We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun activity and very nice people”

Rancho Chilamate Adventures on Horseback
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rancho Chilamate offers guided horseback rides for adventurous travelers looking to get up close and personal with Nicaragua. The ride leaves from the ranch through the local community, into open fields and over hilltops for spectacular views, crossing the river several times for excellent wildlife viewing (almost guaranteed to see monkeys) and then to the secluded beach for a refreshment break and more riding adrenalin.This solar-powered private ranch caters to smaller, more intimate groups to ensure only the best of service. Let's Ride!
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun activity and very nice people”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went for a horse-back riding activity since my girlfriend loves horses. The Canadian couple have a really nice ranch and after being equipped we went off. Unfortunatley, my horse had a bad day and as a beginner I couldn't handle it properly. After a long time we arrived to the beach. What the horse was lacking when walking it made up while galloping on the beach! This part was really fun! For the way back, I switched horse and we walked the whole way back, which was a bit boring. Afterwards we had rom and fruit and chilled at the ranch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank erik-ecce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    5
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic day!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

These people are amazing! The take excellent care of both their horses and visitors! And as I have understood also their neighbors and the people around. We had a really fun day on the beach and I am really looking forward to the photos! Thank you a lot!

Helpful?
Thank fie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary tour - A wonderful experience. Highly recommend!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The entire experience of Rancho Chilamate Adventures is simply amazing and top-notch from beginning to end. I traveled to Nica in March of 2013 for 2 weeks, beginning in SJ, then to Ometepe, San Jorge, Grenada, and Managua.

My boyfriend and I had planned only 2 days in San Juan del Sur before heading off to Ometepe, and wanted to find an activity unique to SJ. We booked via internet while in Boston and was able to communicate with Blue (co-owner, photographer) with ease. She is prompt with email responses and suggested an excellent hotel for us to stay in while in SJ (Posada de Azul - also amazing). There was never a question unanswered, which can sometimes be difficult when corresponding with businesses in Nicaragua. Jamie (co-owner, tour guide) picked my bf and I up in his pristine truck and gave us a tour of his ranch and lovely home before heading off for the 2-3hr horseback riding tour. Jamie was very friendly and awesome to spend time with. We were able to ride through Nicaraguan fields, dirt/paved roads, and then to the beach. The beach we visited was GORGEOUS. Perfect views, snacks and beers (courtesy of Jamie!), and unique backdrop for pictures. We never felt rushed to make it back to the ranch, but rather, Jamie encouraged the group take pics and take in the experience. At the end of the trip, Jamie brought us back to the ranch for fresh grapefruit and flor de Cana shots. The entire morning ride felt like we were with friends that we want to go visit again.

Jamie not only did a wonderful job explaining the land and daily life of Nicaraguans, but also made the experience unforgettable and personable by including so much more than just a horseback ride. Rancho Chilamate provides you cowboy boots, hats, scarves, and even clean socks on arrival for the ride. He introduces you to his very helpful ranch staff, all of whom are experienced riders. While on the ride, Jamie took professional photos of the 2 couples that Blue later edits and posts on FB for you to tag or have the option of buying professionally edited copies. She even emails you to let you know when they are uploaded on FB!

This adventure is great for experienced riders and beginners (I had never rode a horse before), and all ages. The horses are all excellently cared for and in good health. Besides Jamie, there is always another staff member in the group to ensure we all stay together. Make sure to bring your own camera and an allergy pill if you have hay fever. Jamie and Blue provide the rest (again, not typical in Nicaragua)! The morning ride was perfect - but I can imagine the sunset ride to be even more perfect. Value can't be beat. HIGHLY recommend this trip for anyone and everyone!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
“Very special. Thank you Blue and Jamie.”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Best part of the vacation. Great laughs! Beautiful horses! Wonderful relaxed energy throughout the excursion. Amazing wildlife and a view into Nicaraguan daily life. Thank you for all of the personal touches. You have created a lasting memory. Hope to see you again. Caroline.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An amazing, unforgettable day!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in San Juan del Sur, and our afternoon with Jamie and Blue (and Bunny and Colorado!) was the highlight of an unforgettable vacation.
From the moment Blue picked us up at our hotel, we felt like we were spending a day out with friends, and not like we were on some generic tourist excursion. When we arrived at the ranch, Jamie and Blue welcomed us into their home, and we were transformed into boot-wearing, hat-tipping ranchers! Ok...well, we felt like it, anyway :)
Both of us are novice riders, but by the time we made it to the beautiful, deserted beach, we were galloping in the waves with Bunny and Colorado!
This ride gave us a look at a side of San Juan we would not have seen otherwise, and was truly an unforgettable experience. We also just recently received the photos that Blue took during our ride and they are wonderful!
If...no, WHEN we return to San Juan del Sur, we will be paying another visit to Rancho Chilamate!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ajordan217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Chilamate Adventures on Horseback also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
Isla de Ometepe, Rivas Department
 

Been to Rancho Chilamate Adventures on Horseback? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing