We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Taco with Roja Salsa - yum!”
Review of Banana Hamacas - CLOSED

Banana Hamacas
Price range: $2 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Banana Hamacas is a restaurant and bar located in the center of town in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Chilled atmosphere in the day and the best place to pre drink in town during the evening.Our food and drinks boast flavors you won't be able to find anywhere else in town.At Banana Hamacas, everything we serve is fresh and healthy. All of our dishes are cooked using extra virgin olive oil. Our famous juices and smoothies are either 100% natural, or sweetened with local honey. The majority of our produce comes directly from local sources.We also boast the FASTEST WIFI IN TOWN!So come in, grab a drink and a bite to eat, relax and enjoy.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Breakfast Taco with Roja Salsa - yum!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Breakfast tacos are excellent - the roja salsa is delicious. They are fairly large, so you probably only need one. Smoothies are decent, but nothing too special. They also have Wifi if you need it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tcldenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
JS, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're so happy that you liked the breakfast tacos and the smoothies. You're welcome back anytime. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    8
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great lunch, great smoothie”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went to San Juan on the weekend, before leaving I decided to get some food. Since a lot of people recommend the Banana Hamacas, I decided to give it a try. The lunch had 3 different flavors and can be made into 4 different kind of meal, I chose the Mediterranean and salad. The Mediterranean sauce was great, getting away from nicaragua food for a while was nice. I really enjoyed the chicken. The best part about the shack I would say is the smoothies, great and refreshing...I tried the number 4 (forgot the name)...which was banana pineapple and ginger, great and big cup! Gotta give it a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KirbyPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Kirby, thanks so much you leaving such a great review. We're very glad you enjoyed yourself! An for the record, the smoothie you had is called the 'AWWDELICIOUS'. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect breakfast”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

awesome smoothies and healthy breakfast tacos, what's not to love? be warned, the tacos are big so you might want to start with one :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
JS, thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. Your custom is very much appreciated. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delish”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have been living in Playa Maderas for a few months and our smoothie stop in San Juan is Banana Hammock. The smoothies are amazing.....I adore the Pullout, all my fav foods in a smoothie! The service is also super friendly and quick. We love it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kpfleming1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Miss Fleming. Thank you very kindly for leaving such a lovely review. We are so happy you enjoy coming to BanHam for a pullout, every now and then. Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Smoothies for Cheap”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Really refreshing smoothies with some interesting combinations of ingredients (try the Green Room). Everything tasted super fresh, and they were really reasonably priced. It's a small shop, and a little bit hard to find, so look for a row of ATV's parked on the street and it's right next to that business. Grab one before heading out to the beach in the morning.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tjkvu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BananaHamacasSJDS, Manager at Banana Hamacas, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thanks so much for such a great review. We're so happy you enjoyed our smoothies. You're right, it is a great idea to grab a smoothie before and after a surf. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Hamacas also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing