We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

San Juan del Sur Surf and Sport
Ranked #3 of 41 Tours in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: San Juan del Sur Surf and Sport is your adventure center in town. They can offer a variety of activities for all levels of adrenaline. They have over 20 different activities to choose from. Surfing, Fishing, coastal cruises, surfing lessons and turtle tours to name a few. All you need for a great vacation. Informative and Friendly staff with top of the line boats and equipment. English,Portuguese,French and Spanish spoken.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We booked a fishing tour for 4 hours with Dario. Unfortunately the fishes were vegetarians this day, but the tour was awesome (great sound on the boat, Dario is very kind and generous, we snorkeled with him, we saw some whales, turtles ...). Moreover the price is very competitive compared to Costa Rica for example. It was definitely a great experience for us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixandgui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    11
    4
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Fishing”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were lucky to meet Dario our first night in town and quickly organized a fishing trip for the next day. I chose the inshore trip for the different variety of fish we could potentially catch and for the smoother ocean conditions. Our party of 4 (2 adults and 2 teenagers) enjoyed incredible scenery while catching 7 large Roosterfish and a large Jack. The crew was friendly and efficient and also very keen to release the fish as quickly as possible after landing them (something I did not expect but was pleased to see). We saw a pod of dolphins and some sea turtles also. Dario is a wonderful ambassador for his country and was friendly and helpful to us in so many ways. We inevitably passed by his office on our walks around town and felt like part of the family. People like Dario are an asset to the country of Nicaragua and to SJDS.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yatarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
2 reviews
“Dario and his team couldn't have been better.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I brought my family of 5 (including three young kids) to San Juan Del Sur for two weeks in August. Dario and his staff couldn't have provided a better level of service. They were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The kids loved their surf lessons at Playa Hermosa - the instructors were excellent and the boys were on their feet within a few minutes. They now want surfboards for christmas.... However the highlight of the trip was our deep sea fishing expedition. Dario arranged for three separate different parties to share the boat meaning the costs were split. I think I ended up paying something like US$120 for three people for 5-6 hours on the water. We had a great time. My boys caught several Mahi-Mahi and Tuna each and have not stopped talking about it. I thoroughly recommend Dario and his team to anyone traveling to SJDS with kids who are looking for adventure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank caymanbishops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Best $20 you will spend in Nicaragua”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Dario's $20 (plus 15 cordoba port fee) sunset fish and booze cruise is the best money I spent in Nicaragua. Within a minute of leaving port we all had drinks in hand, and within 5 minutes we had hooked up with a nice Jack. A few minutes later we were cruising with dolphins alongside the boat, saw some sea turtles mating, and hooked up with a nice mackerel as well. Not to mention the booze and tunes flowed steadily throughout. If you're looking for a good time and to see some wildlife and catch some fish, you can't go wrong by going with Dario.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ADKTroutMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dario delivers on his promise of fun for everyone - I especially love the night fishing!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Dario listens to what you request and packages up days of fun in the sun and sea. He provides transportation, equipment and guides for surf lessons, fishing, sport fishing and sunset booze cruises. I especially love the sunset cruise (with or without booze) and the night fishing. In either case, you are likely to return to your hotel with a fish for the chef to prepare for your dinner.

For a real treat, charter one of his boats for your group!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SharonVonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan del Sur Surf and Sport also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to San Juan del Sur Surf and Sport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing