We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE GREAT PEOPLE”
Review of Casa Pelon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Pelon
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“GREAT PLACE GREAT PEOPLE”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Casa Pelon is nestled in the palm trees at the end of the road on Playa Marsella. A great place to get away and relax in the hammocks with an awesome ocean breeze. Mark and Wendy are both great cooks, (loved Wendy's "beet salad") and hospitable owners that just made us feel like family. Great location to beaches and SJDS.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
19
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stanford, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed with Mark and Wendy for 2 nights over Christmas 2011 and I wish we could have stayed there for the whole year. Casa Pelon is located in Playa Marsella, a small piece of heaven, with wide beach, dramatic rocks and perfect sunsets. There is no surfing on that beach, but Mark was kind enough to offer us a ride to the adjacent Madera beach where you can rent a board and the waves are good.
Mark and Wendy were welcoming and warm and made us feel at home. The rooms were basic but comfortable enough. They have 2 rooms and a bathroom for the guests, but since we came with kids, we took both rooms and so had the bathroom only to ourselves. The breakfast they cooked for us was delicious, with home-smoked bacon and yummy french toasts. Between the hammocks, the dogs and the relaxed atmosphere you really can't go wrong!
On our second day, Mark and Wendy had couple of friends over for dinner. Mark made sure we were OK with that and invited us to join. We did so with much pleasure, enjoying good food, drinks and company. As we mentioned that we are about to go to sleep, Mark made sure the party was over and we got our night's rest.
To sum things up, we really enjoyed our stay at Casa Pelon, the place itself, Mark ad Wendy, the direct access to the beach and the views all make it a beautiful getaway from the hustle and bustle of San Juan del Sur.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renanakeidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I have never stayed here, but I have had several dinners here, and that alone is reason enough to visit Casa Pelon. This is some of the best food in all of Nicaragua, and definitely the best barbecue and smoked meats in the country. It happens to be set at one of the best swimming beaches near SJDS. I love the open air, tropical feel of the place. You can hear the waves crashing in the background. Mark and Wendy are terrific hosts. The atmosphere is laid back and easy. If you are looking for a low key and not fancy beach escape, this definitely could be the place to stay. If you like great meats, with a nice assortment of salads and garlic bread, make arrangements to eat here. This is truly one of the highlights of a visit to the San Juan del Sur area. I think it's best to email in advance a few days before you want to eat, as the meats are smoked for many hours, and everything is always fresh....but believe me, it's worth this small extra effort.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Right on the beach, away from crowds. Mark and Wendy are great hosts and cooks; like being part of a family. Outstanding location (Playa Marcella) but close to Playa Madera and
San Juan Del Sur. Just two small, modest rooms. Low, Low rates -- Real bargain. Came for a night, stayed for three. Enjoyed meeting neighbors and making friends.,.

Room Tip: Have an open mind andmake it an adventure. Have fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clayt91732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Steps from the beach, Casa Pelon is the perfect location if you want a relaxing quiet getaway. Stumbling into this awesome bed and breakfast was not my intention, however it was just what I was looking for. I wanted to get away from it all and this was just that. I lounged in both of the big hammocks overlooking the beach, swam and kicked around a futball with some of playa marsella's locals. Surfing at playa Madera is just around the corner from Casa Pelon. Mark and Wendy are excellent hosts. Mark has a top notch smoker in which he smokes to die for sausage, bacon, and ham. Being from Texas I enjoy smoking and eating great bbq. My first morning I was given a choice of bacon or sausage with my breakfast that Wendy so wonderfully prepared. I will most certainly be back since I am now in nearby Costa Rica. Mark and Wendy provide a comfortable and clean atmosphere and the best pulled pork sandwhich ever.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This house is operated on a beach outside San Juan del Sur. Although the distance is short, a cab into the San Juan is about 15 minutes because of the condition of the road. The bed was dirty, sheets weren't clean. We had been in Nicaragua for three weeks by the time we stayed at Casa Pelon, and it was the worst accommodation we had. After a hard day travel, we wanted to relax, enjoy the waves, it is why we chose a place outside San Juan. R+R was pretty much impossible as the Host was having guests over that afternoon and night. The kitchen/living room is open air and the guest rooms are right off the kitchen, so there is no privacy. Although we were welcome to join the party that night, we choose to take dinner in San Juan, cabbing it both ways. We returned around 11 hopeful to go to bed. The hosts were still drinking, playing music and didn't stop till about 1 am. We left early the next morning and got a hotel in San Juan. It is their house, and they can do what they want. However, it is pretty inconsiderate since we are paying guests. So, if you want to party on a quiet beach with the host and friends - stay here. If you want to relax without feeling awkward in someone's living room - stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelonbbq, Owner at Casa Pelon, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
The first thing I would like to say is we take our guests concerns seriously. Unfortunately it's difficult to fix problems in a timely manner when you are made aware of them 11 months after the incident. That being said, we do cater dinner party's at at our house from time to time and we try to involve our guests in them. Unfortunately we cant cancel catered events when guests arrive. They are also paying customers. We are extremely sorry for offending these guests. Our rooms are always clean with clean beds, bathrooms, and bedding before any guest checks in. Again if there was a problem it would have been easily corrected 11 months ago.

Casa Pelon is clean, affordable, fun and on the beach still!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I don't want to write a review about Casa Pelon. I want to write a song about Casa Pelon. It would be some kind of mix of The Girl from Ipanema and Born to be Wild, with a little Jimmy Buffet thrown in for good measure. The music video that accompanies the tune would include shots of the sunset bruising the sky over Playa Marsella blue, purple, and pink; a girl being escorted along the beach by the protective and excited German Shepard Loba, hiking over the point with the daffy and lovable mutt Goma, richotcheting through the soft night on the back of a motor bike, and gathering around the table with my hosts, the jungle gourmets (Mark and Wendy) for dinner (best baked beans EVER).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaLeask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
1.8 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.3 mi away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
419 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pelon

Property: Casa Pelon
Address: Meters East Of Playa Marsella 10, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on one of southwestern Nicaragua's most beautiful and tranquil beaches. Casa Pelon is located on Playa Marsella and is ten minuets from the fun town of San Juan del Sur and 5 minutes from the well-known surf break at Playa Maderas. We would be happy to arrange any transportation needs our guests may have. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Pelon Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing