We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book It Now!!”
Review of Las Palmas B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Palmas B&B
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Book It Now!!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing time with Steve & Yasmin at Las Palmas!
From the moment we arrived, we knew it would be wonderful. It's one of those special places that you immediately feel at home in. We stayed in the king room - ceiling fans, ac, hot water, balcony. Really, really comfortable space. Breakfast was delicious, and varied every day, with plenty of fresh coffee, fruit and juice. It was fun starting the day with Yasmin & Steve and the other guests at the B&B - everyone would talk about their plans for the day and get great advice. We all hung out together a few times for dinner and at Playa Hermosa - really fun :)
It's an easy walk to town, but we rented a pick up truck for our stay. You definitely want a high clearance 4wd vehicle to get to several of the beaches. And the pool is fantastic! It was always nice to take a dip and soak in the gorgeous view. We were there for New Year's Eve and had dinner at El Colibri with Steve & Yas - we came home and were enjoying a nightcap when an amazing fireworks show started! And another. And another. There were 4 or 5 full on fireworks displays going on! I think we had the best view in all of SJDS. It was really something :)
Las Palmas is everything you hope for in a B&B - beautiful accommodations, perfect location, great dogs (the very sweet Atlas & London) and awesome hosts!! Thanks again, Steve & Yas, for adding so much delight to our trip - we can't wait to come back!
Colleen & Troy

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
59
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Las Palmas for 5 days and 4 nights. Great location in terms of the view. It is a little bit outside of town but unless you're a coach potato the walk into town is nice. It's nice to not be near the main road next to the beach because it can be loud at night.

The views are excellent and Steve and Yasmin are very down to earth and gracious hosts. On top of that, they are a riot to talk to and share drinks with.

The property is nicely manicured with a good sized pool and two sundecks plus the area surrounding the pool. We had the King suite which comes with an extremely comfortable bed and a spectacular view. One minor detail people should be aware of just so it doesn't frustrate you is that the WiFi in the upstairs King suite drops off a lot. I guess the signal just doesn't go through the wall/floor all that well. This is *literally* the only criticism I could possibly come up with.

The nicest part of staying at B&Bs is meeting the wonderful people who own them. This is definitely the case with Steve and Yasmin. We intend to come back to Nicaragua and we will definitely be spending some time at Las Palmas.

Thank you Steve and Yasmin!! You made our trip wonderful!

-Michael & Esi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esoteric604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Beautiful B&B located in the hills above San Juan Del Sur. The house and pool are hard to leave, and they very may have the best view in all of San Juan. Steve and Yasmin are great hosts and have a wealth of knowledge about the area. They will make sure you find the best restaurants, beaches, and activities around San Juan. From the house it is an easy walk into to town (10-15min) and a short drive to beautiful secluded beaches. We stayed 6 nights and had plenty to do exploring town, zip lining, and beach hoping/surfing with Steve and Yasmin.

Las Palmas is clean, comfortable, safe/secure, and a great value. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If the king is open, it is worth the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chlchssn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The pictures don't do this place justice. Upon arrival, we were provided some much needed beers, along with the reassurance that the gigantic barking dogs were really just there for looks, and cuddles. Steve and Yasmin were more than willing to draw us maps to remote beaches, provide recommendations on restaurants that our stomachs could handle, and just generally understand the balance between being friendly and accommodating hosts, and providing us the space to relax as a couple. The breakfast was delicious, and catered to our schedules. The pool was private, clean, and picturesque. We would highly recommend Las Palmas!

Room Tip: Book the King! Views for days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcdonmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really loved Las Palmas!
The pool is beautiful and there's truly a million dollar view from there!
Steve and Yasmin, the owners, are very friendly and helpful! They even gave us rides to town a couple of times!
(Although it's an easy 15 minute walk to town or a cheap cab ride)

It was hard to leave in the morning and such a pleasure to get back there in the evening!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitsllor2
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here 3 nites and were glad we did. The hosts Steve and Yasmin went out of their way to help us, even driving us to Playa Madera and picking us up! They know the town well and where to eat, etc. Its about 12 minutes to the beach from here and then maybe 15-18 minutes to the center of town. Sure you can cab it for $4-5 but we enjoyed the walk both ways. Nice property and a million dollar view. Great pool too!

Room Tip: Our Queen room was fine, with a private bath and just off the balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitsllor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The property is absolutely stunning! The view from the porch overlooking San Juan Del Sur is breathtaking. The pool is amazing. The room was fantastic. And its only a short walk down the hill into town. Steve and Yasmin instantly make you feel at home and welcome you as friends. They arranged anything and everything we asked as far as transportation around the area and their recommendations for dining and activities were spot on. Our first night, my girlfriend wasn't feeling well and Yasmin offered medecine to make her feel better and fixed me some of her own leftovers for dinner. Would have loved to stay longer and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
4.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
2.2 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
423 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Pacifico Hotel
El Pacifico Hotel
#11 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmas B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas B&B

Property: Las Palmas B&B
Address: Bahia San Juan Del Sur, San Juan del Sur 84870775, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Palmas Bed and Breakfast is strategically located to catch the cooling breezes and fantastic coastal views from a hilltop above town and Bahia de San Juan. We are just a few minutes walk from the colorful, vibrant village of San Juan del Sur, and just minutes drive from several world class surfing beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Palmas B&B Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing