We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day on the beach”

Playa Hermosa Surf Camp
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come enjoy the beach where Survivor Nicaragua was filmed in 2010. We have 3km of virgin white sand beaches. Great surfing, swimming, tide pooling, and we have horses ready to run you up and down the sand. Shuttles from town (SJDS) are available, and we have a beach bar/restaurant and hotel if you want to spend some quality time relaxing on the beach...
Camrose, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great day on the beach”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at Hermosa. Easy to rent a board and go out for the day. The beach is huge and the surf good. We look forward to returning.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chadphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    28
    4
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surf in one day”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Beach is wide and beautiful. Perfect for beginner surfing...waves were not too high, but they have a long ride to give you longer to stand up. Instructors were okay, but a girl who surfed the day before us was in our group again on second day so she had to listen to all of our beginner instructions again. Great setting with tiki huts, hammocks, bar, restaurant, lockers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank beckyburleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Turtles”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a really nice beach, nice people, beautiful environment and in January the month I was there, they give you the chance, when nature is ready, to release baby turtles! It was so cool. I visited three times with two turtle releases, we released a total of over 100.

There is shade at the beach, chairs, hammocks,food, drink, bathrooms etc. They will shuttle you form downtown and in my case from my villa for $10 r/t. The driver, Armando, is a very affable chap, speaks english (self taught). Here is a hint. Return time to SJDS is around 4:30PM but if you party is interested, ask Armando if he will wait for you to watch the sunset around 5;30PM in Jan. He was pretty cool about it. Also you can call to the beach and find out if they are planning a turtle release for that day.

The one down side the entire month I was there, was the wind. It was relentless, 20-40mph almost every day making laying on the beach impossible. (Surfers loved it.) But they have places to sit off the beach which are very comfortable. One day I was there the wind was so strong I saw surfboards being blown down the beach. Highly recommend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathyey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best beach in the area”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Playa Hermosa surf camp is situated on arguably the most beautiful beach in/around SJDS. Multiple point breaks to surf. Great spot for beginners or advanced surfers. Beach is huge and
clean. Plenty of hammocks and a small, chill eating area with delicious food. Saul is a fantastic surf instructor and even nicer guy. So ask for him.

You are 20 minutes out of town on a desolate beach.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjay0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Robbed by three masked men w/ guns and machete”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Be careful here. Do not segregate yourself. Stay near the camp. The beach is beautiful!!! But we were robbed of all our belongings by three masked men w/ guns and machetes. The security at this beach is not up to par and the response by the police will leave you worrying. BE CAREFUL.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank traveler60305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Hermosa Surf Camp also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Playa Hermosa Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing