We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun party hostel in San Juan”
Review of Yajure Surf Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yajure Surf Hostel
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas with my girlfriend. We had a private room which was nice. It's a good size hostel with a great party atmosphere. Chely the owner is a great guy that wants to make sure everyone has a good time. We had surfing lessons from him, which was great. The location is decent with just a short walk across a man bridge to downtown. The only sketchy part is the other side of the bridge isn't very well lit. But as long as you don't travel alone at night, you'll be fine. There's fridges and a big kitchen to do you own cooking, if that's your thing. They also make it convenient by supplying beers/drinks and water refills, as well as shuttles to the beach and keeping a running tally. Just be mindful of how much you're using because the $10 shuttles and $1 beers/water refills add up quickly by checkout time. Overall, it's a pretty good spot to stay in San Juan del Sur.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JohnJessicaNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 179 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Amazing place, right on the water, pool in the yard, hammocks and comfy couches, wifi, free breaky, fair prices. 5 minutes away from town so close but not crazy, chill and friendly vibe, clean, definitively the place for San Juan.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed for 5 days at Yajure hostel.
It is a really nice place, it is keept clean all the time and it has a nice pool. The owner Chely is a really nice and laid back guy. He will help you with anything and make sure you have a great time.
From Yajure you easily take a transport to the surf beaches and Chely has a lot of boards you can rent. And if lucky he might give you some lessons.
Also the hostel is rather close to the city center but not to close so you will not be bothered by the noice.

I can most def recommend this place,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sajjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love this place! The staff is super nice, place always clean, any questions, no problem they will help you, I was there with my husband in 2011 and my son, we know the owner personally his a fun person to be around with. We had a great time at Yajure Hostel! My husband and I had a blast !Thank you :0) Peter Miller and Kathy Miller

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathymiller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Fantastic location and very nice building. Good hang out space with communal kitchen. The staff and the owner are very helpful and friendly. The beds are clean and very comftrable. A super kind place. Also one of the best deals in town.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickelPotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My friends and i arrived in san Juan and made our way to yajure right away. It is in the most perfect lo catión and is the only hostel on the beach. The set up there is súper chill and allows for everyone to hang our downstairs but have your quiet time in the upstairs. Is it a party hostel? They all are in san Juan but the nice thing is that if your don want to party u don need to. Also the rooms are ver y quiet so your dont need to worry about noise. Everyone playas their own música on the speakers. Also the have a tab system so if your want here our water your justo right down what you are taking and you don need money till the en of your stay. Rooms are cheap and the cleaning lady works so hard. Chely, if you are reading this, please tell her that taylor the canadian loquito says "muchas gracias". Who is chely? Chely is the owner of yajure but also my friend and my brother. The guy is so sincere and helpful that it is a no brainer to stay there. Even if the hotel was dirty and in the middle of the forest i would have stayed there because of chely. Chely is a sick surfer from Venezuela who is always more than happy to head our to maderas for an awesome da y of surfing. I never write reviews on trip advisor but this place needs to be known. We went to all the other hostels in the nights for their fiestas and everyone was so happy that the where staying at yajure. Yajure is welcoming to people from other hostels but it doesnt throw bits own parties. Chely also doesnt mind if your bring back a big bottle of flor de cana but trust me, this guy deserves a free drink. He is always working and looking our for people. One night when an irish boy went home to another hostel with a giro he called the police in the morning to make sufre he wasnt in jail. Sorry about the typos but my tablet is programmed in spanish. Chely, i already know that your run the best hostel in Nicaragua but i hope many others disco ver this as well. I hope to see you soon my friend. Taylor de Canadá. :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taylorlivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

As the title states, definitely the best option in San Juan del Sur. We stayed a week in another hostel when we've heard about this one, as soon as we checked the hostel out we knew we had to move our stuff. Chely is a great guy and a good surfer - don't hesitate to ask for some infos, where to go surfing. rooms are clean, quite big. pool is amazing and kitchen is bigger then you would need. Perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baguslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#29 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
#24 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
307 reviews
8.4 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#12 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
335 reviews
2.3 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#26 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#8 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yajure Surf Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yajure Surf Hostel

Address: Barrio la Talangera, San Juan del Sur 87206, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 73 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $10 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yajure Surf Hostel is located on the beachfront in San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua. Our hostel can arrange surf trips, boat adventures and much more. We have a great pool, kitchen for guests, fun family dinners, hammocks, TV room, wifi, A/C and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yajure Surf Hostel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing