We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Banana Hamacas - CLOSED

Banana Hamacas
Price range: $2 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Banana Hamacas is a restaurant and bar located in the center of town in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Chilled atmosphere in the day and the best place to pre drink in town during the evening.Our food and drinks boast flavors you won't be able to find anywhere else in town.At Banana Hamacas, everything we serve is fresh and healthy. All of our dishes are cooked using extra virgin olive oil. Our famous juices and smoothies are either 100% natural, or sweetened with local honey. The majority of our produce comes directly from local sources.We also boast the FASTEST WIFI IN TOWN!So come in, grab a drink and a bite to eat, relax and enjoy.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Fresh and nice place to sit.Went there for breakfast And really enjoyed the taco,fruit bowl and smoothies.Banana pancakes were also awesome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank MCon1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hi. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's much appreciated. We're very glad you enjoyed your food and the smoothies. Please stop by again and say hello. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 61 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for breakfast during our visit to San Juan del Sur. My fruit with coconut milk and cinnamon was refreshing and his banana pancakes were amazing! The smoothies, however, were a highlight...huge and delicious...and around $3! Yummy!

5  Thank ajordan217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hi, and thank you for leaving such a great review. We're so happy you and your husband enjoyed your breakfast and smoothies. The pancakes and fruit bowls are the best way to start any day. Good choice! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Certainly worth spending time at this restaurant. My wife and I had lunch and on another occasion enjoyed a very good smoothie. Great to be able to sit outside and enjoy the atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hi Don. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We're very glad you and your wife enjoyed your lunch and smoothies. Please come back again and say hello. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The usual San Juan del Sur coffee spot was closed the other morning, so I decided to try this joint. The self-serve coffee pot was full, but unplugged hours previously. Nobody had noticed. A bracing cup of cold coffee is better than no coffee first thing in the morning, true, but I wonder who goes back for more?

Thank novato1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hi. Thanks for leaving a review. We are so sorry that the coffee was cold. Every once in a blue moon, someone forgets to hit the switch on the coffee pot. We use the best coffee beans available, and when it's hot, it's truely delicious. Feel free to come back and get yourself a hot cup of coffee. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

tried a cheese omelet (only choice of omelet they have) and it came with potatoes. Although the potatoes were diced very small, they were still hard. Both the omelet and the potatoes were swimming in margerine, very greasy. If you've ever tasted the margerine down here you know how bad it tastes! the list of smoothies looked interesting although expensive, but I would definetly stay away from the omelet and potato choice.

Thank brammer976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hi. We're very sorry to hear that you were not happy with you meal. We use olive oil for all of our cooking, and we're sorry if there was too much in your food. Feel free to stop by again. We promise you will not leave dissapointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Hamacas also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing