We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel”
Review of Casa Romano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Romano
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Caso romano is very well located, the rooms are very clean and spacious. There were 4 of us, a couple and 2 friends. They dont offer breakfast but thats ok for the price. Our room had fans, no ac rooms were available.

The owners are very nice people, our experience as a group was good and its nice they have signs saying "no noises after 10.30pm" so its more like family and friends on budgets, not party groups. Internet was fast and reliable.

Way better choice than our first choice, yajure hostal in la talanguera.
I would definetly come back!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Valen872014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 82 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife, and two friends of ours and I stayed here in late February. The room was very clean, each bed(4) had a fan.our room also had a private bathroom, and a light. the location is very central just a block from center city.it is very quite abd they have a quite time in the terrace.

They don't offer breakfast, but do offer the kitchen for you to cook in. They do offer WiFi and is very good.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Alejo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was the best room we could get in San Juan. Near the beach, clean, spacious and with a private terrace with hammock and seats. Unfortunately i was sick for a day, but it was the best place to be in bed. Very good matresses~!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Chanced upon this place when searching for somewhere to stay in San Juan del sur, it's a nice place but the best bit about it is the fact it's so clean!

The rooms are a reasonable size, white paint in the walls and the private bathrooms are a good size with nice shower, although only cold water. We paid $30 per night, but had the option of a slightly smaller room with 1 fan as opposed to 2, for $25 per night.

The family that run the place were really nice to us, one of the two daughters speaks English really well, there's a kitchen you can use, and 2 desktop computers for guests. It's not the most social place we've stayed at but a good location just up from the beach and near the parque Central end of town, so close to all the restaurants, market etc

Overall a nice stay, we would come again for the clean rooms and good location.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ASHM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Best place we stayed in Nicaragua. Immaculately clean, friendly staff, beautiful house, very quite location. Excellent value for money. Nice location very close to the beach. Good facilities for travellers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We were very lucky to find this nice place in the busiest week of the year.
This hotel is owned by a friendly family and they are all very helpful. The hotel is located 50 meters off the beach in the heart of SJDS, but offers quiet rooms. After 11pm guests have to remain quite and party people are banned.
Please realise that SJDS is over populated during the Christmas holidays and especially on NYE, so electricity and water pressure are not stable in the entire village. We didn't have any water for 24 hours. Of course this hassle was beyond the responsibility of the hotel owner, but we were a bit disappointed that they didn't give us any discount (despite they tripled the price for the days around NYE).

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Carolien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This family run hotel is simple, and reasonably well attended to. The daughters are wonderful - very helpful and genteel. Rooms are simple, with good paint and questionable plumbing. They ask that you put your used toilet paper in the trash can, and don't clean the rooms during your stay, and it's hot so... Rooms are in an enclosed courtyard, so sound bounces like crazy, especially late at night and early in the morning when everything else is quiet, so if you're a light sleeper and you like to sleep before 11 or after 7:30 you may be a bit frustrated. Room ventilation relies on one main window on the courtyard side, so not a lot of natural air circulation unless it's windy, making it difficult to cool off if your room has only a fan. The daughters were very welcoming and helpful, as mentioned, though I couldn't get eye contact let alone a smile out of other family members. The family lives here and the vibe from some is that guests are a necessary intrusion to be tolerated rather than welcome guests. But, the room was $20 so at that price I'd probably come back, unless I could find something more pleasant for the same price. It's very near the sea and we could hear the waves crashing at night, which was wonderful. It's slightly off the beaten path so there's very little external noise. It's also very safe, for you as well as your things.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms upstairs have A/C and are more separate, so probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vamosalaplaya333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.4 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#6 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
165 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Costa Dulce
Costa Dulce
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
HC Blau Mar Hostel & Hotel
HC Blau Mar Hostel & Hotel
#16 of 55 in San Juan del Sur
74 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hostal Villa Mar
Hostal Villa Mar
#1 of 1 in Playa Marsella
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Romano

Address: Del Banco Bdf 1/2 Cuadra Al Este, Avenida Del Parque, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $37 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Romano offers you in a safe environment: Private bathroom in each room. Towels included. Confi, individuals bed and doubles. Fans available in every room. Rest area with hamacs. Internet access, wi-fi. Use of community kitchen and freezer. Smokers can indulge themselves in the backyard ;-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Romano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Romano Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing