We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite part of my trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Surfing Donkey
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I've been traveling through hostel after hostel for 6 months now all over Europe, Canada, and Central America. I've met more people then I can count. So many beautiful people. The surfing donkey has been my favorite hotel experience to date. I meant to stay 2 nights and stayed 16. The vibe is wonderful. As soon as you walk through the door you're friends with everyone. It has a homey feel to it and is small enough to get to know everyone staying there. It's hard to distinguish who works there or not because the staff get involved with the guest to make sure they have a good time. The lounge for watching movies upstairs is amazing, especially for Rainy days. The bar is cheap, and they shut the bar down around 11 pm so people can sleep. It does get very loud in the mornings from cars driving by and animals. It is definitely a party hostel... But the kind of party that is hanging out around the pool with 15 of your best friends, laughing. I highly recommend for independent travelers who want to meet people. Everyone at the surfing donkey became my family away from family.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtneyleerunyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 134 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at Surfing Donkey for a couple of nights with 3 friends and we really enjoyed the place. It has a great common space with a bar, hammocks to relax in and a pool!! also, it is really cheap but excellent value!
the 2 managers Mark and Troy are really friendly and give good advice

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chagui14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

There is an endless list of reasons why you should stay at the Surfing Donkey!!! I liked it so much i ended up staying for like 3 weeks!!
*Its super affordable, $7!! such a backpackers price.
*The pool, its big, refreshing and perfect for pool parties during the Sunday BBQ.
*The movie/lounge area. if your looking to relax or battle a hangover there are hammocks, beds, chairs and a BIG screen tv with tons of movie options. (all in English i may add)
* THE STAFF!! Troy, Andy, Mark and Saf are seriously some of the greatest people i met on my trip. No matter what you need these 4 are eager to help and full of great ideas.
*The kittens!! Pinto & Gallo are the cutest things EVER
*CHEAPEST laundry. its done the same day and smells great and CHEAP. like cheapoest of my entire trip.
*The Pub Crawl, its a blast- excessive drinking while playing games? need i say more?
*Sunday BBQ. a new ritual at the donkey, a way to meet people from other hostels. got some cookin skills? help out in the kitchen. makes for a better experience!! plus its just nice to help :)
I could go on forever.. its pretty much just the best option in San Juan Del Sur.
Oh!! bring ear plugs, it does get kind of loud in the morning with the church being right there..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadieskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

A ridiculously attractive Argentinean girl approached me in the streets of San Juan Del Sur and told me about Surfing Donkey Hostel by the church. This budget hostel served as a great launch pad for my adventures in Nicaragua!

Surfing Donkey is a good balance between a party/social environment and a chill place that you can enjoy some tranquility and even get some work done. I work via laptop while traveling and I was surprisingly productive while at Surfing Donkey, they get about 2MB up/down on wifi there which is pretty standard for Nicaragua.

Surfing Donkey is a value leader in San Juan Del Sur, the hostel has a great pool for taking a dip, plenty of hammocks for lounging, a movie watching area, a kitchen, and a ridiculously affordable bar for socializing.

Mark and Troy are the super friendly managers, they will hook you up with gym memberships, nights of discotequeing, awesome pub crawls along with surfing and boating expeditions.

Surfing Donkey is located in a quintessential latin neighborhood and it is loud early in the morning. Which may be a little rough on you if you are particularilly hung over on a given morning. Also, people SMOKE A LOT in Nicaragua so I highly recommend stalking up on antioxidant rich foods (Coconuts, Garlic, Green Tea) while traveling.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had a great stay here! Super chilled, pool was a massive plus! Lots of open space and staff extremely helpfull. Shuttles to the major beaches available. Check out the statue at sunset, stunning......... if you stay here take some chocolate milk for the kittens!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SNRCamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here with 5 friends 2 times 4nights.
We were advised by friends to go to this place and they were right about everything: spacious dorms (in low season), very relaxed and friendly manager and the pool is great after a good day of surfing
ps: Cheap prices at the bar :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevelkenevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at the Donkey for a week and loved it - friendly atmosphere, cheapest beer in town and also it was one of the very few places with a pool which was greatly appreciated! Very helpful with arranging surfing trips and it was nice to have the coffee available all day. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CForsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.2 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
47.1 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#16 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Surfing Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Surfing Donkey

Address: One block south of Central Park and church, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 71 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $20 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfing Donkey is the best new social hostel in San Juan del Sur, only two blocks away from the city center with a large pool, cheap bar, full kitchen, yoga, and events like group BBQs and pool parties. We balance our social activities with a strict quiet policy before 9am and after 10pm, so guests can have fun and sleep well on the new premium mattresses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Surfing Donkey Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing