We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place on our Central America trip - would love to go back!”
Review of Casa De Olas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa De Olas
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place on our Central America trip - would love to go back!”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I cannot praise Casa de Olas highly enough, we were only meant to stay for 2 nights and ended up staying for nearly a week! Fred is a wonderful host (unfortunately we didn't get to meet his wife as she was visiting family), all the staff are super helpful, and Buzz the monkey has to be the best pet ever!

The rooms were large and clean - there isn't a huge amount of privacy in the bathroom but as these are double rooms designed for couples I don't see a huge problem. The included breakfasts were delicious, and the self service bar was definitely a highlight!
Fred couldn't have been more helpful in organising transport down into town, or trips to try surfing and fishing.

A great choice if you want stunning views and excellent hospitality at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Just turn up to get great last minute rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky23477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    58
    17
    12
    15
See reviews for
5
85
80
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I on the spur of the moment I decided to take a trip to Nicaragua and booked online at Casa De Olas and what a great decision I made. The place has beautiful clean rooms, a great pool, amazing views and the best part was the owners Fred and Karla who made you feel like part of the family. I had a great time relaxing in the hammock, swimming in the pool and sharing family dinners with them and the other guests:) The hotel is very close to San Juan Del Sur only about a 5 min drive and enjoyed staying in the hills rather in town. I can't wait to go back and stay with them again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camerone52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We decided on Casa de Olas mainly through Trip Advisor reviews. We were super glad that we chose this for our stay in San Juan del Sur.

The place is spotless and the owners are super friendly. Noe picked us up in Granada, drove us to the ferry when we wanted to go to Ometepe, and even stopped by the Masaya market on our way back to Managua. This option was incredibly more reasonably priced than taxi cabs or shuttle services.

The breakfast was super convenient and on one of the nights we ended up having a BBQ with Fred and the other guests at the hotel.

Drivers and employees from the hotel were happy to drive us (and pick us up) from the San Juan del Sur center area as well as the Maderas beach. One of the drivers even came to pick us up after an evening in town, but the cab fare back would have been reasonable. The only challenge with cabs was that not all of the drivers knew about Casa de Olas as it is fairly new, so you have to be a bit creative in giving directions (we used the grocery store as a general direction and then told them where to turn to get up the hill). Walking into town took us about 30-40 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camobio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Fred and Carla,the owners/creators of this stunning boutique hotel/B&B have done something incredible here. Every aspect of this hidden gem has had such attention to detail. the rooms are spacious,impeccably clean,crisp clean linens,breakfast is included. The infinity pool overlooks the bay of San Juan,the bar eating area has views of both the bay and the mountains and jungle behind. Fred and Carla are a hoot,and make you feel so welcome and comfortable. All their staff so warm. It is hard to leave to go anywhere!!!! But whatever your needs may be,they will accomodate you,no worries! Hot tip,don't forget to ask about the standby rates,$30/night +tax,for a couple. This is incredible value,and not to be matched anywhere else. Buzz the monkey is a dear little fella too!! Thanks Fred and Carla,I will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tauna-Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

It was one of the most amazing places I've ever stayed at. The rooms were great and Fred the owner made you feel like home. Breakfast is in included, the rooms are clean and they can help you fix whatever you need. I'm going back and that soon. Thanks to Casa Del Olas and Fred San Juan Del Sur has now become one of my favorite places in the whole world and definitley the best place in Nicaragua. He helped us sort out day trips and in the evenings it was a great place just to hang out and have a drink. The view is a great and a must see!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohannaO83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We had read the reviews and looked over the website to find a good deal on a nice hostel and we stumbled upon Casa de Olas and I have to say from the time we entered to the sad day we had to leave it was absolutely perfect! The owners, Fred and Karla are a riot. They have so many stories and are warm hostesses. I felt like they were my "cool" parents as opposed to the owners. They immediately made you feel like home. The remainder of the staff was great as well! All of the staff was very accommodating and super nice!

The construction of the place is like a dream. From the infinity pool, outdoor bar/dining area, to your actual room was from one of those oasis dreams I had when I was a teenager. The attention to detail with the linens in the room and the rocks along the side of the pool was impressive. Oh did I mention Buzz! I heart him/her (I was confused to what the gender of the monkey was).

If you visit San Juan del Sur don't bother staying near the downtown area. You will not find as nice of a place and as warm of people. There is a shuttle service so if you ever want to go out they'll drive you.

This was a perfect way to end my Nicaragua trip. Thank you Casa de Olas!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlliVacaGIRL33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stumbled onto this hotel while I was backpacking through Nicaragua....This place is as close to paradise as you will get. The scene from the hotel to San Juan del Sur is breath taking (an infinity edge pool perfectly aligned with the bay and the statue of Cristo). This is the type of place in which time stops and you forget about all your worries. Fred the owner also makes you feel right at home by sitting with you for drinks and telling you about his latest projects. He is very accomodating and will help guide you to what you want to do in San Juan Del Sur. He also has a really cool monkey!!!! If you come here you wont want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleCuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.4 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
288 reviews
5.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.2 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 67 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De Olas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De Olas

Property: Casa De Olas
Address: Lot 6 Las Escaleras, San Juan del Sur 0000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 67 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa De Olas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Olas, is a unique place to stay, blending the best of Bed & Breakfast, hotel and hostel together to create the Casa de Olas experience. We are situated on a hilltop over-looking the town and bay of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Our location provides endless views over the Pacific ocean with spectacular sunsets nightly. Casa De Olas is designed for the more discerning backpacker and budget travelers who are looking to find an oasis of luxury at affordable prices. In total we have 10 rooms and can accommodate a maximum of 75 guests at any one time. We have dorm rooms that can accommodate from 4-6 people with one room housing 14. Casa de Olas is designed for those traveling on a budget or in groups. All rooms are spacious with en-suites. We think staying a little out of town is the best way to experience all that San Juan del Sur and the surrounding area has to offer. Australian couple Fred and Carla are your hosts bringing a wealth of knowledge from their native land with a long resume in the hotel and restaurant industry. Fred and Carla are warm and always ready to give a recommendation. Take a look at our website, TripAdvisor and Facebook pages to find out more and we look forward to having you stay with us soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Casa De Olas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Olas Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa De Olas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing