We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT FIND. THE REAL B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Secret Cove Inn
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Donna the owner is there for you, the Hostel is clean, the rooms are nice, the staff is super friendly and you really feel at home.
Theis is the real bed and breakfast but with the addition you have use of a very clean kitchen and a great common area with a huge TV and free US calls... We stayed there for 3 nights, and we would have stayed more.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYtoBsAsbyLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for The Secret Cove Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2010

was recommended by a sdjs local. my 3 sons and i stayed. everythibg great. owner ray most helpful

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyleeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

I recently stayed here for 3 nights and was looking for a comfortable, relaxing place. The rooms were nice and fresh feeling with AC if required. Communal kitchen and comfortable lounge area. Breakfast was included and very tasty.
They offered a range of activities too, a trip on their boat or yoga sessions and were always happy to help and offer advice. We started the days with yoga, a tasty breakfast and then a massage...organised by the owners. Friendly and welcoming.
Super nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

My friends found the Secret Cove online but we hadn't booked, so once we arrived, we wandered round trying to find a decent place in town. When Donna the owner opened the door, and welcomed us in, we knew we wanted to stay there. It is definitely like staying in a home, rather than a hostel or hotel. Both Ray and Donna made us feel very welcome in their home. Ray offers sailing trips and Donna is a yoga teacher if you're keen to join in. It's a very relaxed home, the breakfasts are typical Nica - pico gallo, toast, fruits, coffee, juice etc - all free as is the wifi. The rooms are very clean - we stayed in 2 different ones over our 10 day stay (we found it hard to leave) As it was so hot at the time, we really found the a/c beneficial...otherwise the rooms downstairs are roomier and with fans and hot water. There's a lovely chill out area with hammocks upstairs and the lounge and shaded patio downstairs. We also went out on the boat with Ray and had a fantastic time - unlimited drinks were a bonus - the coastline around San Juan is lovely! Pricewise it was a little more than the norm around town but so worth it - we felt very at home there...and would definitely stay again! I would recommend booking as they are normally busy with only 5 rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicatastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Found this gem through a friend who is a SJds local. The owner is exceptional and will go out of his way to make your stay comfortable. Friendly staff who make a consistently good breakfast (included with room fee), free wifi and free calls to the US and Canada. Ray, the owner--also does sailing trips if the wind is cooperative.

The best part for me, and recommended for anyone doing a longer stay, is use of the kitchen with full amenities and the location---which is a close walk to everything but off far enough from the main beach strip so you can sleep without the 90's pop music blaring from the clubs.

Cost is a tad more than a lot of the hostels around here, but definitely worth the price for the security, amenities, staff and location. Nice living room and just an overall homey feel. Felt more like moving in with family than staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pealoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
746 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho Chilamate Off-Grid Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Cove Inn

Address: Av El Albanil, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $24 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Secret Cove Inn Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing