We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming staff and clean room.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Romano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Romano
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff and clean room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with two friends in a triple room. We paid 45 dollars. The rooms was clean, with fresh sheets and towels. It had a private bathroom and plenty of space.

We really liked the vibe of the place, with its little garden and rocking chairs and the sweet lady at the front desk.

Location is right around the corner from the two main streets - quiet but convenient.

I'd highly recommend Casa Romano over the louder more mainstream hostels and budget hotels nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    19
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
39
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Pros:

The hotel is located just off the center of town. Very good location as it is close to everything but farther away from the noisy hotspots.

The layout is good, nice siting area, computers for guest use, kitchen for guest use. and a back yard with comfortable hammocks.

Rooms are of reasonable size, and everything is very clean.

The hotel is very quiet. and if you are looking for early nights and complete peace and quiet this is the perfect place for you.

The staff of sons and daughters are extremely pleasant.

Cons:
The hotel is run by a family. The vibe was very ridged and almost militaristic.
I felt as if I was intruding rather than as a guest. I felt more like I was staying in a Catholic boarding school. Some very pleasant guests had been warned that talking after 9:30 was not allowed. I brought a friend over to use the restroom at 9:30 and was told that visiting hours ended at 9pm.
There was some communication about visitors which was made possible by my poor spanish and the owners seeming indignant regarding speaking English. Sadly we engaged in a very verbal argument much to my discomfort and embarrassment. Luckily the sons and daughters helped smooth out the issue so as to reduce the amount of offence given and taken. I did not face these problems anywhere else during my stay in SJDS. And in their defense some of the hostels are far too "loose" regarding policies that can protect guests from security issues or annoyance of disrespectful guests- I just think they took it way too far.
Last but not least- no coffee in the morning I count as a human right abuse.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2GETLOST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la playa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

A very pleasant quiet hotel in the center of town only a block from the beach. Very clean and tranquil atmosphere with traditional latin american style feel. The family owners are around all day and helpful when you need something. Nice rooms, hight ceilings, fans, confortable beds, clean bathrooms, all you need for the right price. Great experience, highly reccomended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,272 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

After being left in the city by Chely of Yajure Surf Hostel I came across Casa Romano. I was pleasantly surprised and thankful. The rooms were basic and clean, all that I was looking for. Their daughter spoke English, which I needed at that point. While there was no hot water, it wasn't freezing and this wasn't the issue I thought it would be. They were super helpful in connecting me with the flying frog and arranging a ride in the morning out to the zip lines. This place is also located a few blocks off the beach and made walking all of SJDS very easy. This isn't the loud and crazy youth hostel, but rather a very affordable basic, clean hostel/hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TryppAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Not a B & B, this is more of a hotel/hostel.

Room was super clean, exc mattress. Nice bathroom and shelves to store backpacks. Ceiling fan and great floor fan as well. Use of frig and kitchen was fine. Hotel is very clean and the cleaning woman was always around sweeping and mopping - a big plus compared to many inexpensive hotels where attention to cleanliness is often neglected.

True that customer service was lacking and for the most part the owners and their family were pleasant enough, but it was obvious they did not want to interact much with guests.

Price for private dbl of $25 was right on the money and location was great - close to dwtn and a block from the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mochilero22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Its a very nice and clean hotel. Very nice location close to the beach with a friendly owner. The garden is beautiful and relaxing! We payed 20 dollar per night for a double bedroom!!One of the best hotels we stayed in Nicaragua! You should definitely stay here while visiting San Juan del Sur!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

good:
- price (low season: 20 to 40 dollars, depending on the room size)
- clean
- kitchen, internet, PCs available to guests
- good position (town center, one block from the beach)

bad:
- very basic room, not much light and air circulation
- common area shared with the family that runs the place (they're always around, watching tv or cooking)
- at ten o clock street door is closed and any activity is shut down 'til morning (which may be also good for the silence)
- only one person from the family seems to speak english

Details above related to low season (august). Overall, not a bad experience for one night. But from San Juan del Sur town usually you move to a hotel or hostel north or south, on a real beach, so you do not need a place in town for long, unless you want to be shaked on a wood bench on the back of a truck for 45 minutes every trip, every day. In other words, just spend one night in town, pay more, and then move to another location 10 to 20 km far away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.4 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
5.3 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.4 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Romano

Property: Casa Romano
Address: Del Banco Bdf 1/2 Cuadra Al Este, Avenida Del Parque, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Romano offers you in a safe environment: Private bathroom in each room. Towels included. Confi, individuals bed and doubles. Fans available in every room. Rest area with hamacs. Internet access, wi-fi. Use of community kitchen and freezer. Smokers can indulge themselves in the backyard ;-) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Romano Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing