We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast, wonderful Fruit Juices, friendly Staff”
Review of Banana Hamacas - CLOSED

Banana Hamacas
Price range: $2 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Banana Hamacas is a restaurant and bar located in the center of town in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Chilled atmosphere in the day and the best place to pre drink in town during the evening.Our food and drinks boast flavors you won't be able to find anywhere else in town.At Banana Hamacas, everything we serve is fresh and healthy. All of our dishes are cooked using extra virgin olive oil. Our famous juices and smoothies are either 100% natural, or sweetened with local honey. The majority of our produce comes directly from local sources.We also boast the FASTEST WIFI IN TOWN!So come in, grab a drink and a bite to eat, relax and enjoy.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I think I had a burrito called "The Beast" and it was great! I also had a pineapple coconut smoothie which I won't soon forget. The staff was friendly and service was quick.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank AngelaMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Hi Angela! Thanks for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We're so glad you enjoyed the food and smoothies. Fell free to stop by any time. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Banana Hamacas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 61 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stopped in today and had a grilled wrap and a smoothie. Everywhere in San Juan del Sur has a smoothie so I was so happy to see more variety than the typical fruit only, I ended up getting the green room and it was amazing.

You must try this spot if your in town!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank AndreaMZambrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Hi Andrea! Thanks for leaving such a wonderful review. We're very glad you enjoyed the wrap and the smoothie. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The food is inexpensive and good. Open kitchen with good service. Opening hours are a bit variable and irregular. Smoothies are wonderful. Absulutt a must if you pop into this city

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Nedvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Hello! Thank you for writing a review. It's much appreciated. We will soon be back to our regular opening hours, so you can come on down and grab a bite to eat for dinner too! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I wish they were open during the night time not sure why there not its a very fun place to get out of the heat and have a cold drink.

5  Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Hi, and thanks for leaving a great review. We're glad you have been enjoying BanHams! Unfortunately we were left understaffed for a little while recently, so we were not able to open during our regular hours. However...... our staff are back from vacation and we will be opening again in the evenings! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Just had a smoothy and taco here today. All I can say is that I wish we'd tried it sooner. Both were delicious and excellent value for money.

Great wifi and well worth a visit. Much much better than Simon says!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank TravellerS1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Hi! Thank you for leaving such a great review. We glad you enjoyed the food and smoothies! Please come by again soon. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Hamacas also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing