We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach - but that is about it”
Review of Casa Pelon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Pelon
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This house is operated on a beach outside San Juan del Sur. Although the distance is short, a cab into the San Juan is about 15 minutes because of the condition of the road. The bed was dirty, sheets weren't clean. We had been in Nicaragua for three weeks by the time we stayed at Casa Pelon, and it was the worst accommodation we had. After a hard day travel, we wanted to relax, enjoy the waves, it is why we chose a place outside San Juan. R+R was pretty much impossible as the Host was having guests over that afternoon and night. The kitchen/living room is open air and the guest rooms are right off the kitchen, so there is no privacy. Although we were welcome to join the party that night, we choose to take dinner in San Juan, cabbing it both ways. We returned around 11 hopeful to go to bed. The hosts were still drinking, playing music and didn't stop till about 1 am. We left early the next morning and got a hotel in San Juan. It is their house, and they can do what they want. However, it is pretty inconsiderate since we are paying guests. So, if you want to party on a quiet beach with the host and friends - stay here. If you want to relax without feeling awkward in someone's living room - stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelbug3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelonbbq, Owner at Casa Pelon, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

The first thing I would like to say is we take our guests concerns seriously. Unfortunately it's difficult to fix problems in a timely manner when you are made aware of them 11 months after the incident. That being said, we do cater dinner party's at at our house from time to time and we try to involve our guests in them. Unfortunately we cant cancel catered events when guests arrive. They are also paying customers. We are extremely sorry for offending these guests. Our rooms are always clean with clean beds, bathrooms, and bedding before any guest checks in. Again if there was a problem it would have been easily corrected 11 months ago.

Casa Pelon is clean, affordable, fun and on the beach still!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Casa Pelon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

I don't want to write a review about Casa Pelon. I want to write a song about Casa Pelon. It would be some kind of mix of The Girl from Ipanema and Born to be Wild, with a little Jimmy Buffet thrown in for good measure. The music video that accompanies the tune would include shots of the sunset bruising the sky over Playa Marsella blue, purple, and pink; a girl being escorted along the beach by the protective and excited German Shepard Loba, hiking over the point with the daffy and lovable mutt Goma, richotcheting through the soft night on the back of a motor bike, and gathering around the table with my hosts, the jungle gourmets (Mark and Wendy) for dinner (best baked beans EVER).

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaLeask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Thanks so much to Sr Pelon and Wendy for the good times and taking us into your home. Beautiful sea views. The wonderful hosts are informative and happily adopted us, introducing us to their friends and giving us a window into their world. The smoked meats are delicious!!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Casa Pelon is super awesome! Super tranquilo! I dug hanging out in the hammock, shaded by banana trees, protected at either side by their awesome dogs Loba & Goma! Mark and Wendy are seriously cool and made me feel like a long-time friend immediately. And they make incredible food... the meats that Mark smokes are ridiculous and I've been wanting another one of those huge breakfast burritos that Wendy made!
Also, I really dug the location. Out of town yet not in the middle of no-where... there are places to eat and grab a beer within a short, and pleasant, walking distance.... Marsella Beach is beautiful and you'll pretty much have it to yourself.
I highly recommend Casa Pelon if you're looking for a chill, relaxing experience and want to get to know some really awesome locals! I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfingshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Immediately Mark and Wendy (owners of Casa Pelon) take you in like family... Rustic Style. Had a relaxing time laying in hammocks and adventurous treks to nearby beaches, cities and volcanoes.
Met many friendly people in the area that love to hang out and share good times.
Mark and Wendy are very wired with local happenings such as sunset boat tours, fishing trips, disc golf, and farmers' markets. Mark is also an incredible smoker... If your lucky you could get a possible taste test or an inexpensive meal prepared fresh in an open air kitchen.
Great security and YOU CAN'T FIND A CLOSER B & B CLOSER TO THE SAND!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dagwood1574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

If you are looking for 'top flight' amenities, such as a spa and linen-covered tables, this is not your place. If you are looking to really relax, enjoy excellent home-cooked meals and superb company: Casa Pelon has a lot to offer. Mark and Wendy are lovely people and great hosts. The rooms are not 'luxury', but they are clean and comfortable.
The location on Playa Marsella is amazing: you can look out through Papaya, Palm and Neem trees and watch the ocean, from the comfort of a hammock strung in the open-air living room, the main room of the Casa Pelon. It feels like being at a private beach, with only the breezes and a few plumeria blossoms floating by...I enjoyed the waves & the water, and nobody else but the cows...
It was a memorable experience visiting with the other guests, swapping stories, going to the locals Farmers Market. It is a short walk to Playa Madera, where a major surf competition was taking place. Mark and Wendy go to the charming town of San Juan often enough to get your fill of other restaurants, shops...oh, and don't miss the Chocolate Covered Frozen Bananas.
The meals were good: from Nicaraguan tamales, to home-made BBQ specialties from Mark's smoker to wholesome, hearty breakfasts, always including good coffee and fresh tropical fruit. There are other places to eat (for spice-of-life variety) within easy walking distance, from high-end to very local.
They helped me with travel arrangements, from getting there, to making changes to stay longer, to getting back on the road.
I felt safe, and comfortable...and look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloudbird9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The view of the ocean, the sound of the waves, the friendliest couple ever... Mark and Wendy, it's just a great place to stay. It's a perfect little B&B for someone who wants to disconnect, get away and really immerse themselves into beautiful Nicaragua. Mark even has a smoker and makes his own bacon and sausage... and yeah, it's out of this world. I can say that I'm leaving Nicaragua with 2 new friends, and the favorite place I stayed by far has been Casa Pelon.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
Thank BlueJae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
150 reviews
1.8 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.5 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arte-Sano Hotel Cafe
Arte-Sano Hotel Cafe
#15 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
72 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Del Soul
Casa Del Soul
#6 of 69 in San Juan del Sur
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pelon

Address: Meters East Of Playa Marsella 10, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on one of southwestern Nicaragua's most beautiful and tranquil beaches. Casa Pelon is located on Playa Marsella and is ten minuets from the fun town of San Juan del Sur and 5 minutes from the well-known surf break at Playa Maderas. We would be happy to arrange any transportation needs our guests may have. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Pelon Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing