We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family, clean place to stay”
Review of Casa Romano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Romano
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Nice family, clean place to stay”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The owner (mom I think) was a bit cold but the rest of the family was very nice. I nice alternative to the hostels, which are a bit dirtier. Didn't use the kitchen so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    20
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
41
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I totally echo the previous reviewer. We stumbled upon this place by chance after the hostel we had planned to stay at was full. $20 for a lovely, clean room with bathroom. When we were being shown around by the "mum" of the house, she told us we had use of the kitchen, which was great for us as we prefer to cook our own meals. However, shortly after we started using the kitchen, it became clear that this was a problem. The utensils/plates etc are shared with the family - they cook their food in the same kitchen. I felt slightly uncomfortable with this at first as some of the plates/utensils were really nice. However there was no sign/cupboard specifically stating what guests were allowed to use, so we just used the stuff in the kitchen, as previously we were told.
The lady of the casa was rude and cold with us. She would huff and puff each time we cooked - she would instruct us to wash up straight away and put the dishes back, nitpicking about a smear left on one of the plates, for example. She clearly did not appreciate us cooking in her kitchen. This would be fine apart from the fact she clearly advertises the rooms come with full use of the kitchen.
I had told her we would be staying for a week, however after three nights she asked when we would be leaving as she had a reservation - exactly the same as the previous reviewer! We checked out the next morning and I begrudged giving them $80 of our money. Really bad customer service - don't open your house to guests and then be a poor host.

Room Tip: If you stay here, dont use the kitchen!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckiboo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were very happy to find this quiet, clean and cheap place. Our room was nice and confortable and the bathroom was okay. The access to the kitchen was very useful as well as the wifi. However the family was not friendly at all. The mother was always dark and cold. Furthermore we had the impression they were not very satisfied that we used the kitchen.
We wanted to stay two weeks but we paid only for one. 2 days before the end of the first week the mother told us that we had to leave because she had a resevation. We were very surprised as we thought they understood we wanted to stay one more week. She did not apologize. With that all the good thoughts we had about this place collapsed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatSoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at another hostel in SJDS, and we much prefer this one. It's right near the main part of town - the markets, shops, and the beach. The service was great, the fellow working when we checked in was polite and helpful. The room was perfectly clean, with a nice shower, nice bed, and wifi. The hostel had a good kitchen, and a nice backyard area. After staying in other places and looking into other hostels in the area, this will rank as our top choice in SJDS. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Although no-frills bare, Casa Romano is clean, colorful, and comfortable, with very attentive and considerate owner/managers. The younger Claudia speaks English well and the wifi is good.
My room was freshly painted, with new tile on the floor and in the bathroom, and a comfortable double bed.
A half-block from the beach, it is not air conditioned but there is a fan in the room. No food is served but a clean and well-equipped kitchen is available for use. And it is quiet. If you prefer to avoid the continuous loud party type of hostel and get to bed early, bring your own shampoo and relax at Casa Romano.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I have to agree with the other reviewer ... love this place, location i great... staff are friendly. I am sitting out in the common area as I write this was happy to find this hostel after paying a deposit on another that turned out to be a dump.. found this for $5.00 a night cheaper than the dump.. so I am very happy :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We discovered this motel quite by accident. We had decided to go against the norm , to take a chance and find a motel once we arrived in San Juan Del Sur.
This motel is amazing! The owners are long time residents of the property and have been offered on numerous occasions to sell yet have not even considered it. Once you stay there you will witness first hand their pride of ownership.
The rooms are very clean and all have private baths. I am very picky when it comes to cleanliness and I am hear to tell you it is clean.
The motel is located 1/2 block from the beach/ bay in town. Its location is ideal for everything you can think of from tours, nightlife, or a stroll along the bay front.
Although, the motel is close to the beach it is very quiet. There is a beautiful private patio area with hammocks a jacuzzi, and a multitude of exotic plants. It is very peaceful. The motel offers Internet service , a common television and Dvds for your use as well as an extensive library and a kitchen.
The price per person was $10.00 unbelievable!!!!$ 20.00 per couple.
They have larger rooms ( new ) that can hold up to 6 people, all rooms even those with multiple beds (perfect for large family & group of friends) have their own private bath.

I was told by the owner that the rates do double during high season. In my opinion at either rate it is a bargin. I think you will agree after you have compared other properties within the same geographical area offereing the same amenities or even less that are charging a lot more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkdSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
171 reviews
5.3 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.4 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
738 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 67 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Romano

Property: Casa Romano
Address: Del Banco Bdf 1/2 Cuadra Al Este, Avenida Del Parque, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Romano offers you in a safe environment: Private bathroom in each room. Towels included. Confi, individuals bed and doubles. Fans available in every room. Rest area with hamacs. Internet access, wi-fi. Use of community kitchen and freezer. Smokers can indulge themselves in the backyard ;-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Romano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Romano Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing