We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Surfing Donkey
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at the Donkey for a week and loved it - friendly atmosphere, cheapest beer in town and also it was one of the very few places with a pool which was greatly appreciated! Very helpful with arranging surfing trips and it was nice to have the coffee available all day. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CForsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 137 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and wanted to leave after a couple of hours, there seemed to be too much things not to be working as they should. The internet was down, just as cable tv, the toilet in our first room wasn't working, while in our second room the fan broke down. The pool is nice, and some of the workers really try their best, but overall dissapointing to be honest. Location is a bit off and the state of the hostal is terrible when you know it's only open for a while.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesperahsmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. The staff is very friendly and are trying so hard to make this hostel work. I loved the rooftop they just did. The kitchen was just done and is spacious. The pool is a ++. I recommend it: Dorms are cheap, breakfast is good and facilities are great!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I really enjoyed my time here. It has a great new kitchen, bar and a pool! It is so hot here that I can't imagine not having access to a pool now that I've been here. The dorms were only $7 too which I thought was a bargain.

The staff are friendly and the vibe is cool. A good place for some pre drinks without it being a raging party - if you want an all night party and no sleep head to the naked tiger!

I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The staff are really easy going and made staying here a great experience. They have breakfast and an awesome patio area great for making new friends and hanging out by the pool. In such a hot place it was really nice to jump in the pool to cool off before you go out on your next adventure. As far as common areas go this is one of the best I´ve seen at a hostel. They work hard to keep it clean and soon they will have a bar set up in the patio. Grat Job Guys

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great hostel! I really enjoyed staying here. Its close to the town, beach and eveything you need. It has a big pool, bar, sun deck, hammocks, wide screen TV, kitchen and Wifi. The staff are friendly and can tell you where to go in town! Really glad i stayed here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Coming from the rest of Central America I would say Surfing Donkey is pretty much perfect for any type of traveller. The rooms are clean, very spacious, and well equipped with ceiling fans and the price value is just right. As a solo traveller the big courtyard with tables, chairs, hammocks and the brand new pool invite new friends to be made. The almost complete roof-top deck is going to be going to be an excellent sunset and hang out spot in San Juan del Sur.
Great location and lovely staff - check it out :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyinnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#27 of 72 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
47.1 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#16 of 72 in San Juan del Sur
152 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa De Olas
Casa De Olas
#9 of 72 in San Juan del Sur
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
#25 of 72 in San Juan del Sur
305 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Javier's House sjs
Hostal Javier's House sjs
#24 of 72 in San Juan del Sur
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
#38 of 72 in San Juan del Sur
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Surfing Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Surfing Donkey

Address: One block south of Central Park and church, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 72 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $20 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfing Donkey is the best new social hostel in San Juan del Sur, only two blocks away from the city center with a large pool, cheap bar, full kitchen, yoga, and events like group BBQs and pool parties. We balance our social activities with a strict quiet policy before 9am and after 10pm, so guests can have fun and sleep well on the new premium mattresses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Surfing Donkey Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing