We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our trip to San Juan del Sur”
Review of Jugoso - CLOSED

Jugoso
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: jugososjs@gmail.com
Salem, Oregon
1 review
“One of the highlights of our trip to San Juan del Sur”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As vegans traveling in Nicaragua, it isn't easy to find a good meal, but Jugoso was outstanding! Owners Laura & Paulo are friendly and accommodating, as are the rest of the staff. Laura went out of her way to prepare us a delicious dish of berenjena a la plancha and a tasty pasta dish for my young son. And the fresh smoothie drink (with rum added) was so good, I asked for what was left in the blender! I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Jugosa dinner special is worth finding them for”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We ordered their special which was chicken kebabs, salad, rice, shredded carrot salad and an omelette. Wow- really great spices and super fresh! I had a smoothie with yogurt, honey, papaya and banana which was decadent. The plate was about $6 and smoothie $3.50. They are only open during lunch time. We came back and ordered a full torta so that we would have leftovers to eat in our condo. So worth it and only 120 cordobas. Owner speaks English. Almost on the beach, has a unobstructed view with a great breezes. Wish we could eat dinner there too. My son had the BLT and he loved the crusty sub.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank moniqueflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurPointofView, Manager at Jugoso, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
hi guys we really apreciate your god reviews. We are opern the whole day, from 10am-to 10pm and close on mondays We hope to see ou again very soon at any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food - quiet end of street”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Ordered the BLT and the Jugoso Plate and both were wonderful. Food is fresh and tasty. Ordered three juice concoctions that were perfect additions to our meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice view of the ocean”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Came here a year ago when it was located across from the mercado and loved it. Tried to order at the new location and waited 20 minutes before I got my drinks and almost 45 minutes for two salads and sandwich. We ordered bother round of beers that we received as we were finishing the meal. The sandwich arrived 5 minutes after the salads. The salads (mayo chicken) were delicious but the veggie sandwich was soggy.

A year ago it would have been four or five stars, but the service has gone down almost everywhere in town. There war sonly two people working there. Withe the hotel next door, there should be plenty of expats who could step in and work a few hours to help with the crowds.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great sandwich place”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a great sandwich and everyone was satisfied by their meal. The place was a little difficult to find because it seems like none of the streets have names, but it is on the street one block west of "Entrada San Juan" between avenida mercado and NIC 16, closer to avenida mercado.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jugoso also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing