We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, very Nicaraguan”

Bar Restaurant Josseline
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Latin, Seafood, Spanish, Pub, Fusion, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great service, very Nicaraguan”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We've been here on many occasions and are never disappointed. It is right on the beach, so it's cool and of course, has a great view. It's never really busy; a lot of gringos prefer to go to the more gringo-oriented places down the street. If you want to experience the more authentic Nicaragua, this is where you want to be. The menu is sort of translated into English, but a number of the waiters here (maybe all of them) will make a sincere effort to speak English, if that's your preference. The service is great--we once brought a large group here and the waiter gave us all the drinks we had on the house! The food tends toward seafood and you always get a wide variety of vegetables with it. If you don't want the rice/potatoes combination, which is common all over Nicaragua, then you can specify that (just say vegetales and you'll get rice and vegetables, for example). This isn't haute cuisine, but the prices are great and the food is perfectly fine, just basic. This is a really fun place and we'd definitely recommend it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oolichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beachfront dinner”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went here when the town had a power outage, and they had a generator; so they were open. Very good service and a nice dinner right in front of the beach. The rice with seafood was excellent, and the beers were icey cold. Looks like their wifi was up and running, as others were online with computers. I would reccomend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bouldercolorado45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The food was barely average and th servicev was poor

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dustindr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“The food was ok. We found it to be to much money for what you get though!”
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice restaurant right on the beach. Atmosphere is pretty good. Would probably do dinner here but never lunch again. Was way to much money for a mid day feeding.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chadphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Free drinks, fantastic place!”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We've been to San Juan del Sur many times and we always come back to this restaurant. It's open from morning to night and is never very crowded, but I think this is mainly because it's more frequented by Nicaraguans than by gringos. It always has fresh seafood and the prices are great. In addition, it's right on the beach. On our last night there, we arrived with a very large group and they had no trouble with seating arrangements or with getting the meals to us on time. In fact, the waiter gave us the drinks for free because we'd be there so often! We definitely recommend it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank oolichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Restaurant Josseline also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Bar Restaurant Josseline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing