We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING”
Review of Hostel Esperanza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Esperanza
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“AMAZING”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Seriously BEST HOSTEL EVER! Across the street from the beach, delicious breakfast made for you every morning, free water and internet! Blocks from the local backpacker bars, which was super convenient. This is not the main party hostel, but definitely perfect for a pre-drink session before either heading to another hostel to party or to the Black Whale! (This means if you're not much of a partier, you still get your sleep! And if you do love to party, well that's awesome too because there's 50 cent beers at the front desk and it's a 1 minute walk to any party!) Such an amazing experience. There was just something about the OWNERS and staff that made you feel more than at home and welcome! WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL TO ANYONE, ANY AGE!
This is our one and only destination in Central America from now on! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    46
    25
    14
    10
See reviews for
5
42
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed in San Juan Del Sur for three days. The hostel was pretty good. They prepared breakfast in the morning which was nice (when you wanted it). It was very close to the main beach in the centre. Amazing hammock out front to chill out in. Everyone was pretty friendly as well. Free water was nice too.

If you were looking to cook food there was also a kitchen.

The room we stayed in had some ants, but that wasn't a big deal. Overall a pretty good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Great place, we met a couple on the bus from the border and had their recomendation. They were right the hostel is quite, familiar, excellent location and with really helpfull staff, ready to organize any activitie you want to do. Nice yoga lessons on wednesdays for a fair donation. Would come back, good job guys!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stayed in la Esperanza a number of times while I was studying abroad in Nicaragua. I loved it! It's not luxury, but if you're looking for that in Nicaragua I think it best not to come. But that's the beauty of it! It's a cute little hostel with a beautiful garden, full kitchen, free coffee and water, big showers that have been recently re-done, very affordable dorms with average beds, a friendly staff, and perhaps best of all, a great crowd. Everytime I stayed there I met such cool people, many of whom I am still in contact with. The location is also perfect. It's not in the heart of town so it's not too loud/crazy, but it's just close enough to the nearest bars (Black Whale and Iguanas is less than a 5 minute walk). It's also directly across from the beach. I really enjoyed waking up and drinking a cup of Nicaraguan coffee on the front porch, watching the waves roll in. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They speak multiple languages and are a great resource in a town with so much to do! They offer a cheap shuttle service to nearby beaches and have all the information you could need to keep busy in San Juan. They also own a new restaurant in town, Jugoso, that serves the best smoothies and tortilla española around. The staff is super friendly and helpful, too. The private rooms could use some maintenance but the dorms are a good deal and a great way to meet other travelers.

This hostel was my home away from home away from home while studying abroad. Like I said, it's nowhere near luxurious, but it offers a great deal, awesome location, and interesting people.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Dorms are a great value. The private room in the very back is probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meagan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Average Nicaraguan standard, dorm with bad light, ugly walls, dark, something like windows. I can get better bed in Europe for same money.

Free coffee all day, good staff, valuable help, clean enough. WC OK, shower very basic without any place to hang or put clothes. Kitchen large enough.

Advantage of location - seaside just across the street. Not bad, but next time I would try to test else one.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddler_Hostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We have been 6 days at Esperanza, but initialy we wanted to stay just one night. The hostel is a very good spot for budget travelers that not need luxury conditions. When we arrive they were finishing new showers at the shared bathrooms and that helped a lot in our decision to stay longer. The garden was the second reason. This days the hostel was half full and we could relax at the hammocs under the mango's trees shade, we could read and take our time to do nothing. We felt like home. The staff is really helpfull if you need them and from the hostel they can arrange anything you want to do. It's not new but clean and sure. Fair value for money. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laviebien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Ok, so the location is awesome, right across the street from the beach and it does have a large kitchen which we used and was fine. It also has a nice outdoor area with hammocks and bean bags etc. We stayed here because of the 98% review on Hostelworld, but are really stumped on how they got that.
The shared Showers were disgusting, mould all over the walls and curtains, you felt dirtier coming out than you did going in. All the walls are paper thin so you hear everything.
First we stayed in a private room with shared bath which was very run down and in need of some TLC. We then moved to the private room with private bath which was better although the toilet did not always work properly.
We paid $30 a night for the private room with bath which now we know we could have been in a cleaner, nicer place for the same price..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0nTheR0adAgain79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Sur
21.1 mi away
Casa Pochomil
Casa Pochomil
#2 of 4 in Pochomil
36 reviews
46.6 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 67 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Javier's House sjs
Hostal Javier's House sjs
#22 of 67 in San Juan del Sur
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.1 mi away
El Pacifico Hotel
El Pacifico Hotel
#11 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
78 reviews
21.8 mi away
Barcelo Montelimar
Barcelo Montelimar
#1 of 1 in San Rafael del Sur
1,802 reviews
46.8 mi away
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
#19 of 67 in San Juan del Sur
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Esperanza

Property: Hostel Esperanza
Address: Del BDF 1/2 c. al Sur | Frente al Malecón, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 67 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Esperanza Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hostel Esperanza Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing