We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best time in San Juan del Sur”

San Juan del Sur Surf and Sport
Ranked #3 of 45 Tours in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: San Juan del Sur Surf and Sport is your adventure center in town. They can offer a variety of activities for all levels of adrenaline. They have over 20 different activities to choose from. Surfing, Fishing, coastal cruises, surfing lessons and turtle tours to name a few. All you need for a great vacation. Informative and Friendly staff with top of the line boats and equipment. English,Portuguese,French and Spanish spoken.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We spent 2 days with San Juan Del Sur surf and sport. First day my son Lucas took surf lessons with Saul and had a blast. We hung out at the beach and kicked back in the hammock and stayed all day. With a the bar and restaurant a few feet away no need to go any where else. The 2cnd day took us out on the water for a day of fishing, my arms are still sore from hauling in a load of fish. I highly recommend Dario and his crew Luis, Saul, Dorian and Darwin.

1  Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 256 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Went fishing twice (one half day and one full day) with this crew (Luis, Dorian and Darwin). They definitely knew where the fish were, and how to get them in the boat. Our two day count was six dorado (rare this time of year) and 20 tuna (both black tuna and white tuna). Not bad given that this is really their slow fishing season. Can't wait to try them during the prime fishing season months! Thanks guys for a memorable trip!

1  Thank Benjamin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Was down in San Juan Del Sur in mid February. Hooked up with Dario and the SanJuan del Sur Surf and Sport crew after arriving. Dario and his crew were fantastic.....Dario himself speaks perfect English and Spanish and is a wonderful family guy! Had a great time fishing with him, and told him my son was hoping to go hiking somewhere in San Juan del Sur. So the next day he took us both hiking up a mountain and onto some land he owned where he had a farm. We enjoyed eating sugar cane and passion fruit on his farm, then hike back down. Had a great time. Dario is the guy you want to hook up with in San Juan del Sur if you are serious about having a good time!

1  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJDSSURF, Owner at San Juan del Sur Surf and Sport, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dave and Connor,

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your input since it informs us as to how our guests view our services. I like to think that you come to us as a paying customer but leave as a friend.

Truly enjoyed fishing with you and taking Connor on the hike. Felt great the next day. Do stay in touch and come back soon.

Adios Amigo,

Dario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

A totally professional team, with clean and well-maintained boats. 4 of us enjoyed a fabulous half-day outing on the water. Mother Nature smiled on us and we were lucky enough to catch some big fish, including two Dorados. Captain Dorian and his mate Darwin were totally attentive, with a keen eye for our comfort and security. The humpback whales were out and they took us to watch them, from a respectful distance. The operator, Dario, is a wonderful man to deal with and wants to make sure that his service meets your every expectation. I highly recommend dealing with him.

1  Thank Moulinie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJDSSURF, Propietario at San Juan del Sur Surf and Sport, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Raoul and Karen,

It is always a pleasure to have guests as yourselves. Thank you for returning to SJDS and our company for the third consecutive year.

This year, the weather worked in our favor since the water warmed up for us and the winds layed down a bit.

We appreciate your review and we will continue to work toward excellence in our services.

Hope you enjoyed the Dorados.

Sincerely,

Dario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very disappointing experience. Went for a half day of fishing. Winds were 25-30 mph, very rocky seas. Trolled for a bit and then attempted some bottom fishing. No bites at all. Louis indicated all of the fish had left for warmer waters given the unusually cold water temps of 62-64 degrees. Also, still overcoming the runs which I have narrowed down to the ice tea they provided me. If you are planning a fishing trip in the near future in this area I recommend you save your money until the water warms up. no complaints about the service, however. Louis was very pleasant and I'm sure a good skipper under better conditions.

Thank pick240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJDSSURF, Propietario at San Juan del Sur Surf and Sport, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

First and foremost thank you for using our services. We appreciate every one of our guests.

Sometimes the conditions out at sea can change the expected outcome. That is why we were prepared for trolling and bottom fishing. Usually one of these forms of fishing will give us some positive results. Temperature of water and clarity will many times determine if we catch fish or not.

Sorry you did not get to catch fish this day. Our captains feel equally frustrated when this occurs.

As far as the iced tea, we always prepare it with purified water.

Sincerely,

Dario

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan del Sur Surf and Sport also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to San Juan del Sur Surf and Sport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing