - this was no big issue as it is so hot all day
- everyday the same breakfast - gallopinto with eggs and toasted bread - great the first 3 days, after 5 days we better went for pancakes to a restaurant in town. This needs a little improvement.

I would definitelly stay in HC Liri again, but I would avoid weekend nights.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 ans 8 have direct entry on a terrace with beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hector a, Director General at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your criticism, and now we will put into practice in the kitchen and make our menu more varied cereals, fruit, pancakes, tacos, ham, cheese etc.
In relation to our parties on Fridays we will also take hand in the matter, because these are made by request of the youngest, however we will lower the volume of the music.

Remember we allways receive you and assist you as you deserve and hope you come back soon.

greetings

HC Liri Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at HC Liri in San Juan del sur.
location is great because it is just outside the noisy part of San Juan.
The place is very clean
The people are very very very nice.
Breakfast is included and they make you pretty much anything you want.
Book all your trips and surf lessons with them, because it is cheaper, for a longer time, more private, and they speak good English.
The best part was that on our last day they had a BBQ at the house and they invited us to dinner.
Only one thing went wrong, after to nights we had to switch a room because they had a reservation for the room we stayed in. The sheets in the new room where not so clean.

Room Tip: Get room 8, right on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nimrod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hector a, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Nimrod thank you very much,
your opinion is very valuable to us, because, thanks to them we intend to improve every day, I will work to ensure that this decision we have had with you but not repeated.
We hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable, and if someday you return to Nicaragua, know that HC Liri Hotel will be your home.
Regards to your lovely wife, and even when you want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The family who owns this hotel is great;attentive, helpful, and genuine.they speak some english. The rooms are simple and clean and the lobby, pool, and deck are wonderful. Decent breakfast included and beach views just out of town, so very quiet. An awesome place to call home in beautiful san juan del sur!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbauer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Many thanks for your opinion. These opinions are very important for the working team of HC liri.

We learn a lot from all of them. Of course we want our guests to feel at home .

We hope that you come back soon and you can verify that our english is better each day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had originally planned for three days in San Juan del Sur but decided to stay for 8 nights after finding HC Liri. In fact I loved it so much that I returned to the hotel for five more nights to finish my Nicaraguan Summer. I loved waking up to the gorgeous view of San Juan bay and hearing the waves at night. The hotel itself, including the rooms, is very clean and offers an atmosphere of relaxation. The hotel is located on the beach and is within a couple blocks of the shore. Also, breakfast is included in the (in my opinion) already low price of the room. The staff was more than helpful and even lent me a bicycle to shorten my trips into town. Another important factor about this hotel and something that is important to me while traveling is that It is completely safe to leave your valuables in the room. Anyway, in the evenings I took advantage of the kitchen and tried to master Nicaraguan cuisine. I also took advantage of their shuttles to the various other beaches around San Juan, including a night tour of playa La Flor during which I saw some enormous sea turtles come out of the ocean to lay their eggs. Even though it was my first trip to San Juan, I still feel experienced enough to say that upon returning I will not consider another hotel. Happy travels!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Many thanks for your opinion. Your description is so nice that we were thrilled.

We hope to come back soon to listen to the waves and to see the turtles again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nice location, great view of the bay from the hotel. Makes you feel you're home. The service and assistance is great. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Really know what are the best places to go out and other beaches to visit. Sure we'll be back. Great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgrengifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you very much for this view on Hc Liri and enter it here. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.3 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
162 reviews
2.4 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
230 reviews
2.4 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HC Liri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HC Liri Hotel

Property: HC Liri Hotel
Address: Playa San Juan Del Sur | Contiguo Al Yahure, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HC Liri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HC liri HotelHC liri Hotel is a small hotel on the beach of San Juan del Sur, with wonderfull views of the Pacific Ocean. We also have swimming pool in front of the sea. We offer daily transport to the different beaches in the area. In our hotel,we offer a personalized service to our guests because we want you to feel at home.Our breakfast is made with great quality and variety. We offer to our customers products fresh and different every day, because we want that you know the Nicaraguan gastronomy.!!We want only the enjoyment of our guests!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your HC Liri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HC Liri Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing