We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to Relax!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matilda's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matilda's
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Great place to Relax!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

A bit of a walk in the hot sun but much better value and much more relaxing than tres hermanos. Room was clean, great quiet beach just out front! Nice to relax on the hammocks and listen to the waves. Owners are friendly. Stayed 3 nights and soul felt at peace upon leaving.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
14
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a night. The staff is friendly but don't speak any English, location is great as the beach they are on isnt busy and it's just a short walk to a surf spot. You can buy food there, it's cheap and decent. Rooms weren't very clean, the whole placed is filled with air freshened to cover up the smell of smoke. Basically if you are backpacking and you just want to be on the beach for very little cost, and you don't care about cleanliness, this is a good place. But bring your own soap

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalala7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here for a week and felt like it was our own private beach paradise. It's on one of the nicest beaches I have seen in Nicaragua and within walking distance of many more, and all with less than 10 people a day at the time I was there. White sand, blue water, paradise, howler mokeys climbing through the trees. All within less than a 10 minute walk from the Maderas surf area, which is a rambunctious party scene on a rocky shore. Antonio and Matilda are the best and were very helpful. We stayed in a hut with a private bathroom. Simple, but clean and comfortable. Next door you have a little cafe and around the corner you have another restaurant. You are a little out there, but if you are looking for relaxation and peace and quiet this place can't be beat. We hope to get back there soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenoirF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHISTLER
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

i own part of the camping next door to matildas where 1 reviewr said ,,it was a dusty paddock with no ocean view,,,well that is suprising as at high tide the ocean is less than 10 feet away,( possibly glasses in the near future)The property is not dusty but near white beach sand,,with mature tamarindo,and hardwood shade trees,for hammocks and such,,sure the stove is wood burning,,that is why it is called camping.....great spot dont miss it,,

Room Tip: the longer you stay the cheaper it is,,take the cassa orro shuttle from san juan walk the beach nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AGENERALSPECIALIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We headed out to Matilda's from SJDS with hopes of camping on the beach for a couple nights. We arrived and were immediately disappointed with the level of service. We were appalled at the $10 a night charge to camp across the road in a dusty old paddock with our own tent. Not even in view of the ocean. The Lonely Planet said it had a kitchen so we brought lots of rice and pasta for meals but unfortunately there wasn't a gas burner or a fridge. It was very difficult to set fires to cook with the lack of firewood provided. Beer was sold at the hostel but it was very difficult to get when wanted, you had to track down the ever invisible owners and once you did they were rude and unhelpful. The lack of a real common area in the hostel was also a negative point for us. A lot of people are there to surf and go to bed early but for the others there aren't any hang out areas outside the room areas. The bathrooms ran out of toilet paper late in the evening and was not replenshed until almost noon the next day. They also locked us out of the main grounds after 9 or 10 so we were unable to come back in to use the bathroom through the night. Really didn't understand what we were paying for? Our plans of staying a few nights in this beautiful spot were short lived, we packed up the next morning and caught the next taxi out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

I dont know why there aren't more reviews about this place!
After getting dropped at the shuttle point at cafe Barrio on the main part of Maderas walk and keep walking until you see gorgeous white sand and the little soda "matildas" perched on the edge of the playa.
A totally secluded beach while we were there, matildas allows for beachfront accomadation for $25 a night. The shabby chic rooms are cute and comfortable, hammocks and patio chairs to lounge in outside your door. We rented boogie boards and had a blast on the beach for two glorious days.
The only downside is the only food is from the beachshack, but the seclusion and friendly family makes for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie-363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

This funky little hotel was one of the highlights of our trip to Nicaragua and Costa Rica. Well, that and the beach in front, which is at the north end of Playa Madera and absolutely gorgeous. I was traveling with my son, his wife and their friend, so they stayed in one room, while I had a cute little room to myself (for $15). Right outside the entrance to the hotel is a tiny cabana that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner -- absolutely amazing. Because we were visiting in June, the low season, we felt like we had the place virtually to ourselves.

My only caveat is that this felt like a surfer's hotel -- and we are definitely not surfers. But one of the regulars (also a surfer) said non-surfers do show up there all the time. It's amazing that anyone finds it, but it's definitely worth the drive. I was quite depressed when we first arrived at San Juan del Sur -- very uninspiring beach and the whole vibe was very Daytona Beach to me. Ugh. So it was a total joy to discover this beach about 20 minutes north.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ClaireB212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
#3 of 3 in Playa Maderas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
11.5 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Maderas Ecolodge
Casa Maderas Ecolodge
#1 of 7 in Playa Maderas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Villa Mar
Hostal Villa Mar
#1 of 1 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matilda's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matilda's

Property: Matilda's
Address: Playa Maderas, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 74 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Matilda`s Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Matilda's Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing