We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view -keep an eye on your tab ”
Review of Casa De Olas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa De Olas
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view -keep an eye on your tab ”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Best view I have seen at any hostel. If your looking for somewhere to waste away your days and get drunk - this is the place for you. We ended up staying here 3 nights over the weekend, with a great 'all-you-can-drink boat cruise' on the Saturday and an all-you-can-drink bar on the Sunday (as 'Sunday Funday' was cancelled) which both involved a lot of alcohol. The staff were friendly and always up for a drink. The breakfasts were great, different daily.

When we checked out and saw our bill we noticed that some items were added on that we didn't buy. 2 dinners ($7 each) were eventually taken off the bill but we had to pay for 4 drinks ($2 each) we didn't buy (as the guy serving that night said he remembered me ordering the drinks - even though there were about 30 people at the bar and he had a few to drink as well). so make sure you check your bill before you pay and keep an eye on what you are ordering as they seem to not take much care in the tab system they have.
The drinking water is charged at $1 a day even if you don't drink any and the beer is cheaper next door at Naked tiger and dorms are over half price cheaper at naked tiger.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ianmcgillivray88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    58
    17
    12
    15
See reviews for
5
85
80
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Best views
Best rooms
Best shuttles
Best drinks
Best food
Best movies
Best guests
Best bar staff
Best owners
Best monkey

In short. My stay at Casa was alright.

In truth it was the best hostel I've ever stayed at. Within days you feel like part of the Casa family. I stayed too long, drank to much and left a just little of my dignity behind. Good times.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_JustOneMoreDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

First of all id have to start with the roast dinner and movie night on a Monday - delicious .
This beautiful hostel in the foot hills of San juan del sur really makes all the people who stay here become like a big family . Free shuttles to the beach and double shot drinks .If your a boy a monkey cuddle from buzz is a great hangover cure in the morning (she doesn't like girls) . Fred and Carla the owners are like the mum and dad fix everyone needs when travelling . I have not locked up one item of value since being here which is not like me . I leave my key in the door of my room and leave for hours . I have travelled
For about 10 months now
And this is this best run hostel . It's also next door to the naked tiger which has an awesome
Atmosphere and lots of fun . If your coming to San juan stay on the hill town sucks !!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just got back from Nicaragua and had an amazing stay at Casa De Olas. Fred and Buzz (the Monkey) are a joy to behold. Sunday night roast and movie night, took me back to Sundays at home. Great stuff! The view is nothing less than spectacular. The bar cheep and the Tona beer surprisingly good. They have a great car service to get you around to the beaches and town.
Highly recommend for a cheap fun getaway!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hostel has a nice pool, good food and cheap beer.
The staff make you feel welcome straight away and explain the rules of the hostel (don't drink with your right hand, don't say "mine" or "ten" etc.
If you want to know why, just try it out when you stay there!
Good, comfortable bar that brings all travellers together and a family dinner each night. We had $3, all you can eat pizza. Not bad!
Rooms are a bit more expensive than others nearby but it is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusBen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

This place is great, Carla and Fred have created a very comfortable, homely hostel. It's got an amazing view, infinity pool, delicious breakfast, great bar and a killer atmosphere. The rooms are nice and not too hot, lots of room for socialising and the Monday night roast can not be missed!! Do not miss this place! Free shuttle into town, and shuttle to the beach is very handy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecros92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable! Without doubt the hostel of our trip. Great setting, great views, great drinks, great staff and particularly great owners. Fred and Carla have created an exceptional hostel in one of the best spots in San Juan. Great shuttle service into the town and to the beaches. Stayed too long, drank too much, but wouldn't change a thing.
Staff were awesome, Tobin and Lucas were top blokes. Fred throws a hell of a party.
Cannot recommend it enough!

Big love, the English docs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncanturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.4 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
288 reviews
3.5 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
5.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#27 of 67 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Olas

Property: Casa De Olas
Address: Lot 6 Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa De Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Olas, is a unique place to stay, blending the best of Bed & Breakfast, hotel and hostel together to create the Casa de Olas experience. We are situated on a hilltop over-looking the town and bay of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Our location provides endless views over the Pacific ocean with spectacular sunsets nightly. Casa De Olas is designed for the more discerning backpacker and budget travelers who are looking to find an oasis of luxury at affordable prices. In total we have 10 rooms and can accommodate a maximum of 75 guests at any one time. We have dorm rooms that can accommodate from 4-6 people with one room housing 14. Casa de Olas is designed for those traveling on a budget or in groups. All rooms are spacious with en-suites. We think staying a little out of town is the best way to experience all that San Juan del Sur and the surrounding area has to offer. Australian couple Fred and Carla are your hosts bringing a wealth of knowledge from their native land with a long resume in the hotel and restaurant industry. Fred and Carla are warm and always ready to give a recommendation. Take a look at our website, TripAdvisor and Facebook pages to find out more and we look forward to having you stay with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Casa De Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Olas Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa De Olas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing