We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only for the experienced - not for beginners” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aracne Rappelling Day Tours

Aracne Rappelling Day Tours
Ranked #11 of 40 Tours in San Juan del Sur
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Combining three of the four elements in Nature: Earth, Air and Water, Aracne will take you on an adventure through old ruins, history, culture and adrenaline! You will experience nature in a totally new way by rappelling down a 110-meter cliff, and finish with a refreshing dip in the ocean and a boat ride back to town.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Only for the experienced - not for beginners”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This tour has a lot of potential; unfortunately it did not feel safe. The rappelling line is attached to a tree and no secondary safety line is attached to your harness. The gloves are leather gardening gloves that are clumsy and, since only one size is available, to large for women's hands. After you start the descent you are on your own for the entire 400 feet. On the vertical descent it was almost impossible to slow down and there was no time to enjoy the view. Especially the last part did not feel safe at all. This was not an exhilarating experience; we were just happy when it was over. To note that the guide is not professionally trained, nor is certified. The owner needs to invest in professional gloves and add a safety line to allow the descent to be controlled. Only attempt this tour if you have prior experience with rappelling.

Helpful?
3 Thank colibritravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    0
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

An opportunity to go on a beautiful hike on a private property that tourists have no access to. New high-end equipment, very safe. If you're going in the morning, when they ask you what drink you want on the boat that picks you up, even though it's morning don't be shy to say BEER, because you'll want a good cold beer after this :)

I spend a total of 6 weeks in SJDS, and in my opinion this experience give you the best value for money. Go for it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hadas_Sella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The best way to spend a SJDS afternoon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the 21st "excellent" review, so you know Baldo has the goods.

This a low-key, leisurely hike up the cliffs on the southern edge of the bay (i.e NOT the Jesus statue side). Along the way we got great historic overviews of the area paired with very unique looks up and down the coastline. We saw the ruins of a clifftop fort that Baldo found and cleared. And that's before we got to the rappelling.

Baldo and his team of guys were very reassuring and gave great demonstrations in perfect English, helping us go down the cliff confident and comfortably onto the rocks below where we dove into the water and were boated back to the beach. By the end, I felt like I had just spent an afternoon with friends. But, importantly, they were perfect professionals all the way along.

For $35 it was easily the best money we spent in town and a great addition to the trip. Seriously, give it a try. You'll be very impressed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank chriswooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Del Sur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best tour in san juan del sur!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have lived here for over a year and yesterday was my best day I have spent here. This tour is beyond excellent. They have set up an epic tour that not only includes an exhilarating rappel down an almost 400ft cliff, but the hike is invigorating and gives a stunning 360 degree view of the breathtaking san juan del sur. This tour also includes a history lesson of the town that is fascinating, not to mention my favorite part...rock diving into the beautiful turquoise ocean and swimming after that adrenaline inducing drop followed by your choice of a beer, water or soda as you take a boat ride back to the shore. And it was crazy affordable! Get on this NOW before the prices go way up because folks...this is a steal right now.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberPalmeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“Exceeded all expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

A short climb up the hill brought us to a picturesque view of San Juan Del Sur. Javier is very passionate about his heritage and is exceptionally knowledgable of Nicaragua's history. Lets just say he would make a great history teacher who wants the best for his country and people. And then there is the 300ft rappel. The equipment was next to new, the staff were safe and professional. No matter what your level, your in safe hands and the experience is unforgettable. I had a pretty solid smile when my feet touched the bottom. I highly recommend this as a must do San Juan.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrHersom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aracne Rappelling Day Tours also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Aracne Rappelling Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing