We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel Pachamama
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alcazar(San Juan del Sur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Dolce Vita(San Juan del Sur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Casablanca(San Juan del Sur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barrio Cafe Hotel(San Juan del Sur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estrella(San Juan del Sur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Estacion(San Juan del Sur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rositas Hotel(San Juan del Sur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Gran Oceano(San Juan del Sur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa(San Juan del Sur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Encanto del Sur(San Juan del Sur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
62
47
21
15
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
47
21
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf pricebeer pongthemed partyin townpool crawluntil midnightholy weeksurf board rentalsbathrooms and showerssuper funcentral americapartiesfundaysundaychilldormbackpackers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 162 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Awesome place to stay. Clean rooms, good showers, good atmosphere. There's a cool bar, pool, laundry service and free pancakes! There's shuttle's to the beach everyday, and surfboard hire. Great location, 1 minute from the main beach, loads of great places to eat as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights; which actually felt far too long. Though the facilities are nice (note: it's a new location from what's listed in many guidebooks), I was strangely relieved to check out and move on.

The nice though tiny pool, ping pong table, free pancakes till 10, lounge spots, convienant location and wifi earn brownie points.

Like many other places, surf board rentals, beach shuttles and boat trips are offered.

Do spend the extra couple bucks and go with the smaller 4 person dorm. The large dorm is located on the top level in a breezy though unforgivingly bright room (wake up with the sunrise!). I slept very poorly here, due to the light, the noise exposure to the dogs, roosters & early morning construction, and the late night ruckus of fellow guests. This is not a nice place to wake up hungover-- but ideal if you want to get up at the crack of dawn and hit the beaches.

Or just stay at the comfortable Casa Ola and visit Pachamama or Naked tiger for drinks and revelry.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwjubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

There is a reason this is the most popular hostel in San Juan del Sur. They have a great staff, great food, (try the fish and chips) and great happy hour! Most importantly they have absolutely the best surf shuttle in town, the driver Federico is the most reliable, I won't go to the beach with anyone else! Even if you're not staying there it's worth walking over and checking what time they're going to the beach. They also have a great selection of surf boards to rent there. Don't risk staying somewhere lame, stay at Pachamamas!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank showme11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at the old hostel awhile back and it was great, good location, clean rooms, community kitchen and good vibes.

The new hostel is none of these. Horrible location, couldn't even find it. Rooms are small and dirty, yet room rates have gone up..? No community kitchen, and a loud noisy bar that is expensive and not even a good place to hang out. I highly recommend one of the MANY other hostels in San Juan.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the main level, walls are paper thin
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jachco W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apkt13, Owner at Hostel Pachamama, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

In regards to the review above the staff here at PachaMama feel it is inaccurate and a bit insulting. Our new location is amazing, we have a clean swimming pool, smaller dorm rooms with only four people in them, and private bathrooms in each room. A very inxpensive bar that does great happy hour promotions. An amazing atmosphere that is fun and exciting, which we have worked hard to create. A very cheap kitchen that offers free breakfast everyday of the week. I will say that if you are staying on the ground floor the bar might be a bit loud but we would be more than happy to accomodate you if you are not comfortable there. Our bar closes around 11 in order to provide a comfortable sleeping enviornment for our guests. Simply put our new building is fresh, clean, and stunning. I dont understand why this guy had so many negatuive things to say about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great location just half a block to the beach with an array of various tour options. The staff is very friendly and always seems to be loving life at Pachamama which makes it more welcoming and a place you want to hang out and meet new friends. Excited for the big move to their new location though!

Room Tip: Depending on the season this place tends to be full so consider making a reservation! And a must is a nap in one of the hammocks in the shade that sit out front!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDirtyCrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews