We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best night of vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Munchies Bluues - CLOSED

Munchies Bluues
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: Muchies Bluues serves up authentic wood oven pizza in the jungle. Pizzeria close to San Juan del Sur. It's on the road to Playa Maderas/ Playa Marsella hidden on the left hand side. If you like to eat a "real brick oven pizza" come to visit me. You must make reservations in advance!
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best night of vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This place is great. Sergio works by himself. He plays the music and makes great pizza. You get your own drinks and keep track of your bill yourself. A complete honor system. At the end of the night I asked Sergio for the bill and he told me to figure it out. We got 3 pizzas and probably 10 beers and 4 cokes and the bill was $43 US...We met some locals and expats in a relaxed atmosphere. Expect to spend 2 to 3 hours to get the most out of the experience. Hire a taxi to get there and make reservations. He is only open 3 days a week. Worth the trip out of town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WalterJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    5
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WHISTLER
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“super bueno!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Chef/dj Sergio has a huge diamond in the ruff here...as with all the other responses simply fantastic pizza,,,wood fired,,,reservations 3 days in advance a good idea...because of all the fan fare he is now open 3 night s week...mon,wed, and now friday,,,630 pm tillclose,,he only does a set amount of pizzas per night so be sure to call way ahead...outstanding za....cold beers and a good wine red or white,,,,honour system for drinks and food,,,really a delight ambiance and local action,,,,enjoy this place all the time,,best pizza (thin crust) I have everf had..and I too am a chef......table of 4 order 4 different and away you go,,,gracias chef !!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AGENERALSPECIALIST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pizza with soul!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I love this place!! Sergio is a one man show...rocking tunes, phenomenal brick oven, thin crust Italian pizzas, cold beer, red wine, limoncello shots all served up in a jungle pizzeria. I highly recommend making the effort to getting there while in marsella... no excuses now because he is serving up pizza three nights a week (M,W,F)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“To far out of town”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

IT was an experience we were visiting San Juan del Sur for four days and heard about this place. The pizza was very good and it was fun. However it is way out of town, not in the town
of San Juan del Sur. We hired a taxi and being stupid we paid him when the got to house.
Then we asked him to stay for awhile. During our dinner someone left early and took our Taxi.
We had to hitch a ride in a small car all the way back to San Juan. I wouldn't recommend it because of the distance but learn from our experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza in the Middle of the Forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We discovered Muncies Bluues on TripAdvisor and we were so excited to go there. And we were not disappointed. Such a great experience and the pizza was fabulous. It is really great to see Sergio working in the kitchen, grooving to his music, and the focus is totally on the getting the pizzas done right. You have to call in advance and make a reservation, because he prepares just enough pizza dough based on the number of reservations. Definitely go in a car, we ended up going on a little scooter and that was quite an adventure in itself. It is better to be there a few minutes before 6.30pm because it is first come first serve, but then again you do not want to be there half an hour early and piss the chef off :). We reached a little later than the rest of the groups and ended up having to wait a long time. But totally worth it. Took back the leftover pizza to our hotel for the next day and it tasted great even then. You want to go here if you are in San Juan Del Sur!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank s_ketaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munchies Bluues also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing