We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive comparing to other, much nicer, options”
Review of Barrio Cafe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We got to San Juan del sur from costa rica and ordered the hotel in advance. We were so happy we only booked it only for one night! It was ok but noisy, didn't smell very good and we woke up covered with Miskito bites....
The next day We found a different much nicer room for 26$ just down the road....

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dana_te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Owner at Barrio Cafe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Hi,

Thanks for giving us your comments of our hotel,. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience it caused you, we will work harder to solve these problems.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 235 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

We came a group of 15 people, and when we got there they said that they gave the rooms to other people, because they didnt have our telephone number. We did the reservations, we even gave our credit card and passport details, but this place they didnt respect the reservations.

When we were there, completely annoyed, they were rude and didnt help us with a solution. We were stranded looking for another place to stay.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Nacheke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Owner at Barrio Cafe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Hi,

Thanks for letting us know your comments, which those help us improve. I would like to apologize for the inconvenince this cause you, we are now working on customer service, hope in the future yuou con back and give you a good service.

best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Hola, OK, you have to take this place with a bit of humor. We stayed two nights. Room was spotless!! I have been in Nicaragua for 5 months and I can tell you that is the best water pressure and hot shower I’ve had. Now keep in mind these are what we use to call suicide shower back in 89. They have come a long way but you need to know how to work them. Another understanding is it’s behind a restaurant!! A big plus in my book was the safe. I have learned not to carry valuables while exploring a new area but let’s face it; you have to carry valuables to travel. My best story of this hotel is; Upon arrival there was not a light bulb in either of the bed side lights, by the time we retuned it was dark and I went down to ask for a bulb. After walking back up stairs I found that the light bulb box she had given me was empty. Returning down and back up again and placing the bulb in the lamp, it was discovered that there was not an electrical plug with in cords distance of either lamp. We just moved the table and all was well.(there is a bright overhead light). Our room was not cleaned after our first night and I had to bring the towels down to get new ones. There is a barking dog next door but then again your in Nicaragua. All and all we loved San Juan del Sur!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 58,234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Manager at Barrio Cafe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Hi,

Thanks for letting us know your comments, which those help us improve, we are now working on customer service. I would like to apologize for the inconvenince this cause you. Unfortunately that day we just have installed the lamps, how in the future we can serve you better.

best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

i was paying for air conditioning, hot water and wifi in the room all 3 didn't work.. they don't have wifi in the rooms as i guess the investment in one more router is too much. when i complained about these failures 'la gorda the money counter' in the back of the office felt that i needed to be slapped down. so darlin, this notes for you: bye bye. i found an apartment 3 blocks away with wifi , cable tv and a fully equipped kitchen for $70 a week. all thanks to 'la gorda'. i would recommend that the hotel management forbid her from customer contact. thge hotel is incredibly noisey and as i mentioned this to management i got the shoulder shrug. they don't get it.

Room Tip: go 2 blocks east to the 't' intersection. go left about one block. look for a sign on the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluesSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe T, Owner at Barrio Cafe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Hi,

Thanks for your comments, which help us to improve. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience this cause you. Unfortunately you were not assited by the recepcionist, which is the reason you have received a bad service. . We now have an additional router! We have solve the 3 problems that you say you had .We hope in the futrue we can serve you better.

best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I guess you have to ask if hot water is part of the deal and it isn't at this hotel it was also very noisy all through the night and the hotel and restaurant staff started chit-chatting at aprox 6:45 am . This is a restaurant with a few rooms for rent not a hotel. I'd asked for King size bed on the second floor and got a double bed by the restaurant bathroom. If you go keep all your reservation papers, they tried to charge me for 3 nights when I had reserved for 2 only. It took a lot of convincing to pay only what I owed.i told them that I will never return to this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroletom2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Clean rooms, quiet AC. Wonderful staff. Our room was near the kitchen and very noisy during siesta time and at night. We couldn't get the hot water to work but at $46 it was a good deal.
The Taco stand next door to the cafe had someone playing very loud music in their car in the early morning hours for three nights. There was a dog that barked frequently.... A good choice for location, but not for quiet. Cafe Barrio has great food and is very convenient.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the kitchen or laundry room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnmc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Nice hotel, close to the beach, Barrio Cafe right out your door has excellent food but can be noisy!!

Room Tip: Upstairs has nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammons27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.6 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
326 reviews
2.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
172 reviews
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrio Cafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrio Cafe Hotel

Address: Avenida Mercado, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Azul Pitahaya)
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $69 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrio Cafe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrio Cafe Hotel, is a small hotel strategically located on the center of San Juan del sur. We are just one block away from the gorgeous horse shoe bay, surrounded by many local stores, bars, and restaurants. We also have for your service our beautiful Barrio Cafe restaurant where you can enjoy great food, drinks, and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barrio Cafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrio Cafe Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing