We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buena Onda Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I really enjoyed my 3 nights stay in Buena Onda Backpackers! The view from the kitchen and the communal area was breath taking!
Yes, you have to walk up the steep hill to get there, and it is a good 5 minutes walk to the downtown. But the distance from the downtown is what makes Buena Onda a perfect place to stay when you want a quiet, relaxing stay in a town by the beach! I am so glad I stayed there - away from party goers.
I stayed in a room with a huge king bed - as others mentioned there are no mosquito nets- and did not have any issues with bugs biting me. I also enjoyed the beautiful view from my window next to the bed.
Bubba is a great host - easy going attitude with everything and very friendly. I went to the Playa hermosa per his recommendation and I really loved it there!

Room Tip: If you cannot afford the ocean view rooms, take the one right next to the stairs to the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpkintrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
106
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best places we have stayed in 5 months of travelling. The bright yellow walls sum up this warm, inviting hostel.

We stayed 3 nights in a private room. It was very comfortable and clean. The kitchen is excellent (with the best view anyone has ever had while washing up). The communal space on the terrace is a lovely place to lie in the hammocks and have a beer (from the honesty based fridge).

Baba is a fantastic owner - providing coffee every morning and going out of his way to help - giving us directions of how to get to monteverde (Costa Rica).

Can't recommend this place enough.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OllieSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Very hospitable host, thank you Baba! Great price, clean room and facilities, super view of the ocean and sunset. Excellent location 10 minute walk to downtown SJDS. Good Morning coffee and we loved the hammocks to chill in and read a book, good cold beer. We would defintely return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyP662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Perfect chill out deck overlooking the town/beach
Spacious clean room with comfortable king-size bed and pillows
Excellent price ($21/night for private bed and bath)
Kind hospitable owner and iiiice cold beers.
Wish we could've enjoyed it for longer!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laurel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at (maybe even THE best one). It's hard to describe, but from the minute Baba welcomed us and showed us around, we immediately felt so relaxed and at home. There is a wonderful mixture of guests and a very social atmosphere, without it being a party hostel (it is the opposite, luckily!). There is an honor system for beers and soft drinks and a great open air kitchen. The 3-level terrace is stunning (and the view is incredible) and the many hammocks, rocking chairs and sofas are so comfy.
We found the rooms really spacious and spotlessly clean.
Baba deserves some kind of award for being the friendliest host ever.
There is absolutely nothing negative to say about this place. We are already thinking about staying here again some time in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Buena Onda was absolutely the best place we stayed during a 10-day Costa Rica/Nicaragua tour - no contest. We got a private room on the upper level - large room with a king bed & private bathroom with a beautiful bamboo faucet. If I remember correctly, we paid about $20/night. The open-air common area with a kitchen, hammocks, tables, & chairs was the perfect place to relax & enjoy the amazing ocean view. There was free wifi, and the drinks stocked in the fridge were serve-yourself & pay by the honor system.

The owner was very helpful & friendly. Our cab driver wasn't familiar with the hostel's location, so we called the hostel & Baba (the owner) gave the driver directions. Baba also helped with activity/dining recommendations and arranged our departure pick-up.

We had no problems with bugs, although as others have said, there were no screens over the windows; I'm guessing March is a good time to travel if you're squeamish about insects. Only potential downside I see is the location is about a 5 to 10 minute walk from the beach & the main restaurant/bar area. If you like to stay out late partying on the beach, the uphill trek back to the hostel might be a bit annoying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place has nice, quiet multilevel common area with an awesome view to the bay. The rooms were nice (although there were some big spiders around and no mosquito nets) and the kitchen was great for making your own breakfast etc. We loved the location in the quiet residential area ten minutes walk from the center. The owner was very nice and helpful. We stayed there during Christmas time, so we paid a high season double price for the room (it seemed that all the places in San Juan del Sur area doubled their prices during Christmas). With the double price the room was a bit overpriced, but definitely terrific value with the normal price. If we go back to San Juan del Sur we will stay in Buena Onda again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
5.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.3 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.8 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 58 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Maderas
Casa Maderas
#1 of 7 in Playa Maderas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Onda Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Onda Backpackers

Property: Buena Onda Backpackers
Address: Barrio frente sur, San Juan del Sur 99999, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, calm, and welcoming space for travelers. Enjoy the amazing view from the rooftop terrace and have a drink in a hammock ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buena Onda Backpackers Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing