We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING HOSTEL!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buena Onda Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buena Onda Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOSTEL!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The place was very well kept, very clean. An amazing view of the city and bay, best place to watch the sunset. The rooms and bathrooms are very big. The owner is incredibly nice, and knows everyone in the town, and can help you with anything you need. The hostel is far enough away from town that you dont get all the noise on busier nights, and close enough to walk (5-6 blocks). You will however hear all the dogs in SJDS barking at night, but thats everywhere in town. My only real small negative is no Wifi. but you can easily find it in town, and their is a computer with internet access for you to use in the hostel. I would recommend it and stay here any time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zink3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
105
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Myself and 3 friends stayed at Buena Onda for 9 days and nights. The place has amazing views and is owned by one of the best and most helpful people you'll meet on your travels. Babba will help you in anyway he can.

The rooms are fantastic with great showers and enormous beds. The common areas provide some of the best views you're going to find in SJDS. Hammocks and plenty of seats are available and the kitchen has everything you need including a common fridge to store food and a gas stove to cook with. There is even a microwave and a fridge stocked with local beer. On the fridge you'll find a tick sheet that you can mark the beers you drink. The fridge also has juice and soda should you be in the mood for something other than a beer.

Overall, great hostel, affordable, great views, awesome owner, decent location, great rooms, and the kids that live in the neighborhood are pretty cool too.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are going to be louder than others but you are in the middle of a neighborhood so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Our first stop in Nicaragua and was supposed to stay in the city but after reading good reviews on this place, we ended up here. I don't regret it. Nice atmosphere and Baba is a very friendly and serviceminded guy. The first thing he did was to mark out places on the map were you can find good eating, markets and sights in the city. The best about this place is the help-yourself-beer-fridge. Mark out how many beers and pay later. 1dollar a beer!! A fridge filled with icecold beers. My husband was in the heaven and set the record there. We booked 2 nights here but ended up 7 nights in total. The downtown is nice but gets hot during the day so it's a nice breeze at Buena Onda. Nice hammocks where you can catch up with some reading our just enjoy the view. Downside is that it's no wifi but you can use Baba's computer at anytime. I must admit it was nice to have conversations with people without everyone checking their facebook every 5 minutes. A 5 minutes walk from downtown and a steep hill to get here but when you see the view, it's worth it. This place I would recommend to everyone. We are for sure coming back next time in Nicaragua.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Koterhals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

First of all: It is the nicest and loveliest hostel I ever stayed in. The house is amazing. It is clean and the view over the bay in San Juan ist just wonderful. Also the vibes in the hostel are relaxed. You can use the kitchen! We paid a little more than 20 Dollars for the deluxe double bed room which ist really big - good price!!

But why do I only give 3 stars? Because we had to leave after one night because of the noise. I always sleep with earplugs - nonetheless it was impossible. The hostel is in the middle of a residential area and nearly everybody seems to have a dog. And they bark, sure. But also in the night and sometimes they just don't stop. Maybe we were unlucky and just caught a bad night? I don't know. The owner said that this is everywhere in Nicaragua especially in San Juan - hm, that's not really true because we found a nice, calm hotel (El Puerto) just in the center of San Juan. There is no real "window" with glas or something at Buena Onda - so you just are in the middle of everything that happens around!

And be aware: If you make a reservation you have to pay the full amount of money for all days although you decide to check out earlier!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I really enjoyed my 3 nights stay in Buena Onda Backpackers! The view from the kitchen and the communal area was breath taking!
Yes, you have to walk up the steep hill to get there, and it is a good 5 minutes walk to the downtown. But the distance from the downtown is what makes Buena Onda a perfect place to stay when you want a quiet, relaxing stay in a town by the beach! I am so glad I stayed there - away from party goers.
I stayed in a room with a huge king bed - as others mentioned there are no mosquito nets- and did not have any issues with bugs biting me. I also enjoyed the beautiful view from my window next to the bed.
Bubba is a great host - easy going attitude with everything and very friendly. I went to the Playa hermosa per his recommendation and I really loved it there!

Room Tip: If you cannot afford the ocean view rooms, take the one right next to the stairs to the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpkintrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best places we have stayed in 5 months of travelling. The bright yellow walls sum up this warm, inviting hostel.

We stayed 3 nights in a private room. It was very comfortable and clean. The kitchen is excellent (with the best view anyone has ever had while washing up). The communal space on the terrace is a lovely place to lie in the hammocks and have a beer (from the honesty based fridge).

Baba is a fantastic owner - providing coffee every morning and going out of his way to help - giving us directions of how to get to monteverde (Costa Rica).

Can't recommend this place enough.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OllieSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Very hospitable host, thank you Baba! Great price, clean room and facilities, super view of the ocean and sunset. Excellent location 10 minute walk to downtown SJDS. Good Morning coffee and we loved the hammocks to chill in and read a book, good cold beer. We would defintely return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyP662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.3 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
5.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.3 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.8 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 53 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#6 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Onda Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Onda Backpackers

Property: Buena Onda Backpackers
Address: Barrio frente sur, San Juan del Sur 99999, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, calm, and welcoming space for travelers. Enjoy the amazing view from the rooftop terrace and have a drink in a hammock ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buena Onda Backpackers Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing