We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous view! Not exactly what expected though...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Naked Tiger Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naked Tiger Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view! Not exactly what expected though...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

First of all, this is the most beautiful hostel I have been to! The views are incredible, especially when you wake up in the morning and the first thing you see is the sea and the beautiful trees surrounding the area. The beds are also pretty cheap.

It's a bit out of the way, and you have to take a cab/shuttle to get up and down the hill. You can take the hostel's shuttle for free, which runs every couple of hours, or you can pay them 100 cords (~$5) to take you up or down the hill. If you do catch a taxi, 100 cords is the average price.

We were a bit disappointed because we came in thinking there was going to be a party at the hostel, especially because we stayed on a Saturday night. Instead most people pregamed a bit and hung out at the local bars downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    28
    14
    19
    14
See reviews for
2
19
92
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Upon arrival, they take your passport hostage and everything is on a tab system. Nice view, but San Juan Del Sur really doesn't have much going for it. They have a shuttle system that takes you to the beach every day, but you only stay at the beach for 3 hours max, then its a forced march bck to the hostel. This place is a sausage fest, too many guys, very few girls. Food is good though. Shuttles are kinda sketchy, some people may have to sit on the tailgate with legs in the bed, and no bar to hold inside should an accident occur or abrupt stop. Very noisy, and by the end of the day, very dirty, young adult males acting like teenagers. Now the staff. First the owners, Jeff is a culo, no other way to put it. Ryan is a complete douche. These guys are in a service industry, you would think they would know how to treat people, and it least appear to be friendly, but they don't. Makes no sense for these two guys to go in on a hostel business together if they have those types of anti-friendly attitudes towards people. Also be advised that they are bill nazis, they want money in near mint condition with no tears or your bill is worthless to them. They blamed it on the Nicaraguan locals, but other locals and ex-pats never gave me a problem about that, only them. Creighton the surf instructor, Danny (blonde),Megan, Rocky, people that work the kitchen were all cool. The other staff, the guys are worthless. Also, one of their shuttle drivers, the older guy, worthless too, saw him texting and making phone calls while he had an butt load of people in the shuttle, and not watching the road. he doesn't have your interest in mind when he's behind the wheel. overall, go here if you are completely broke and have no other options, i wouldn't recommend it, and like i said, sjds doesn't have much going for it. beautiful beaches, but the town itself is lame.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

You really can't beat the views at this amazing hostel mansion over-looking the ocean and San Juan del Sur. Friendly staff, nice pool, abundant hammocks, poolside beds, and great food! Traveling on a shoestring and looking for fun? This is the place for you.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzyAgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hostel is amazing. They basically converted this gorgeous mansion into an awesome hostel. They have an awesome pool and day beds and amazing views of the bay of San Juan. There are tons of spots to chill and they have a big flat screen to watch movies or play some video games if you are wanting something more mellow. BUT if you want to party then this is THE spot. The staff are super friendly and really helpful. The restaurant has a great variety and it is all reasonably priced and tasty. The beds are comfortable and they have a clean lady everyday so it is always tidy and clean. Basically you need to come here when you get to San Juan.

Room Tip: There are dorms and they are $10 not $16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaD0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Naked Tiger is about 5 min outside of town on a hill overlooking the SJDS bay (Don't worry, there is a free shuttle every 2 hours between the hostel and town). It's got beautiful views all around and is a great atmosphere. This is a perfect hostel to party, have fun, and meet a lot of great people. The food in the restaurant is awesome, the drinks are cheap, and it's an all around great atmosphere. Beware though...its tough to leave this place once you come!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Maybe if i was 21 again. prepare not to sleep do to stupid drunks doing stupid things all hours of the night. It is like ten minutes out of town but the do have a shuttle that runs every 10 min. This is an ok hostel but only for a night or so. I would reccomend the Yajure Surf Hostel over the naked tiger anyday

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Step into the Tiger and be prepared for the consequences. If you're going to San Juan, and want to rage, this is your best option. The owners, the staff, and the people there are the best mix of people from around the world, and are great hosts. This place will change your life. Make sure you bring your Che shirt!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhunter45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
5.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.5 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#25 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa De Olas
Casa De Olas
#6 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naked Tiger Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naked Tiger Hostel

Property: Naked Tiger Hostel
Address: K138 Carretera San Juan Del Sur | Lot 5, Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naked Tiger Hostel is one of the most popular party hostels in San Juan del Sur. We offer 5-star views at a backpackers price. Our Spanish-style villa is a unique location outside of town to meet fellow travelers, relax in our pool or have a few with our friendly and fun staff! We offer a free shuttle to and from town from 8:00 am - 1:00 am every day. We have a full restaurant and bar on site for all of your needs. Come get amongst it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Naked Tiger Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naked Tiger Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Naked Tiger Hostel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing