We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“3 days too little....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa De Olas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa De Olas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“3 days too little....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I came here with the intention of staying for only three nights and three WEEKS later, I'm still here! Can not get enough of this place. Chilled vibes, great atmosphere, excellent staff and the best sunsets in the world! My best advice would be to wake up and enjoy the free breakfast, take the shuttle to the beach, return to Casa de Olas for the sunset (and happy hour 5-7pm [$1 beers!]) and finish the night with a delicious $7 dinner, served family style and cooked fresh daily by the excellent kitchen staff!
Make sure you contact the hostel at least 24 hours prior to arrival to check for availability. In the space of time that I have been here, I have seen many 'walk in' enquiries be declined due to hostel's constant occupation.
With no intentions of leaving anytime soon, I strongly advise all SJDS visitors to stay at Casa de Olas, it is bound to be the best stay of your travels.
P.S. The hostel contains a resident spider monkey by the name of Buzz. Once you have become friends, you will enjoy daily hugs and constant attention for the duration of your stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    55
    16
    12
    13
See reviews for
5
81
75
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

-good people working there
-good views
-good monkey
-good pool.
-great funny and friendly owners.
-good accommodations
-good vibe.

I'd recommend it to anyone trying to chill and relax. Food was decent (although I snuck over to the naked tiger next door a few times to eat for a bit less) but the ambience of the casa de olas is great. We kept saying we were going to leave but couldn't. Fred and Carla (the owners) are so kind and friendly. I would recommend going into town though as well for either the day or what not. It's nice to see. It's quaint. Sunset at olas were beautiful though. Great work, keep it up!

Room Tip: We just stayed in a dorm. It was nice. Tiny bit unkept but doesn't bother us at all. It was a ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greeneggsnjamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were recommended to Casa De Olas by some one in Puerto Viejo, once he had shown us the pictures we were sold. We spent the rest of our trip through Costa Rica looking forward to Casa de Olas. When we arrived we weren't disappointed.

We were warmly welcomed by Fred and the rest of the staff. Our room was absolutely beautiful. It was a large, private with plenty of space and had lots of little luxuries (like fluffy towels!!) that added to our experience.

Our plan was to stay 3 nights, and then 7, and then 9 and when we finally left....we decided to go back again on our way back down to Costa rica. In total we spent 11 nights at Casa De Olas and had the time of our lives.

The food is great, breakfast is included which was an nice treat. The family meals on an evening were cheap and added that little bit of home comfort that is sometimes missing when you have been travelling for a while.

All I can say to anyone looking to find a hostel in San Juan Del Sur is head to Casa De Olas, we met some amazing people, ate great food, drank far too much (Shark attack and finger banging!), surfed, drank a little more and made friends for life.

Thank you Fred, Carla and Buzz.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniesherratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

i came for 3 nights and stayed for 9. a beautiful, relaxing (not at nights) and fun place in san juan del sur.
i would say that the highlight are the amazing owners... they will make u fell that you all one big family.. they would also make u very drunk b careful.
delicious dinner every evening in a very hommie atmosphere.
tnx for a great experience.
oz from jerusalem

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oz123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Many backpackers from Mexico to Nicaragua had recommended Case De Olas to us and we arrived planning to stay for 2 nights and ended up staying for 2 weeks. The rooms are private, clean, well appointed, with plenty of space (you can walk around the bed and their is room for your bags- Joy!) and best of all have beautiful linens, towels and quality mattresses and pillows, which was a find for "Hostel Budget". As the pictures show, the setting is stunning but Case De Olas crowning glory is most certainly the fantastic laid-back and homey vibe, all the guests opt to relax around the pool and bar area and talk to eachother which is a great forum for travel tips and the family-style dinners make it easy to meet new people from all over the world. Fred, Carla and their staff take personal interest in all of their Guests and we would not hesitate to recommend Casa de Olas to anyone, it makes a fantastic relaxing break from chicken buses and dirty hostels. Thank you so much for making our trip!

Room Tip: Private room one has sea views but is a little louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoundtheworldfromQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

i came here intendending on staying for a few days and ended up staying 10 days. and might i add it was probably the best 10 days ive had in all my travels. the owners are friendly and make you feel like you're part of a big hostel family. i enjoyed the family style dinners they had every night, dinner was always delicious!!!! also the breakfast was fantastic. this hostel is conveinent, safe, and just an overall great place to stay. the veiw from up here is unbeatable and you can sit and watch the breathtaking sunsets every night from the infinity pool. also you can hangout with their adorable pet monkey buzz, yes, a pet monkey!!! you feel welcome by all as soon as you walk in to this place. i celebrated my 20th birthday while i was here and they went above and beyond for me. decorations, a cake and everything. its very fairly priced here and everything from taxis, massages and adventure tours are at your finger tips. needless to say i intend on coming back here one day and i cant wait! ill miss my hostel parents alot, and hope that business continues to be this great! thankk you soo much!!! xox

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shan0990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was supposed to stayed only a couple of days in casa de olas and have been 2 weeks Now and still here haha . Love this place!!!!!! The owners and staff cant be better!!! The monkey, the infinit pool, the bar, food.. All amazing!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoriadesanmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.3 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#11 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.4 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#16 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
5.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#8 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.5 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Olas

Property: Casa De Olas
Address: Lot 6 Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa De Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Olas, is a unique place to stay, blending the best of Bed & Breakfast, hotel and hostel together to create the Casa de Olas experience. We are situated on a hilltop over-looking the town and bay of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Our location provides endless views over the Pacific ocean with spectacular sunsets nightly. Casa De Olas is designed for the more discerning backpacker and budget travelers who are looking to find an oasis of luxury at affordable prices. In total we have 10 rooms and can accommodate a maximum of 75 guests at any one time. We have dorm rooms that can accommodate from 4-6 people with one room housing 14. Casa de Olas is designed for those traveling on a budget or in groups. All rooms are spacious with en-suites. We think staying a little out of town is the best way to experience all that San Juan del Sur and the surrounding area has to offer. Australian couple Fred and Carla are your hosts bringing a wealth of knowledge from their native land with a long resume in the hotel and restaurant industry. Fred and Carla are warm and always ready to give a recommendation. Take a look at our website, TripAdvisor and Facebook pages to find out more and we look forward to having you stay with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Casa De Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Olas Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa De Olas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing