We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pizza Outside of Naples”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Munchies Bluues - CLOSED

Munchies Bluues
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: Muchies Bluues serves up authentic wood oven pizza in the jungle. Pizzeria close to San Juan del Sur. It's on the road to Playa Maderas/ Playa Marsella hidden on the left hand side. If you like to eat a "real brick oven pizza" come to visit me. You must make reservations in advance!
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Outside of Naples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great food. Great people. Loved it. It might be a long way to go back from Canada, but I'll give it a shot if I can.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    5
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bella Coola, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Pizza ever, even better in Nicaragua!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

A night out on the 'strip' in Maderas has to include a visit to Sergio's now-famous Munchies Bluues Pizzaria! It is open Monday and Wednesday evening by reservation, and worth the visit. Ask at the Beach or around Clandestino Hostel or Maderas Village Hostel about how to make a reservation, at least 24 hours in advance. The funky outdoor dining, Sergios Play Lists and passionate handmade true Italian brick oven pizza MAKE the experience. You can't go wrong for a local favorite!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fraser K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible pizza, fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Pizza is one of my favorite foods, and I am very picky about it. Sergio makes the best pizza I have ever eaten. He takes it to a new level: fresh ingredients, great recipes, and a lot of love. He is truly an artist in the kitchen. The restaurant was really crowded, but the wait was worth every penny. Everybody is happy and having fun. Good vibes all around. On my next trip to Nica, nothing will stop me from being at Sergio's on Monday night. I am definitely ordering a whole pizza to myself next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysOnTheMove13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Wow, who would of thought some of the best pizza you'll ever have is in the jungle?
The food is incredible, we had so many different kinds I can't even decide which was the best.
Sergio is a rock star working the brick oven.
Great atmosphere and unreal food.
Don't think, just go. You won't find better pizza!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jberg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Champagne in the jungle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

What a great place! Sergio was awesome and cooks up thin crusted pizza in his homemade stone oven in a great location 10min walk from Playa Madaras. We were able to savor 5 different pizza and I was hard pressed to choose a favorite, they were all so good! The place is popular so you need to make sure you call in advance so Sergio has enough dough otherwise you may miss out and this IS the place to eat on Monday and Wednesday evenings! Our experience didn't just end with pizza, we signed the wall and then Sergio surprised our group by sabering bottles of champagne with his pirate sword!! Seriously this was one experience i will never forget! THANKS SERGIO!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Munchies Bluues also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing