We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa De Olas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

If you are looking for a fun, come-as-you-are place to hang out for as long as you need to in a gorgeous setting with friendly people all around, this is the place. I wouldn't recommend it for families or couples trying to get romantic, but outside of that, by all means be a guest. Fred and Carla are wonderful, and everyone who works there was lovely as well. On the right night, the sunsets are the most spectacular you will ever experience. Loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CachorritoDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 425 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Beautiful location, fantastic pool and views, lots of comfortable places to lounge around. The staff make the place - from the owners to the volunteers, everyone is friendly, happy and generally fun to be around. Plenty of shuttles in to town as well. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommymacaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Me and my boyfriend and a group of friends stayed here last week. From the minute we walked in, we loved the place. The owners Carla and Fred are the best hosts and reminded me so much of my parents back home. The place is run exceptionally well and the nightly dinners were all delicious. The infinity pool is so refreshing and the perfect way to spend a relaxing day. We wished we werent on a tight schedule so we could have stayed longer, but we will definitely be back! We miss Carla and Fred and of course, Buzz, already!

Room Tip: We stayed in a private room which was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My friends and I arrived at Casa Del Olas around mid-feb and it undoubtedly one of the best decisions we made. The owners, Carla and Fred are amazing and defiantly know how to enjoy themselves alongside the amazing view and the staff. The nightly family cooked dinners are affordable and some of the best food we had in San Juan Del Sur. The free shuttles throughout the day, down to the local shops was super convenient. I personally also enjoyed the tab system that operated here and found it easy to relax on the nights I didn't feel like partying, as the bar closes at 10pm and Naked Tiger is located next door and is open until late. I would suggest arriving early if you wish to secure a spot before Sunday Funday. I hope one day I'll be back here and I'll defiantly be making sure that any of my Australian friends who come through Nicaragua will be staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Defiantly a young persons place but older people could still enjoy it. I had way too much fun here starting to drink at 8am hahaha. The owners are an aussie couple from Noosa, they treated me a bit like a son. The monkey is not super friendly but is nice enough. You must stay here for Sunday fun day. The only problem I had was bed bugs, I got eaten alive! The people cleared the room and sprayed everything immediately which fixed the problem. If you don't want to drink maybe don't stay here but if you do then defiantly do!

Room Tip: Check if the awesome cat is sleeping under your bed someone found kittens once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexMurray_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I arrived here at the end of December planning on staying for a maximum of two weeks... That turned into a further two weeks and then some. Fred, Carla & the Casa staff couldn't have made us feel more at home and were very accommodating. Luckily for us the opportunity came up to work there and we decided that seeing as we loved it, it would be worth while.

As a guest the staff were brilliant, from the bar tenders to the girls in the kitchen everyone was welcoming and accommodating. For $11 a night you have a bathroom, a comfy, clean bed that has an enclosed mattress protector on it to prevent bedbugs in the bed and a hearty breakfast (either two decent sized banana pancakes with some fruit, 2 scrambled/fried eggs and toast with fruit or eggs and toast with gallo pinto plus free coffee available all morning). In the evenings the cooks prepare a meal which is at a set time so it means everyone can sit down together and socialise. That's how we made most of our friends in the first few weeks! The cooks are also very good and prepare some delicious meals ranging from lasagne to a Monday night roast, and it's a real roast! The hostel offers free shuttles to town every couple of hours which is great as otherwise it's $4 to get there and the beach shuttle is a fraction of the price of a taxi or shuttles from the other hostels at $5 return. The bar is fairly priced and the bar staff make sure you have a good night! An added bonus is the lovely 18m infinity pool which has beautiful views of San Juan del Sur and it's surrounding area is a perfect sunbathing spot! My friends recommended this hostel to me, they spent 2 out of 6 weeks in Central America here, and we recommend it to anyone we meet that's going to SJDS.

As staff, it's equally as great! The only downside is having to deal with awkward customers who sneak in outside drink and order glasses of ice at the bar throughout Sunday Funday, as the gentleman who left the unfair and inaccurate review below did. Realistically if the hostel wasn't great people would end up there for weeks instead of the intended few days!

We have incredible memories from our time in SJDS and cannot recommend Casa de Olas highly enough.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lmust25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here in January and had the most amazing trip and time. This hostel really is a home. I cannot even begin to describe how great of a time I had here. The naked tiger hostel next door is no where as comparable to this hostel. The view is amazing and the people here made it truly a family. You cannot possibly have a bad time here unless your stuck up and high maintenance. Chill out have a beer and get to know the people here.I dont understand why people complain about the tab system. I thought it was genius. I never had to carry cash on me so I could swim all day and get drinks without a hassle. Fred is a genius for making this home for travellers and I applaud him for making this truly a home away from home. I cannot wait to come back, it actually pains me that I didnt stay here longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
Hotel Encanto del Sur
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
5 reviews
5.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.8 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Costa Dulce
Costa Dulce
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#28 of 72 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
46.6 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#16 of 72 in San Juan del Sur
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Olas

Address: Lot 6 Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 72 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $11 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa De Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Olas, is a unique place to stay, blending the best of Bed & Breakfast, hotel and hostel together to create the Casa de Olas experience. We are situated on a hilltop over-looking the town and bay of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Our location provides endless views over the Pacific ocean with spectacular sunsets nightly. Casa De Olas is designed for the more discerning backpacker and budget travelers who are looking to find an oasis of luxury at affordable prices. In total we have 10 rooms and can accommodate a maximum of 75 guests at any one time. We have dorm rooms that can accommodate from 4-6 people with one room housing 14. Casa de Olas is designed for those traveling on a budget or in groups. All rooms are spacious with en-suites. We think staying a little out of town is the best way to experience all that San Juan del Sur and the surrounding area has to offer. Australian couple Fred and Carla are your hosts bringing a wealth of knowledge from their native land with a long resume in the hotel and restaurant industry. Fred and Carla are warm and always ready to give a recommendation. Take a look at our website, TripAdvisor and Facebook pages to find out more and we look forward to having you stay with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Casa De Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Olas Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa De Olas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing