We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need to know !”
Review of La Estacion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Estacion
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located on the main strip! Room is big with a balcony over looking the street and view of the beach.

The breakfast is included and is across the street in the resturant. Great views of the ocean while enjoying breakfast! For the price and location this is unbeatable!

I really enjoyed this hotel and it's location walking to everything! San Juan del sur and it's surrounding beaches Madera, mujual and mesilla are awesome! Also The mirador with San Juan had amazing views of the whole town and coast! Beautiful special place here in nicuaraga! Safe travels !!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trading2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 51 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at SJDS with no reservations. I went thru about 6 hotels (saw rooms and all) before settling on this one. We were able to bargain down the cost by paying cash and staying 5 nights. All in all I am glad I stayed here. For the value it is one of the nicer places. Here are some pros and cons:
Pro:
-location location location. We had wrap around balcony and loved the view. there was a parade 3 nights that we enjoyed from the balcony.
- great staff. Sweet & accommodating. One even let me borrow his phone to make a collect call to the States.
-a/c
-fun bright decore. Spacious closets and bathroom. Loved the lightweight bed spreads
- dead center of town. Loved the lively-ness of it all. Was great to sit on balcony and watch Nica life.

CONS:
- the a/c rained down the wall and sprayed the bed all day/night. I'm sure it was working hard but maybe it needs to be serviced more.
-in 5 days they only cleaned the room once and at our request. I don't need fresh towels every day but the garbage and a sweep ( beach sand) would be nice.
- while the richly painted walls seemed clean the white doors were filthy.
- not quiet. There was outside music, parades, loud birds, an occasional chainsaw. I did not mind but if you want quiet do not stay here. It is the dead center of town.

Would stay here again for the price and view. I'd say it's equivalent to 3.5 star in the States

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimberlina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We spent 3 nights in late Feb. at La Estacion and it was as described by trip advisor. Basic, but clean and safe in a great location. Great views of ocean bay from third floor. Good staff and breakfast included across the street at the Bueno Gusto. Breakfast was on the basic side, as reviewed by other traverlers, but I had lunch and drinks there later in the day and was very good with a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crescentisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Noting special about this but good location and clean. Rooms and lobby are kind of 1970 Howard Johnson, but friendly staff and nice room Good value too,

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is across the street from the beach in San Jan del Sur and so a great location. We checked it out in advance and introduced our well behaved dog to the manager to see if we could bring her. After a few basic questions about barking and personal habits, it was a go. Upon arrival, we were greeted with open arms.

It was reasonably priced, with a friendly staff and had clean - good sized rooms with a small refrigerator. It was light and airy with airconditioning and comfortable beds. Some rooms have small balconys overlooking the beach or the side street. There is security at the door 24/7. It does not have a pool, but is in the process of building one. With the beach and local bars and restaurants so close, those amenities were not missed. We live in Granada and go to San Juan del Sur with some regularity. This will be our new headquarters for sure.

Room Tip: There are 3 stories to this hotel. Rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floor, about 20 total. Rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsAdventure58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My boyfriend & I went to San Juan del Sur for the first time and didn't book a hotel. We walked to this hotel, and got a great room for a great price. Breakfast was included (from the restaurant in front), water was hot, AC really cold, and we could see the beach from our balcony & woke up to the sounds of the waves from the beach. Beach is literally a 2 minute walk from this hotel! You just cross the street and you're there! Only we had a problem with was the shower head. It was REALLY strong & hurt in some places lol, other than that it was great!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here. It was nondescript. I can really only say about it is that it was clean and safe, but really had no personality. So many hotels or places to stay are beautiful with inviting garden courrtyards, and or great lobby area to hand out. The lobby at this place is really the living room of the family who own it and live on the ground floor. Not a welcoming place to hang out or be. The breakfast (which is included) is nothing special nor is it generous. We were told things like, "no this is not included" when asked about smoothles or hot chocolate There are great places in town for breakfast, so we skipped the breakfasts after our first day here and ate yummy breakfasts that were cheery and yummy within a block or two.
basically this is really just a place to sleep, there is no personality or beauty at this hotel that would seduce you otherwise.

Room Tip: I would look at other places with more personality and better value for what you get. It is clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
Hotel Encanto del Sur
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#13 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Chateau Hotel
Royal Chateau Hotel
#19 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Estacion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Estacion

Address: Calle Costera | Ave. Central, Zona Costera, San Juan del Sur, San Juan del Sur 2568-2304, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $83 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Estacion 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Estacion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Estacion Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing