We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value for money, especially if you're travelling as a family or with a group of friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Terraza Condominiums
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This guesthouse effectively has two apartments, with three rooms in each apartment: one room has a private bathroom and the other two share a bathroom. We stayed in the room with a private bathroom; as it was low season, we ended up having the entire place to ourselves for $22 a night and made a lot of use of the living room and hammock in the communal area. I agree with others that this would be perfect for a family or a group of friends who could take all 3 rooms and have the whole place to themselves- the overall cost would be much less than renting out an apartment, with the same result. There is a roof terrace with great views of SJDS and the balcony is the perfect spot to hang out and relax with a book. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect- right in the middle of all the restaurants and just a couple of minutes to the beach. I've given it 4 stars instead of 5 because I thought the apartment got a little hot and it could do with having air conditioning instead of just fans, but overall I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roshani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 47 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed in Room 6 for two nights at $22 per night. Shared bathroom and disrupted sleep that comes with the next room taking a shower at 4am. Fan only and a little uncomfortable at this time of year with humidity nudging 80%. Having said that this would be an ideal place for a long term stay or a group traveling that were to take all 3 room on each floor. Kitchen and lounge area a bonus and hammock on each balcony. Roof top terrace bare but a nice place to catch a breeze in a deck chair. Very central. Owner is English speaking. Good security with you having a key to the front door, the floor door and your bedroom door. Cold water only but not a problem given the heat. Walking distance from Rivas bus...head straight for one block and pretty much on the corner as you turn right towards the beach (opposite park and cathedral)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I shared a room at La Terraza and throughout the whole trip we kept repeating that it was the perfect place to stay during our 10 days in town. Katie, the owner, was incredibly helpful and very flexible. She ensured that we were picked up in Managua, despite losing contact with us before finalizing the details. All of our requests were taken care of quickly. The location in San Juan is perfect, right next to a beautiful church and park, around the corner from Zen Yoga studio, and walking distance to everything. One of the best things about this place is the view, from the balcony and the rooftop terrace. You can see everything, the mountains, the beach and all of the town. We will certainly be back to San Juan and will stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Em12481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

While many people come to San Juan Del sur for a rage surfed out party, or for a luxurious latin vacation, as a couple we came down looking for a relaxing good time, where we could hang out but also get away when we needed. This was an ideal place. We had AC for 38 a night, which was the best value I could find. The bed was nice and they cleaned the room for you. In addition the common room area was an added bonus. We shared it with two Danish volunteers who were also looking for a relaxing time. The kitchen gives one the opportunity to cook and to bring home leftovers. The balcony is amazing for hanging out late at night and the tv allows you to catch a game or show. The only problems were the internet did not function consistently, going on and off and the owner and the staff were often unavailable when we needed them, however very kind and helpful when present. Her husband was out of town which may have effected the quality of service. This being said this is a great value for any couple. I also recomend that family or groups rent out an entire floor for the week, where you can take advantage of the apartment. Overall, a great value and a rare quality middle of the road price range.

Room Tip: AC is recommended between April and June.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed at La Terraza for 10 days while taking spanish lessons and really enjoyed the location and the amenities. Ther are two floors with three rooms per floor - one with a private bath while the other two rooms share a bath. The three rooms share a kitchen, living room and terrace. Each terrace has a hamock and a great view of the main street and the water front. The overhead fans don't really create much of a breeze so it can be hot in the bedrooms...

The aparments were cleaned each day, they felt very safe (locks for each room, the apartment door and the outside door), the price was very reasonable and coffee and drinking water were provided. The market is only one block away for buying provisions and the Church and central park is just across the street. San Juan del Sur is a small town so everything is closeby.

I was there just before Easter so there were many parades that went down the main street to the church which we could watch directly from our terrace, an added bonus! I was also travelling solo and this was a good place to meet other travellers and much preferrable to a hostal.

Room Tip: The third floor apartment is definately the better of the two floors - better view of both the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdigabtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This place has my top 5 requirements for a place to vacation:
1) It's VERY clean
2) It's VERY safe
3) It's close to town, but not too loud
4) It has a BEAUTIFUL ocean view
5) It's reasonably priced (yes you can stay at a hostel for 10 bucks a night, but you're sharing your bedroom with random people who may be raging all night and also may bring in bed bugs)

The guest house is beautiful with private rooms that are well kept. The best part it the beautiful roof top terrace from which you can see the entire city and the beautiful San Juan Del Sur sunsets. Do yourself a favor and stay here. The host is very friendly :) Four stars ****

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genevieve123751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Having a kitchen and a balcony makes for a great stay. Loved drinking fresh brewed coffee on the balcony each morning. Katie was a wonderful host.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tourvella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
126 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#12 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
335 reviews
0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#26 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#8 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
758 reviews
0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza Condominiums

Address: Del Parque Central, 25 vrs oeste, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $26 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Terraza Condominiums consist of full apartments with 2-3 bedrooms and 1-2 bathrooms. Some offer ocean view, a/c, balcony. All offer full kitchen, comfortable living area, hammock, access to our breezy rooftop terrace with an amazing 360 degree view of the town of San Juan del Sur, its surrounding hillsides, and the San Juan bay and Pacific coastline. Prices vary from budget to mid range. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Terraza Guest House Hotel San Juan Del Sur
La Terraza Condominiums Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing