We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic ceviche, lobster, and pina coladas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Vivian

Restaurante Vivian
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Central American, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open since 1980, Vivian Restaurant offers visitors the port of San Juan del Sur a selected menu of seafood cuisine of good taste and quality. Mrs. Vivian and her son, are the soul that guarantee customers good service and attention that Vivian Restaurant offers.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic ceviche, lobster, and pina coladas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Had dinner at this beachside restaurant as we watched the sun sink into the sea. The pina coladas were creamy and delicious, and my son loved the non-alcoholic version too. The ceviche of fish, lobster and shrimp was one of the best I've ever had, and then we had the fresh lobster for the main course. Yum! The service was professional and the views of the setting sun over the beach and the sea were priceless. Best meal of our trip in Nicaragua.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rbyrnes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    74
    27
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Filling and delicious family dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just had dinner here with my family this evening and had an excellent experience! We had the mixed seafood ceviche which was full of flavour and definitely fills any craving for fresh coastal food. Amazing view and WONDERFUL friendly staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ae_riediger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You don't get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I ordered a whole fried fish for about $12 (pricey even for SJDS) but I would not have minded if the taste was there. Sadly, the fish had no flavor. I had to ask for lots of extra lime. Wife had lobster ceviche but it was also lacking lime juice. She asked for it and they brought what tasted like margarita mix. That explains the sweet flavor of the ceviche. The actual margarita glasses were so tiny I finished mine in 2 sips. The time it took to get our food was also too long seeing as how the place was not crowded on a Monday at 8pm. The 2 stars are for the excellent wait service and location.

Helpful?
Thank Nelson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sunset and ceviche”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

The ceviche was exceptional, and the view can't be beat. I was not so excited about the breakfast we had there though. Pretty standard local fare, and I hoped they would do better. But its a great place for cocktails and sunset snacks!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank doronamiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“On the pricey side but worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had dinner at Restaurante Vivian with a group of friends. The food was terrific and the views of the beach from the restaurant were spectacular. This restaurant is on the pricey side in San Juan del Sur but has excellent service, food and atmosphere. Definitely a great place for a special night out!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MartiOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Vivian also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Restaurante Vivian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing