We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yajure Surf Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$105
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Chateau Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barrio Cafe Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Casa Bahia Hotel(Playa Marsella)
$63
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort(San Juan del Sur)
$42
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$365
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcazar(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Rosa Nicaragua(Playa Marsella)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costa Dulce(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
$290
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
110
25
7
12
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
25
7
12
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsping pong tableswimming poolprivate roombig kitchensan juancentral americacool placein townair conwith some friendsnice poolgreat place to staygreat thingsgood vibesrecommend staying herecommon areaschely
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 180 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The manager is a respectful businessman, the staff were all extremely nice, and the accommodations for the price was unseen any where else. The vibe this hostel gives off was amazing, extremely safe, a little bit out of town but perfect for giving you that relaxation aspect with what you want on a vacation/traveling.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Yajure wasn't in our guidebook since its relatively new and we just stumbled onto it when exploring SJDS. It was fantastic! We immediately switched hostels and stayed here for two nights. The host, Chely, was very accommodating and there is a nice big kitchen everyone shares. Chely gives cooking tips and likes to tell stories about his journey openin the hostel. Every night we were there, there were large communal meals cooked that everyone could chip in on if they wanted. This place is top notch and definitely worth the ten bucks for a dorm bed! Its true what people say about the lockers - they should have bigger lockers. There is also AC at night, it comes on at 10. Both nights we were they it turned off around 3am but Chely said it was a mistake with the timer and he'd look into it. He said its supposed to stay on until 7am.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I had a really good time in this place. It's nicely located a bit out of town, but still close. Has a lovely swimmingpool and otherwise there's nothing to complain about the facilities!
Free wifi, nice big kitchen with two big frigdes.

Commonspaces are cleaned once or twice a day, so nothing to complain about there, but the dorms are not. So it can be a bit dirty from time to time. The cleaningstaff is lovely though, and will clean if you tell them to.
One of the dorms have a shared bathroom with a privatroom, and this doesent alwasy work.

I would definently have ranked this top notch if it wasn't for a couple of incidents and the mangager:
I was there during Semana Santa and it was a bit crazy, but the manager could at least told people that he was going to raize the prices for the weekend.
My iphone was stolen in the dorm (there are lockers, but they are tiny tiny, and of course this was most likely by a guy that the manager had check in, without checking his ID. The manager is also a hothead, I when I tried to explain that my phone got stolen, he yelled at me.

As a very basic-speaker in spanish I asked him (the manager) to go with me to the policestation to report this, and he said of course. But when it we were supposed to go, he couldn't because of personal problems. He'd promised to take someone else to the policestation too, but kept postponing it every day.

Aircondition is tured on at 2200 and off to early in the morning. Tried to say something about this, but wasn't heard.

The other staff that worked there was amazing though, and really held up the place and tried to smooth over things that the manager did. Kudos to you guys!

All in all a good place to meet travelers, and also party, but just make sure you don't get into any discussion or incidents with the manager!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Reisebug T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stayed at Yajure, the place is a mansion with everything to offer. This is the Best hostel we have stayed in Central America so far and we struggled to leave. There's a bar, swimming pool, sound system, kitchen, tv, a couple of laptops, and sometimes free punch ;) If we didn't have a boat booked we would have stayed here alot longer. Chely is a legend and a brilliant host, he had me surfing within an hour of my first lesson, great teacher. Would recommend this hostel to any one I meet :)
Fraser and Shona (Scotland)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frazman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

When we got there they had had problems with the computer they had lost all the memory the owner gave us his room!they where sooooo generous.Everybody everybody was very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LukeStClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews