We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great restaurant for a special evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barrio Cafe

Barrio Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, Cafe, Central American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Williams Lake
Level Contributor
123 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A great restaurant for a special evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We walked by this restaurant for a few days because it looked more like an average cafe from the outside and we were looking for a full-menu restaurant.

Then, one evening, we wandered in and staff directed us to the courtyard inside. Wow, what an oasis!

We were presented with an exquisite menu and the superb food was served by Jose C., a mesero which should be serving in the country's top restaurants.

His charming demeanor and willingness to make our meal an unforgettable one deserves special mention.

OK, it's not the cheapest place in town but definitely worth the price if you are looking for more upscale food, ambience and service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xenalook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    219
    66
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The first place I ate when arriving in San Juan del Sur over 6 months ago. Very nice staff and atmosphere. Food is good and coffee is worth it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank gitana1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Never a problem. Love this Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have ate here a few times and the drinks and food are great. The service is always good and we always leave drunk. What else could a person ask for. We will be back. Thanks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chadphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what you get”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My girlfriend and me had breakfast there. It wasn't bad, but definitely too expensive for what you get. I had the breakfast sandwich (with egg and ham), which had less than the size of a tennis ball. I could easily eat three of them. So I was still hungry after breakfast. Better go to a place where locals eat. There you pay half of the prize and you get double of the size. At least.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pampuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our favourite for breakfast, lunch and coffee. They offer a very nice variety of foods and I love the Ranch Salad...Could be a little bigger though ;))

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fishing-Nicaragua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrio Cafe also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Barrio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing