We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hostels out of a 12 week trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Surfing Donkey
Utila, Honduras
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favorite hostels out of a 12 week trip.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

There is an endless list of reasons why you should stay at the Surfing Donkey!!! I liked it so much i ended up staying for like 3 weeks!!
*Its super affordable, $7!! such a backpackers price.
*The pool, its big, refreshing and perfect for pool parties during the Sunday BBQ.
*The movie/lounge area. if your looking to relax or battle a hangover there are hammocks, beds, chairs and a BIG screen tv with tons of movie options. (all in English i may add)
* THE STAFF!! Troy, Andy, Mark and Saf are seriously some of the greatest people i met on my trip. No matter what you need these 4 are eager to help and full of great ideas.
*The kittens!! Pinto & Gallo are the cutest things EVER
*CHEAPEST laundry. its done the same day and smells great and CHEAP. like cheapoest of my entire trip.
*The Pub Crawl, its a blast- excessive drinking while playing games? need i say more?
*Sunday BBQ. a new ritual at the donkey, a way to meet people from other hostels. got some cookin skills? help out in the kitchen. makes for a better experience!! plus its just nice to help :)
I could go on forever.. its pretty much just the best option in San Juan Del Sur.
Oh!! bring ear plugs, it does get kind of loud in the morning with the church being right there..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadieskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    35
    16
    8
    15
See reviews for
1
19
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

A ridiculously attractive Argentinean girl approached me in the streets of San Juan Del Sur and told me about Surfing Donkey Hostel by the church. This budget hostel served as a great launch pad for my adventures in Nicaragua!

Surfing Donkey is a good balance between a party/social environment and a chill place that you can enjoy some tranquility and even get some work done. I work via laptop while traveling and I was surprisingly productive while at Surfing Donkey, they get about 2MB up/down on wifi there which is pretty standard for Nicaragua.

Surfing Donkey is a value leader in San Juan Del Sur, the hostel has a great pool for taking a dip, plenty of hammocks for lounging, a movie watching area, a kitchen, and a ridiculously affordable bar for socializing.

Mark and Troy are the super friendly managers, they will hook you up with gym memberships, nights of discotequeing, awesome pub crawls along with surfing and boating expeditions.

Surfing Donkey is located in a quintessential latin neighborhood and it is loud early in the morning. Which may be a little rough on you if you are particularilly hung over on a given morning. Also, people SMOKE A LOT in Nicaragua so I highly recommend stalking up on antioxidant rich foods (Coconuts, Garlic, Green Tea) while traveling.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had a great stay here! Super chilled, pool was a massive plus! Lots of open space and staff extremely helpfull. Shuttles to the major beaches available. Check out the statue at sunset, stunning......... if you stay here take some chocolate milk for the kittens!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SNRCamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here with 5 friends 2 times 4nights.
We were advised by friends to go to this place and they were right about everything: spacious dorms (in low season), very relaxed and friendly manager and the pool is great after a good day of surfing
ps: Cheap prices at the bar :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevelkenevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at the Donkey for a week and loved it - friendly atmosphere, cheapest beer in town and also it was one of the very few places with a pool which was greatly appreciated! Very helpful with arranging surfing trips and it was nice to have the coffee available all day. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CForsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and wanted to leave after a couple of hours, there seemed to be too much things not to be working as they should. The internet was down, just as cable tv, the toilet in our first room wasn't working, while in our second room the fan broke down. The pool is nice, and some of the workers really try their best, but overall dissapointing to be honest. Location is a bit off and the state of the hostal is terrible when you know it's only open for a while.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesperahsmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. The staff is very friendly and are trying so hard to make this hostel work. I loved the rooftop they just did. The kitchen was just done and is spacious. The pool is a ++. I recommend it: Dorms are cheap, breakfast is good and facilities are great!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#27 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
#54 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chale's House
Chale's House
#28 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.1 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#17 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Javier's House sjs
Hostal Javier's House sjs
#23 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
#15 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Surfing Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Surfing Donkey

Property: Hostel Surfing Donkey
Address: One block south of Central Park and church, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 74 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfing Donkey is the best new social hostel in San Juan del Sur, only two blocks away from the city center with a large pool, cheap bar, full kitchen, yoga, and events like group BBQs and pool parties. We balance our social activities with a strict quiet policy before 9am and after 10pm, so guests can have fun and sleep well on the new premium mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Surfing Donkey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Surfing Donkey Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing