We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST place in SJDS”
Review of Naked Tiger Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naked Tiger Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“BEST place in SJDS”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I loved Naked Tiger!!! My boyfriend and I planned to stay there one night and ended up staying for a whole week! The staff is amazing! They are helpful, considerate and fun! The atmosphere is chill during the day and sometimes crazy and super fun at night! Sunday Funday is a must! Overall, Naked Tiger is a great place to stay to meet other cool travellers and have a good time. The accommodations are clean and simple with storage under the bunks to lock your stuff, if you want. There are plenty of bathrooms for all the guests, including showers. I would highly recommend this hostel for any traveller. We chilled out by the pool during the day and at night we either went into town, via free shuttles every two hours, or we stayed at the hostel and had a great time! Such a great vibe, I want to go back!

Room Tip: They only have bunks available. There are no private rooms at this hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaylaRegnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    30
    14
    20
    16
See reviews for
2
20
98
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

To be honest I was severely concerned that it would be like project X with drunk passed out people everywhere, vomit, gnomes filled with coke (if you've seen the movie you can catch my drift). We heard about the Tiger from someone in Jaco during our first weekend in Costa Rica (which was 2 months ago), so we have been planning this trip for quite some time. The Tiger and SJDS was very hyped up, so I was pleasantly surprised when it not only met, but exceeded my expectations.

It was incredibly clean with a beautiful patio/pool area with an INCREDIBLE VIEW. The staff was super friendly and helpful (contrary to other reviews about their snobbiness). There were people from all over the world staying there and they were all very friendly. They had spacious lockers to put our stuff.. but even if they didn't have them I would be surprised if someone there would steal my stuff.. they were all so friendly and trustworthy. The food that was available in the restaurant was delicious and pretty inexpensive.

The Sunday Funday pool crawl was THE S***. It was very well organized and it was hands down the best party my friends and I had ever experienced. I did not see a single person puke (which I am still mulling over how that was even possible). Since we were staying at the tiger and it was the 2nd stop of the pool crawl I was worried that it would be TRASHED.. including the dorm rooms/guest areas.. but not at all. The bathrooms weren't spotless by any means but I was not squatting in the bushes like I thought I would have to be doing.

Overall, we had a BLAST. We were able to relax when we wanted to.. and we were definitely partying hard when we wanted to. I would highly recommend The Naked Tiger to my fellow travelers.

Party on you crazy tigers!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The best hostel I've ever been to.

Everything works--the shuttles, the tours, the utilities... the staff is highly considerate and helpful, which is unbelievable considering how many people actually come through.

The lounging area and the sliding glass doors to the dorm overlooks to the West, where the sun sets over the Pacific Ocean every day, and is extraordinary. You'll wake up to the prettiest view you'd ever seen on your travels.

I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get the standard dorms for the view, or get the hammock/couch just to throw your stuff in a locker a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhettJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The naked tiger is a one of a kind hostel- I've never in my entire traveling experience come across another place that can even compare. I heard about it when I was traveling in the northern part of Central America, everyone saying it was the sickest place in San Juan. The hostel sits on top of a huge hill with the most amazing view. If anyone's been to zephyr lodge in lanquin, Guate the view is comparable. It's super spacious with so many common areas both upstairs and downstairs to chill out, a hammock area, and a sweet little dining area to eat looking out at the view. The group I was traveling w ate every meal there just because it was so beautiful. The staff members are always prepared to party- bringing so much energy to the guests to get them pumped up...Sunday fundays are a MUST do! I rocked up to San Juan thinking I'd stay about a week and got so sucked into the ridiculous vortex of Tiger Town that I still didn't want to leave 8 weeks later. I got so close w the staff and the owners- they are by far the coolest and chilliest group of people I've ever met. Honestly- these bad reviews about them are written by stick up their a** people who complain about having sand everywhere after a day at the beach. People who complain about the cleanliness of a hostel make me laugh. I've stayed in actual DUMPS before and this place is the closest you'll get to the ritz Carlton while backpacking. Sorry to anyone If I've offended your Louis Vuitton backpack. San Juan is purely magical, and probably one of my most favorite spots of anywhere on the globe. Naked tiger has for sure stolen my heart and I'm not quite sure ill ever find another hostel quite like it! I can't wait til I find myself back there one day! Til then, keep up the dance parties, epic slip n slides, and beer funnel challenges. Hope to see ya soon ya crazy tigers :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hewittgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

so I stayed here with two friends however left the next day due to the rudest staff. We checked in and were told by the owner to "wait a while, weve had a rough night...and today is a monday so deal". I was appalled at the state of the place itself. I know its a party place but the rooms and common areas were pretty nasty...especially the pool. Dont even wanna know what was floating around in there. The staff acted like a snobby club who only let the cool kids in when they felt like socializing. Oh and you can tell what the guy staff members wanted from the get go. I felt like a peice of meat. Anyways we enjoyed the rest of our time at casa de olas, a chill australian run place next door. Tip to the staff of naked tiger: lay off the coke, sniff sniff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saralolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

When needing to make a visa run from Costa Rica to Nicaragua, many people cross the border into Nicaragua and go to the city of San Juan Del Sur. While this is one of the many hostels in the town, it is a bit far from town. There is a shuttle every 2 hours that go to town. I enjoyed the Naked Tiger hostel because it has a pool and has an amazing view from the mountain top, and at the same time is not bothered with busy town noise. The beds were not bad, the only thing is there were cats all over my bed and I am allergic.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeykoltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The Naked Tiger is my favorite place on earth. I met the most incredible people and had the most fun of my life! It's absolutely beautiful and when you're lounging by the pool and taking in a legendary sunset, you don't feel like a broke backpacker at all. The food is affordable and delicious as well!! Sunday Funday is not to be missed. It will likely be the highlight of your trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarakass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.5 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
5.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.4 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
233 reviews
3.8 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
107 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 67 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naked Tiger Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naked Tiger Hostel

Property: Naked Tiger Hostel
Address: K138 Carretera San Juan Del Sur | Lot 5, Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 67 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naked Tiger Hostel is one of the most popular party hostels in San Juan del Sur. We offer 5-star views at a backpackers price. Our Spanish-style villa is a unique location outside of town to meet fellow travelers, relax in our pool or have a few with our friendly and fun staff! We offer a free shuttle to and from town from 8:00 am - 1:00 am every day. We have a full restaurant and bar on site for all of your needs. Come get amongst it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Naked Tiger Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naked Tiger Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Naked Tiger Hostel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing