We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and friendly owners”
Review of Hotel El Puerto

Hotel El Puerto
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel El Puerto
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Clean, friendly, safe and free coffee-what more can you ask for??!! Would definitely stay again. $25 for a double room with WiFi and comfy bed. Nice and quiet in the evenings so easy to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laiguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Puerto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 65 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We have been here for about a week. A good deal if you if you don't want to stay in a hostel. Something that could make this place even better would be to have breakfast or free filtered water refills included. We have been in Nicaragua for 2 months and this is our first tourist town so I kind of got use to perks like that.

The rooms and everything in it are very clean. No mosquito net but we are able to easily hook up our own. I feel safe here. They also send you laundry out to get washed if you need it.

Owner speaks English enough to fill in the gaps of my Spanish:)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFlynn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We found this hotel by coincindence. It was super clean, owners are really nice, helpful and honest. It has a good location, it is quiet but so near to all entertainment in the night. The price is great (20 dollars for private room with bathroom), it has wifi and an excellent free coffee in the morning. They can do also laundry for you smeeling really nice like the towels in the bathroom :). Amazing! We felt really safe and Gertrud is the best! Klara an Vesna.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisyregrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This place is run by a German lady and it must be the cleanest, quietest, safest place in town. Every morning we were treated to excellent strong German style free coffee and my daughters 6 and 9 enjoyed the cookies. It is well worth paying the $9 extra a night for A/C. We got rooms on the top balcony which enjoyed a bit more of a breeze. The owner was very helpful and we were conveniently located to the SJDS beach front (without the noise and grot!). This place is great, don't bother looking elsewhere. The only negative is you cannot book a room online, you can only phone to make a reservation. The owner speaks very good English.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kabulkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel is great value for money - basic rooms but extremely clean with either a/c or fan. the owners are very helpful and will do all they can to make your stay enjoyable. I would definitely stay here again if i was to return to SJDS.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cailinloca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Basic clean rooms. Great location within the center and not far from shops, restaurants, beach. They serve you a coffee and a biscuit for breakfast. We felt very safe.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ichreisesehrgerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We found this hotel by chance as we had been let down by Hotel Maracuya and the Casa Oro was much too noisy. The owners were very helpful and let us have a room with fan/AC. The place was quiet and clean. There is no TV or internet access but as the electricity was off we didn't lose out. The owner was very helpful in giving us accurate information about where to eat and how to get back to Managua by bus. We ate breakfast at a nearby cafe called Comedor Margarita's. For $25 including tax this place was good value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
746 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho Chilamate Off-Grid Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Puerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Puerto

Address: Town Center, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hotel El Puerto Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing