We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever”
Review of Casa De Olas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa De Olas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend recently and it was the best ever. Had a great time and everyone was wonderfully accommodating. The free shuttle was sufficient for transportation and all the recommendations for beaches/food/etc were fantastic. The view is beautiful and the food was delicious. Buzz the monkey provided entertainment. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 425 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for a week, loved every minute of it. Fred and Carla are the BEST, providing you with everything you could need or want while travelling. The view is incredible and the pool is a perfect place to unwind. Every night they have a family dinner option (if you don't want to go into town) and every morning breakfast is included. The music, ambiance, and staff make you feel like you are in paradise. THANK YOU for an unbelievable experience, I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tolivethislovelylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed one night for the Sunday funday in San juan del sur based on a recommendation. The owners Carla and Fred were very welcoming and great fun to talk to. The hostel is always busy but they managed to squeeze us in somehow! Much quieter than the places nearby. Great infinity pool looking over the valley which is big enough to have a proper swim in. Great laid back atmosphere and good music playing all day. also there's a monkey!

To top it all off the owners sent a painting I left behind in a taxi to the bus station in Rivas for me for half what it would have cost me otherwise.

All in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChandyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Beautiful location. Nice unique hostel. Our room was nice but smelt abit musty, lighnting not great. Hostel offers evening meals which are good value. offered free shuttle to and from town every 2 hours...however this shuttle is hard to find on first arriving to the San Juan Del Sur. Hostel offer trips to other nearby beaches for $6 return. Good friendly atmosphere in the hostel.
It is not possible to reserve a room which is a big negative, so we stayed somewhere else on the first night, we arrived at the hostel to ask about a room for the next night but they were unable to tell us if they had a room or if people were checking out....we were told just to call back the next day or ring (wasn't going to ring on international rates!!) to see if they have availability...don't like spending holiday time coming to and from a hostel to ask about accom..but we were lucky on the 2nd day...overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fidolaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

UNA NOCHE MAS!
This is what I found myself (& everyone around me) saying every afternoon for a month instead of venturing off. How could anyone want to leave this place!!!
We had planned to stay only a few days over Christmas but ended up staying just over a month!
I can easily say this was my absolute favourite place in the whole of Central America.
The hotel/hostel rooms are surrounded by an infinity pool overlooking the ocean. The rooms were always clean & very comfortable. Hammocks & day beds to lounge in all day. An awesome pet monkey to play with & cuddle. And a never ending amount of cold beers & cocktails to drink.
The group dinners here are the best I’d had throughout my whole trip & they were the perfect way to make new friends.
The town always felt safe & is filled with good pubs, clubs, shops, restaurants & friendly locals.
The local beaches are beautiful & there are plenty of adventures to be had around you.
& I saved the best for last…
You couldn’t ask for better hosts!!!!! They are the biggest legends you will ever meet -
they became family & I will definitely be back to visit soon :)
Ally x

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of hostels during my travels over the last few years, and this one was probably my favorite. The view is amazing, the atmosphere is relaxed, the dorm mattresses are new, the dinners are tasty, Buzz the monkey is interesting (but will soon have it's own place in the back of the hostel, which i think is a smart idea), the bartenders are friendly and upbeat, and Fred n Carla (the owners) are real down to earth welcoming people.

I don't see myself back in Nicaragua anytime soon but if i ever did return to San Juan del Sur i'd stay here. And only here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustaPack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had a short visit at Casa de Olas. Unfortunately we lost our reservation due to an honest mistake. They were very nice about it and offered us dorm beds. But, we decided to go stay with a friend instead. We were told by many people that we had to check the place out. And they were right. The view is beautiful, the pool nice, and great owners. It is relaxed, but not boring and the monkey Buzz is super loveable. We stayed for a few drinks while trying to decide to stay or go and they treated us very well while we were there. I would have like to stay the night, but after running a hostel I understand that reservations to get lost, and they did tell us ahead of time that it is normally on a first come first serve basis. It just means we have to go back again, and maybe this time get there earlier. We had our own transportation, so it was not a hassle to come and go, but I would recommend calling ahead to see if there is room before either walking up, or paying a cab to take you up there as it seems to be popular.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank lnmckaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.8 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
135 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Chateau Hotel
Royal Chateau Hotel
#20 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
105 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Encanto del Sur
Hotel Encanto del Sur
#23 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#13 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
174 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#28 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
0 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#17 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Olas

Address: Lot 6 Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 73 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $11 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa De Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Olas, is a unique place to stay, blending the best of Bed & Breakfast, hotel and hostel together to create the Casa de Olas experience. We are situated on a hilltop over-looking the town and bay of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Our location provides endless views over the Pacific ocean with spectacular sunsets nightly. Casa De Olas is designed for the more discerning backpacker and budget travelers who are looking to find an oasis of luxury at affordable prices. In total we have 10 rooms and can accommodate a maximum of 75 guests at any one time. We have dorm rooms that can accommodate from 4-6 people with one room housing 14. Casa de Olas is designed for those traveling on a budget or in groups. All rooms are spacious with en-suites. We think staying a little out of town is the best way to experience all that San Juan del Sur and the surrounding area has to offer. Australian couple Fred and Carla are your hosts bringing a wealth of knowledge from their native land with a long resume in the hotel and restaurant industry. Fred and Carla are warm and always ready to give a recommendation. Take a look at our website, TripAdvisor and Facebook pages to find out more and we look forward to having you stay with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Casa De Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Olas Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa De Olas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing