We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the beach”
Review of Yajure Surf Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yajure Surf Hostel
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Best hostel I've ever been to. Great staff, a mellow atmosphere and the friendliest owner who made it impossible to leave! There's a great quality kitchen for everyone to make their own meals, as a group or individuals and I was even impressed by a authentic Argentina meal provided by one of the amazing chefs/employees at the hostel. I awoke to the sound of waves crashing on the shore. Absolute paradise! Definitely coming back here. Chely, you're awesome!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Yajure Surf Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 179 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Backpackers going through Nicaragua I would highly recommend Yajure hostel in San Juan del Suer. I didn't know a single thing about the the town nor about the hostel and actually the location is amazing and (Chely) the owner is a really good guy 'Super Pana' as we used to call him. If you are crossing from Costa Rica and you plan to go to San Juan del Sur, you tell the driver or ask in the street to guide you to the bridge (the only one in town).

Enjoy your stay!!!
Nicaragua es tuani

Room Tip: You can Sleep wherever you want even at the living room while you have an amazing view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnaldo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I went to San Juan del Sur with friends and stayed at Yajure for one night. It was a really nice experience: the location is beeeautiful, the rooms were clean and the hosts were super friendly. My friends and I had a great time, and Chely was very helpful in arranging a trip to a nearby beach for us. I definitely recommend this hostel if you're looking for an affordable place that does a good job offering you the basics for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vmilost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Me and my friends stayed here and we had pretty bad experience.
Hostel itself is nice, has a swimming pool and it's pretty spacious. Dorms are ok too.
Hostel is located at the end of the street and it's about 10 minutes walk to town. Problem here
is that section of the street is dark and people frequently get robbed here. It usually happens later at night. Some people from hostel got robbed when we were staying here.
Our biggest issue here was the owner who seems to be very moody. One minute he seems to be nice, next one he's yelling at everyone for no reason. We felt very anxious in his presence. He's constantly trying to pick up girls from hostel (he tried with my friend too). He was also very drunk one night and made inappropriate remarks about some of his guests. We moved to Casa Oro after few days and had great time there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank missyme123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Upon booking with this hostel, the owner agreed to pick me up because he was going that way. Then on the day of I called him to confirm and he decided to switch the plans on me and asked for me to wait in the middle of streets of a town I never heard of. Its very unprofessional to change last minute not to put in danger......... who leaves a girl in the middle of street with no exact time of pick up. When I emailed to state the problem, in return he did not apologize but rudely blamed it on me. Dont stay here, bad owner!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
4  Thank smilewiththeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Chely was super friendly from the word go. He introduces himself personally to every visitor and always checks that you're doing ok. The entire hostel including bathrooms is cleaned reguarly throughout the day. The kitchen is massive. Feel completely safe here and its nice to be a 5 minute walk from centre of town. Everybody is super friendly and a great homely vibe. And they are more than happy to take you to the surf beaches everyday. I recommend everyone to stay at Yajure Hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SP1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I flew into the airport in Liberia, costa Rica and made my way up to San Juan del Sur looking forward to a hot shower and a nice bed. It was dark when i arrived and the herbal smoke that rolled across the patio was thick. I had made a reservation and sent a deposit, just needed to check in. The first girl couldn't find my reservation so she went and got Chely. He told me, I didn't have a reservation, it wasn't in his "system" his system is very thorough and has never failed him. He keeps post it notes, a binder, and a spiral note book... so I took out my phone and showed him the email confirming my reservation and deposit - to which he replied, he was sorry, he would be able to give me a room the following night... but had nothing that night. Obviously, this was the last thing I wanted to hear, but I have learned not to expect perfection while traveling. Chely drove me back into town to hopefully find another place to stay. As this was one of the few places I found in San Juan del Sur with Hot water, I was disappointed.

Room Tip: Double confirm your reservation
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank TryppAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Dolce Vita
Hotel La Dolce Vita
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
#20 of 69 in San Juan del Sur
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elementos del Sur
Elementos del Sur
#36 of 69 in San Juan del Sur
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hola Ola Hostel
Hola Ola Hostel
#7 of 69 in San Juan del Sur
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#27 of 69 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saltwater Hostel
Saltwater Hostel
#39 of 69 in San Juan del Sur
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yajure Surf Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yajure Surf Hostel

Address: Barrio la Talangera, San Juan del Sur 87206, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 69 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $10 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yajure Surf Hostel is located on the beachfront in San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua. Our hostel can arrange surf trips, boat adventures and much more. We have a great pool, kitchen for guests, fun family dinners, hammocks, TV room, wifi, A/C and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Yajure Surf Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yajure Surf Hostel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing