We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem true gem we discovered!”
Review of Casa De Olas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa De Olas
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem true gem we discovered!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Casa de Olas is hands down the best place we have stayed so far in our 4 months of travelling. I honestly cannot think one bad thing to say about this kickass place. Its not really a hostel, its more like a resort where you are guaranteed to become a part of their amazing family. The hospitality is beyond this world and the atmosphere we have not been able to find anywhere else. This place is IDEAL for some serious chilling and relaxing, making great friends and enjoying life. And Buzz the Monkey is the icing on the cake! :) And the food is delicious, you have a family-style dinner every night. if you are looking for a place to stay in San Juan, you would be silly to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlepeasoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    58
    17
    12
    15
See reviews for
5
85
80
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Came here with my gf last fall and had a fabulous time! The view is amazing, great bar, and the staff was so nice. Great place to relax after a great day of surfing! Its a bit out of town which is a positive not a negative and the shuttle takes you in if you want to go! We had a private room and it was great to have our own space but to still be a part of the hostel crowd! Nothing makes a vacay like falling asleep in a beach chair with a monkey asleep in your lap!! Amazing!

Room Tip: Definitely get a private room as a couple!! Great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ards39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Work has been insane lately so I decided to take an impromptu trip to Nicaragua for a relaxing long weekend. I had never been, but word on the street was that it is a more private South American surfer destination as opposed to the been there...done that touristy Costa Rica. I researched locations in San Juan del Sur and came across Casa de Olas (primarily drawn to the well designed website and promises of meeting a monkey!) I could not be more happy with my stay. Overall just an AMAZING time and exactly what I needed. The staff welcomed me and made sure I was well taken care of...truly made me feel like family which was comforting especially in a part of the world I have never been. They helped plan my daily itinerary and let me know the most ideal and secluded surfing destinations. The rooms are impressively comfortable and quiet, and the views...OMG! Sunset at Casa de Olas is the ultimate experience - especially when sipping a local beer while looking out from the infinity pool. I had such an amazing time that I actually just booked a return visit in July. For those interested in staying in the area, Casa de Olas is the only place I'd recommend staying!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Are you heading into San Juan Del Sur? If so, make SURE you pay a visit to Casa De Olas! Before heading off to Nicaragua, I was kinda hesitant about the whole situation. I'm super picky when it comes to food/accommodations/nightlife etc.. This past January, my buddy and I headed down to Nica on a surf trip for two weeks. First off, it was two weeks too short! The experience was like no other, I've been on plenty of trips in my life and this one took the cake. As we arrived to Casa de Olas, it had felt as if we were arriving at home. The owners of the place, Fred and Carla welcomed us in with open arms, treated me as if I were their son for the entire trip. This is where I become picky, the food... I cannot stress how well the food was prepared every night, it was amazing!! There was something new on the menu each night, whether it be be chicken, fish, lasagna, tacos, pork chops etc etc. The dinner was my favorite part of the day (besides surfing), everyone sat down as a big family, ate their home cooked meal over some great conversations then BAM off to the nightlife! Drinks are very cheap at the hostel, I spent little to nothing for my entire two weeks and I was DEF drinking like a fish. They even had a happy hour at the hostel which made the drinks even cheaper, practically giving them away haha. The accommodations were awesome, they had plenty of option depending on how much privacy you wanted. I chose the surf dorm, where you stay in a big room with 10 or so other surfers/backpackers. They also had private rooms as well if you didn't want to deal with the dorm style atmosphere. Overall, it was a trip of a lifetime!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kookmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Secluded on a hill, a few km's out of the actual town: the views are pretty good. However they rival the views from the statue of Jesus (a short hike from the beach).
This is not a surf camp as advertised. It is a pricey hostel. The surf packages are cheaper in town and better value as you can choose when you want to go surfing.. The 'shuttle' into town goes three times a day (Naked Tigers goes in about 8-10 times) so unless you have your transport or get an expensive taxi; you have to go at these times.
The monkey 'Buzz' is exploited as an attraction. She should have been repatriated into her natural environment a long time ago, despite being an orphan. There are several animal reintroduction programs in Central America. She is kept on a leash and is known to bite females.
There is no kitchen, so you have to eat the set menu dinner or you can go next door to the Naked Tiger (they have a huge menu) where they serve food any time of day.The included breakfasts are good (pancakes and scrambled eggs on alternate days). The lunch menu is a hot dog or cup noodles.
This place is probably best for travellers who have a few days to lounge around by the infinity pool which is great; and would be even better if the dirty scum was not so visible in the water. The pool looked like it had not been cleaned in a long time.
The toilet/bathroom lock in my room was non-existent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominiquebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa-de-olas-MGMT, Manager at Casa De Olas, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Dominique but i would like to clear a few things up for you.

We do not advertise as being a surf camp at all. We are lucky enough to have two outside companies offering lessons to our customers. Prices are set by them and in comparison to lessons offered in town the value comes in the quality of boards, Area knowledge and ISA certified coaches on hand.

Our FREE shuttle runs three times a day which seems to satisfy our guests. In the instance you needed to get your own cab from town after a night out or simple wanted to travel the 5 minute ride on your own schedule you would expect to pay about 60 cordobas ($3), depending on your negotiating skills.

Buzz our monkey is very much part of our family. Orphaned soon after birth we wanted to care for her and do whatever possible to ensure she would be safe. We have explored reintroduction programs but have not been satisfied with what we saw. Buzz really enjoys the company of people and is very playful and sweet once you get familiar with her. We also take her to the Jungle out the back of the resort each day and let her go (without leash). She runs and jumps through the jungle for about an hour or so and returns "at will" when she is satisfied.

We are proud of our kitchen and have one of the best chef's in San Juan Del Sur creating fresh food daily. Most visitors choose to head into town or beaches during the day for lunch so our option is inexpensive and simple if someone chooses to stay by the pool.

Our pool has a full time attendant looking after it, Juan also takes care of the beautiful tropical gardens and fruit tree's on the property. It seems that what you saw was the faded paint from treating the pool on a daily bases. We will be re-painting the pool so it holds the original appeal but in no way is the pools water dirty.

Lastly our prices start at $11 per night (dorm). We feel these prices offer incredible value considering Casa De Olas was a award winning boutique hotel before transforming into a hostel just last year.

Thanks for letting us know your concerns, We will be painting the pool as soon as we can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you are planning to go to San Juan with your girlfriend or boyfriend dont stay here. There is no privacy even in the private rooms. Ther is no door in the bathrooms, and dont even think in getting to lovely with yout gf, only if ypu dont mind everybdy in the place knowing what you are doing in you bedroom.
My room was just next to the router of the internet so it looks like every other guest was outside my room tring to get wi fi signal. My recomendation, don stay here unless you are traveling alone or in group.
On the positeve: staff is very nice and food is great.
Also it is very far from San Juan downtown so if you dont have a car i wouldnt consider staying here. But because of that same reason view is amazing.

Room Tip: Only consider this place if you have a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djaragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa-de-olas-MGMT, Manager at Casa De Olas, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
The open layout of our rooms has been one of the most admired aspects by past guests and we understand not everybody feels that way. Did you ask the staff for a room change away from our router so that you had more privacy?(we have different room layouts too) We are always happy to make a stay more comfortable where ever possible.

Casa De Olas also offers shuttles to and from town and beaches. The 5 minute drive to town is what separates us from others and enables the spectacular views everyone admires when they stay with us.

We enjoy accommodating both couples and single travelers if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable............Just ask!

Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Cam to this place on a tight schedule as a friend had told me we MUST stay here, we ended up staying a week and cutting out other parts of our trip. From the moment you step into this place you feel like you belong here, the friendliest of service, very comfy rooms and a view to die for. i must admit the draw card is Buzz the Crazy Spider Monkey! what a legend, just dont bother her when shes eating... at least i have a scar to remember her by! Just beware if the owner Shane is down from New York on his holiday, He can drink... if you come to San Juan Del Sur you HAVE TO STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Book Early! this place is getting more and more popular by the Day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaneread12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.4 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
288 reviews
3.5 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
5.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#27 of 67 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Olas

Property: Casa De Olas
Address: Lot 6 Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa De Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Olas, is a unique place to stay, blending the best of Bed & Breakfast, hotel and hostel together to create the Casa de Olas experience. We are situated on a hilltop over-looking the town and bay of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Our location provides endless views over the Pacific ocean with spectacular sunsets nightly. Casa De Olas is designed for the more discerning backpacker and budget travelers who are looking to find an oasis of luxury at affordable prices. In total we have 10 rooms and can accommodate a maximum of 75 guests at any one time. We have dorm rooms that can accommodate from 4-6 people with one room housing 14. Casa de Olas is designed for those traveling on a budget or in groups. All rooms are spacious with en-suites. We think staying a little out of town is the best way to experience all that San Juan del Sur and the surrounding area has to offer. Australian couple Fred and Carla are your hosts bringing a wealth of knowledge from their native land with a long resume in the hotel and restaurant industry. Fred and Carla are warm and always ready to give a recommendation. Take a look at our website, TripAdvisor and Facebook pages to find out more and we look forward to having you stay with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Casa De Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Olas Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa De Olas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing