We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time in San Juan Del Sur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Great Time in San Juan Del Sur”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I took a trip with my girlfriend to Surf Ranch and had an excellent time! The owners Lucas and Travis are great people and take time out of their busy schedule to show you what San Jan Del Sur is all about. The Surf was amazing as their are different breaks for all skill levels and Hugo (surf instructor) did an amazing job assisting my girlfriend with learning to surf. The swim up bar has friendly locals who love to interact with you which makes you feel like your really apart of the excellent culture of the community.

When you go into town for dinner and drinks you feel safe and welcome, I strongly recommend taking the time to have fun and interact with the locals. We also went to the zip line which an amazing experience as well. If you have a sense of adventure and want to have an experience you'll remember for the rest of your life, head to Surf Ranch and you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: If you must have AC make sure to book the suites that offer it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Collin_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us here at the Surf Ranch Resort. It was great to meet you and your girlfriend. I am glad to hear that you had a blast and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you.

Luke Boychuk
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    52
    33
    32
    43
See reviews for
36
80
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

How do we even begin to explain what an amazing experience we had at the Surf Ranch! Upon arrival to Managa Airport, we were welcomed by our comfortable shuttle to the ranch which was a scenic 2 hour drive. We rented the Deluxe Penthouse Condo room for 9 days and were very comfortable. These are the only rooms at this time that have A/C and hot water. They are very spacious and comfortable queen size beds. All brand-new with modern finishings. Wifi connection was always great if you care about that. If you're looking for a high end luxury suite, with your typical flat screen tv, telephone, etc - don't expect that. You won't need it. But if you're looking for an amazing atmosphere with tons of great staff and guests, this is for you! We were a group of 23-30 year olds and stayed throughout New Years. All the staff was so accommodating and knew your drink by memory by the second ordered it. Ruben, Juan-Carlos, and Marjorie are the kindest and most hardworking bar staff around! You'll meet Buddy..the cutest guard dog, and of course Luke & Travis, the owners who will go above and beyond to make sure you and your friends have the best time...Maybe even take you out on the town with their and show you the best spots. San Juan Del Sur is a great place if you're looking to surf, party, eat great food or simply hang out and shop around! Food at the surf ranch is AWESOME, however....Breakfast Buffet for 2...is really for 4..so good! Pictures to be added soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantellemac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us here at the Surf Ranch Resort. Your group was awesome, and the staff misses all of you! Hopefully we will see you again soon.

All the best

Luke Boychuk
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were impressed by the video and excited for all the amenities, however upon our arrival we heard the unmistakable sound off metal being sawed because the rock wall was being built. Walking around we enjoyed the overall resort but also noticed the pool table has been weathered. We were also told the restaurant has not been completed. There wasn't any service available at the swim up bar and it appears to be a storage of sorts. The villa we rented was clean, but there was only 1 towel, our reservation was for 4 people. We loved Buddy the dog, so friendly but also a great guard. The pool design is cool with lots of seating available, but the water was cloudy and had a layer of dead gnats. After our swim, we attempted to get towels from the receptionist, however she said they did not have any available. In the morning we were looking forward to our included breakfast served from 8-10am, we sat at our table at 9, however we were told that the food was not prepared and the coffee was not brewed, we looked around and noticed all the other tables of people without food or coffee. There was only 1 server working and we sat for 45 minutes waiting for the food to be served, which cut into our beach time. Our coffee got cold quickly and asked for it to be heated in a microwave, but was told it was broken. Overall this resort had a lot of potential as the grounds and rooms are nice, but service needs vast improvement and hopefully the amenities will be completed soon.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Surf Ranch Resort.

We spent 2013 opening and finishing construction. It is now 2014, and we are spending the first month of January fixing all of the small details and streamlining the resort to get everything up to 100%. I respect your review as most of your comments are already on our list of things that are being fixed or have been fixed already.

1. The rock wall is finished. No more sawing poolside.
2. The pool table - We just got new bumpers and felt lined in, as well as the pool cues fixed. The only thing weathered is the wood, which we are repainting right now.
3. The restaurant is completed and running, it has been since January 2013. However in restaurants, new things are always to be added. But rest assure, the restaurant is completed. Later in this review, you mentioned you ate at our restaurant.
4. The swim up bar - We do not have someone full time at the swim up bar, only when their are guests using the pool. When no one is in the pool, it is best for that bar tender to be tending the main bar.
5. We have more towels, and have improved the cleaning procedures with the maids. You happened to come when the resort was full, but the towel issue has been fixed.
6. Yes the pool was dirty after the New Years party with over 300 people in it. We have a full time pool cleaner. The pool is perfectly clean.
7. We now have 2 new coffee makers, so coffee will not be an issue anymore in the morning.
8. Yes, the food has been taking a long time recently as most of the burners have failed, they are now fixed, and food is coming out a lot faster. We are also hiring 2 more cooks this week.

We are integrating a new training system as here in Nicaragua, it is hard to find staff with hospitality experience. We will be training them throughout January. The Surf Ranch is almost 100% complete, but yes, as you said we still have things to fix. Again, thank you for your review. We really do appreciate it.

Kind Regards,

Luke Boychuk
Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My first but def not last visit to surf ranch nica. I went on this vacation with my fiancé and another couple. We stayed in the condos behind the volley ball court. The ranch was amazing, totally nicer than any other property in San Juan del sur. We were able to meet the property owners on the first day that we arrived. We were treated extremely well by the owners and staff. Everyone at the ranch is very personable. Also, the food was wonderful! We ate every breakfast at the ranch. We also ate lunch and had snacks. Great experience. Planning for a return trip in March 2014

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. It was great to meet you and your fiance. It was also a pleasure to bring you out to our second location of the Surf Ranch Resort in Popoyo that we are currently developing. We will see you again in March!

Happy New Year!

Luke Boychuk
Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was my first trip to Nicaragua and my first stay at the Surf Ranch. The staff is great, super friendly and we made good friends with a few of them right away. Yoga with Shannon was amazing! It was on the second floor of the main building completely open to the beautiful nature we were surrounding. The pool was designed very thoughtfully with seating. The food was good and comforting just order without salt! :) We made amazing friends with the guests and the workers. Our first surfing lesson with Hugo was so much fun. He is a very detailed oriented instructor that had fun with us and made us feel comfortable in our awkwardness ;). The owners were on site most of the time and we quickly made friends with then also. Buddy the guard dog is such a treat for anyone that is a dog lover. The grounds were beautiful, the drinks were great, the shuttle has flexible times for getting around but I didn't use the shuttle because we rented a car and I recommend renting a vehicle because its so cheap and if your adventurous you'll be fine. The weather during our stay was amazing.

Room Tip: If you're okay with spending a little more get the rooms with the air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missingbuddythedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that you enjoyed the Surf Ranch experience that our guests have come to love. It was great to meet you and I personally invite you back to the Surf Ranch the next time you decide to visit Nicaragua.

Happy New Year!

Luke Boychuk
Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had a blast, but I've always been to Nicaragua a few times and knew it wouldn't be quite as advertised. Not saying I didnt have fun, because I did; it's hard not to have fun when you're a free shuttle to the beach. they were a little ambigious with the shuttle and surfboard rental set up. One evening I tried to set up a a free shuttle for the morning and was told it was already full. Not a big deal, but i could see how some people (when paying for an all inclusive surf rental/shuttle to the beach) are told they can't go for the day would be upset. Another morning all the surfboards were rented out. Moral of the story, go to town and buy a board.

The pool and bar is sweet, and they are very generous pouring the rum :) Food was okay, nothing to rave about, but nothign to be angry about either. The skatepark was fun, they were in the process of building a climbing wall, and the airbag as never blown up while we were there.

If you're looking for a no hassle, all inclusive package take a cruise in the Caribbean. If you're on the adventurous side, and want to see a not so polished (again not in a bad way) operation, then check out the surf ranch. The only issue I have with this place is the cost of ding repair. A buddy of mine put in two very small, very easily fixable dings in one of their boards, and they charged him $85 and even refused to let us take it to town to get it fixed for a more reasonable $25. Other than that, hard to complain as I didn't expect it to actually rival a first world's country all-inclusive program. It's good, and weird, to see this type of place pop up in Nicaragua.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0n_the_road_again62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Resort. We appreciate and value your opinion. There are a couple things however, that I would like to address.

1. I would like to know what you mean by the package that you purchased not being quite as advertised. Are you referring to your package? or the country of Nicaragua? Because, your package included everything that was listed on theclymb.com when you purchased it. I am simply curious to what you mean by this.

2. Shuttle being full. Our policies are that if it is full, we will hire another vehicle or come back and do a return trip. Also for surfboards, we will pay and rent a board for you from a shop in town, if we run out. Let me clear this issue up with the receptionists.

3. The rock wall is now finished and opened!

4. The airbag, we do not keep it blown up all day. In order for us to blow it up, we need at least 1 person to sign up for it. If no one signs up, we do not blow it up. It takes 10 minutes to blow up and take down.

5. Ding Repair - Our prices are only $25 as well and not $85 like you mentioned.

This week we will be installing room guides in all rooms so everyone has the correct information. We also hired a new General Manager and are integrating an 8 week training course for all of our staff.

You are right, we have been "not so polished", as we have been concentrating on finishing the resort.... but now we are finished and are polishing everything up! As we strive to be the best resort in Nicaragua, and we couldn't do it without your feedback. Again, I do appreciate it.

Thank you and Happy Holidays!

Luke Boychuk
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I was shocked to see a couple of bad reviews for the surf ranch, because I have so many good things to say about my stay! You have to check this place out! My experience at the ranch consisted of 5 days of amazing yoga with shannon, a canadian instuctor who changed yoga for me! The yoga area is on the second floor and is all open concept so u feel the breeze and can totally connect with your practice! I also spent a ton of time by the pool that has an awesome swim up bar! The staff was probably the best part about my stay. They have a small staff of rotating barthenders so u get to know all their names and personalitys! They helped me with my spanish, greeted me by name and gave excellent service! The air bag was super fun and their newly added rock wall is an awesome addition.I dont skate but any time i heard someone skateboarding id grab a beer and pull up a seat! theres always something to do, watch and enjoy! free shuttles to town! Awesome beaches, great waves!!!

Room Tip: some villas sleep up to 6 new condos have a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lukeboychuk, Owner at Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest

We thank you for staying with us at the Surf Ranch Resort & we appreciate your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have had an amazing time with us.

We enjoyed having you and it was great to meet you. We invite you back to stay with us in 2014. You can contact me directly at lukeboychuk@surfranchnicaragua.com and I will make sure your next stay will be even better than your last.

Kind Regards,

Luke Boychuk
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
4.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2.1 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
171 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort

Property: Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Address: Empalme de El Valle, 991.5 m al Este, San Juan del Sur 47008, Nicaragua (Formerly Surf Ranch Action Sports Resort)
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Ranch in San Juan Del Sur, features Nicaragua's largest skateboard park, rock climbing wall, private gym, jungle paintball, volleyball court, world class restaurant & bar, swimming pool & swim up bar, poolside cabanas, standard rooms, villas, and deluxe condos. The Surf Ranch offers many extreme sports and activities such as surfing, skateboarding, paintball, sailing, fishing, yoga, rock climbing and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing