We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible staff, beautiful rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aventura Lodge

Aventura Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aventura Lodge
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible staff, beautiful rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

I had a blast at Aventura Lodge. Amy, who was looking after the place while Kate and Dan went to England, was unbelievably lovely and helpful. Even over Christmas she helped to organise lifts to the beach and recommend places to eat. I stayed in the dorm for $23 per person, and the room was charming and kept clean every day. The pool is small but nice, there is beer on the honour system, and it's a nice place to chill. The Lodge is pretty far from town - $1 for a taxi during the day; $2 at night - and it's a $5 round-trip taxi ride to the beach. These costs, added to the $23/night, made this an expensive part of my trip, but I would definitely recommend the Aventura Lodge on the great service alone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayn_S0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

My girlfriend and I spent six nights in this wonderful place. Before arriving we had spent three nights in Granada and then three nights on Ometepe. After a long journey from Ometepe to San Juan, it was such a treat to arrive in this lush idyllic hideaway and be shown to a very comfortable room.

Aventura has a number of very comfortable rooms - but not too many that it ever feels crowded. These rooms are all built around a swimming pool and surrounded by lush vegetation that adds to the calming environment.

It is located a short walk out of the town centre - about 5-10mins. If you like your surfing, though, it's on the road out to one of the local surf spots and its easy to get a ride with the local surf school who tend to head out that way every day. Dan and Kate, who manage the hotel, are keen surfers and know lots of the locals so can be a big help if that's what you're after.

They also have great local knowledge and were really helpful to us telling us the best places to go and eat, etc.

I would definitely come and stay here again if I were ever back in San Juan and would thoroughly recommend anyone else to as well. If you want affordable luxury in a very pretty setting with a laid back atmosphere, then this is the place to come.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clive_s777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2009

the hotel is very neat. As soon as you enter, you feel as though you've entered a little oasis.
The rooms are very comfy and clean. The bed was good too.
The hotel managers are very informative, helpful, and sweet.
My only concern upon arriving was the cemetery across the street, but I got over it after the first night. It was just ironic b/c I have issues with it!
They are within walking distance to the town, but I would only do it during the day. There is a Pali supermarket down the road and their neighbors sell fresh produce right outside their home.
I recommend it. have fun!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecoseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2009

I stayed in the treehouse, which was considerably cheaper than the rooms and really good value. The breakfasts were simple but good and the pool was wonderful. Dan and Kate, who were managing the place while I was there, were attentive and great to chat to. The hotel is a little out of town, but walkable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

We had a great stay here. We stayed for three nights and were looking for somewhere that wasn't a hostel but we didn't want to pay for an expensive hotel. This was really good value for money. We have been travelling for six months and this is one of the nicer places we have stayed. The room were clean with air con, double bed, cable TV and private bathroom with hot water. There is a nice pool, free breakfast, free WiFi and an honours bar. It's about a ten minute walk into town which we did every day but you can easily catch a taxi and it will cost you 20 cordobas.

Kate and Dan were amazing hosts. They are so friendly and helped us with things to do in the area such as restaurants and they arranged for us to go zip lining which was so cool. They also helped us get a taxi to the Costa Rican border.

The only place in town that can really compete with them that we saw is Pelican Eyes hotel but it's so expensive you should stay here. Just go to Pelican Eyes one day for the pool and view.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehappykoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

Aventura Lodge was like a little piece of paradise; the rooms were awesome with air-con, fans, great bathrooms and a nice big bed and the property was beautiful with all kinds of greenery. I especially loved getting in the nice cool pool anytime of day. Another feature is that the property is extremely safe.

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank raft4waves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2009

This hotel is competely charming and the hospitality is top-notch. Dan and Kate, who run the place, have created an ambience that makes you feel like you are a guest in their home. Because of the layout and size of the property, you can't help but interacting with guests and making new friends.

The grounds are really delightful, with gorgeous "jungle" landscaping. The pool is refreshing and painstakingly cleaned every day by Hector, the friendly and helpful security guard.

It is a bit of a walk to town (or a cheap taxi trip) but the benefit is that the Aventura Lodge is much quieter than hotels in the town centre. A great trade-off if you are there for rest and relaxation.

Dan and Kate also made arrangements for whatever recreation we were in the mood for - and it was no problem at all for us to make a decision at the last minute as to what we wanted to do.

I would definitely come back to this lodge.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njdjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#6 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho Chilamate Off-Grid Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Lodge

Property: Aventura Lodge
Address: Las Delicias, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 73 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Lodge is a stunning property in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. A lush jungle garden is the setting for our intimate lodge. Our tropical canopy provides an oasis in which to relax, be it by the refreshing pool or swinging in a hammock. Aventura Lodge has 5 Jungle Suites, 1 Canopy Apartment and 4 Tree House beds. Wireless internet is available. Cable TV and air-conditioning feature in all suites and in the apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Aventura Lodge Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing